Affordable In-house DVD Players

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 18:30
ThreadID: 15901 Views:2176 Replies:2 FollowUps:7
Just quickly going through the tonnes of junk let in my mailbox this weekend, and have come across a catalogue with some very good pices (as far as I know) on in-car DVD Players.

The organisation is JB Hi fi, seems to be NSW based. If this is what you are looking for I would check them out.

I hope I am not out of line letting forum-persons (how about that for political correctness????) know about this. If I am, apologies in advance.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 19:35

Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 19:35
Hi Jack,

Funny you should post that. I have just purchased from JB's the 7" roofmount + DVD + cordless headphones for $498. The screen seems to be a particularly good one that performs well. 7" screen The cordless headphones work better than expected and have a neat feature to save battery life, they shut off after 3 minutes. headphones
And the best bit is that the DVD player is slightly smaller than DIN size so it fits neatly into the dropdown glove box of my Outback roof console and has an infared repeater eye (it does come with a DIN adaptor) DVD player.

The only problem I have is that the head unit is currently outputting in NTSC and not switching into PAL for a few minutes when i turn it on. I rang JB and they are going to swap it over straight away, its not a problem they had heard of before. Apart from that, I am very happy with it, should keep the kids entertained on the longer trips.

AnswerID: 74448

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 20:15

Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 20:15
G'day Captain,
Sounds like a beauty mate.
A couple of questions, if I may, please.....
1) can 3 sets of those headphones be used at the same time? (I've got 3 boys)

2) I understand some units have a problem with corrogations. Okay so there has to be times when any "CD/DVD" type player will skip etc....but the problem with some is that once they skip they go back to the start of the film etc. Quite annoying apparently (as I can imagine....if you are 55 minutes through a one hour show and it jumps back to the beginning!!!)

Cheers mate...

BTW, did you see my post yesterday about the 3L having a pressurised sump? Do you know if yours has this as a "standard" feature? My mate in Yass is at a loss to know whether to go all out and get some urgent maintenance done or whether the oil spots spurting out the dip stick hole is normal?

FollowupID: 334358

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 20:48

Sunday, Aug 29, 2004 at 20:48
Hi Roachie, if it has two of those small 3mm stereo outlets you can use one set of headsets in one outlet and you can buy a $3.00 double adapter for the other 3mm outlet. Jaycar and dick smith both supply them.... regards Michael
FollowupID: 334362

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 11:38

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 11:38
Hi Roachie,

You can run as many cordless headphones off the system as you want. The package deal I bought includes two and they sell extra pairs at $159 (have not seen them singularly). May be able to negotiate a better price if buying extras at the time. But the unit doesn't have any outlet for corded headphones. The DVD player has RCA plugs that simply go straight into the infrared sender, however an option is to buy an FM modulator that then allows you to listen by tuning your radio in as well as hearing via the headphones (I avoided it like the plague, who wants to hear "Bugs Life" for the 1,000th time!). Also, the screen has a second AV input that can be used for say a playstation if you want to add that on later.

As for the corrugations, I tried it out on the lumpiest road around home and couldn't get it to skip. These were sharp bumps and potholes, not continuous corrugations so not fully tested. Even so, I was pretty happy with no skip on the bumps I tried.

Also, it has auto resume feature. So if you stop the movie it automatically restarts at the same place, damn handy. But you must not simply "power off" the DVD, otherwise it starts from the beginning.

I am very happy with it, its a nice neat installation and I haven't seen anything that comes close to it fo the price.

When installed in the GU, you virtually cannot see it in the rearview mirror when the screen is down (just a trace in the top of the mirror, can adjust out easily). A friend of a friend has a 14" screen and it totally blocks the rearview in his GQ. He got busted by the cops even though his side mirrors were fine (but I think he may have been a bit "cheeky" to them).

As for the 3.0TD issue, to answer your question, I do not have the problem you mentioned but whether its a precursor to a failing motor I do not think so. My motor is "new" and I would want to find out from other 3.0TD motors that have similair mileage, it is most likley blowby on the piston rings. If it was a hole in the piston, well the engine is already stuffed then and by your post its running fine. You simply would not get a small hole in the piston without it growing dramatically very quickly IMHO. All failures I have heard about were basically "I was driving along and everything was normal when suddenly I lost power and there was black smoke from the exhaust..." Unfortunately I think any failure is without warning :(

But the reason I didn't reply earlier is that I am fed up with the amount of misinformation and crap posted on the 3.0TD and the general derision of the 3.0TD and have stopped responding to any 3.0TD post for as long as I can resist ! (not so much your post, but the time I got to read it, it had already started so I avoided it).

Yes the series II had issues (I too would avoid it) but the series III is well sorted IMHO. I have spoken to many series II owners who have had failures, yet cannot come across a single series III OWNER, even though the series III has been out MUCH longer than when the first failures appeared. The series III is not perfect, it has sensor failures just like any other modern engine but thats simply part of owning ANY modern vehicle these days. Sensor failures are not restricted to Nissans only.

It seems I have gotten a reputation on this forum for pushing the 3.0TD, when I think I have simply tried to sort the wheat from the chaff on many posts. There is a general lack of objectiveness on this forum on this issue and I cannot comprehend the frenzy some non-3.0TD owners have about it.

Bottom line is, I am very happy with my GU 3.0TD and I don't need the personal attacks I have had in several posts now. I have been off-roading for over 25 years, was co-owner and instructor for a 4WD training school, have trained and done tag-a-longs, have written the occasional article for a 4WD magazine, was founding secretary of my local 4X4 club and in general have a bit of 4WD experience under my belt. Plus I try and add my bit to some of the oil and diesel related questions where I can (I am a Chemical Engineer).

Sorry to unload on this post, but have let some of this get under my skin. Oh well, will soon shake it off ;-)

FollowupID: 334401

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:22

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:22
Hi Captain,

Sounds like a great set-up.

"I am very happy with it, its a nice neat installation and I haven't seen anything that comes close to it fo the price."

Does that price include fitting?

P.S. I have to agree whole-heartedly with you on the 3.0litre Nissan point. The incessant vitriol and personal attacks are both tedious and uncalled for! One must wonder about the insecurities of those who continue to constantly denegrate. I now simply don't read any posts which mention "Patrol and Landcruiser" or "3.0 litre and 4.2 litre" in the same sentence. It seems others enjoy a cock fight though!
FollowupID: 334415

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 17:23

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 17:23
Hi Wombat,

I installed the unit myself, but its very easy to do. The screen comes with a mounting plate and you simply remove the interior light and screw in the adaptor plate. You will have to drill appropriate holes in the plate to suit, but not in your vehicle. Then the screen simply bolts to the plate.

To get the wires down, simply unclip the cover on either the A or B pillar (depends where you plan to locate the player) and run a snake under the roof lining (degree of difficulty will depend on the vehicle).

After that its simply a matter of mounting the DVD player. My one is smaller than DIN, but it comes with adaptor and face plate to suit a DIN mounting hole. Or you can place under seat etc..., it comes with an infrared repeater so you don't have to actually "see" the unit when using the remote controller.

But if you did want it installed, I was quoted ~$200 and I reckon it took me 3 hours to mount it all up. All depends on your skills and how much your time is worth. But at 40% of purchase price simply to install, well thats where I reckon they are making their money.

FollowupID: 334430

Reply By: Groove - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 12:11

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 12:11
Hi Jack
I usually recommend to people who ask this question to consider a laptop.
I have seen second had laptops with good DVD capability for under $800.

For that price you get a DVD player, as well as a laptop which the boys can use to play games on as well. Not to mention storing digital pics, maps etc etc.

This might be more than you wanted to spend but worth considering.

Near me there is a computer market every Sunday and there is a guy there selling only second hand laptops (he gives a 3 month warranty). These type of stands are quite common now check your local computer market.

If you stick with something like a HP, Compaq Toshiba you cant really go wrong.

When buying cheaper in car DVD players (this applies to laptops as well) you need to ensure the viewing angle is adequate. ie can you view it from a side on angle and in bright daylight. These devices are usually on display in a darkened part of a showroom.
AnswerID: 74501

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 12:42

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 12:42
Hi Groove,

A laptop is definately more versatile, but the problem is where do you put it? I know you can get some fancy brackets, but at the end of the day its harder to fit because of its sheers size. The roof mounted screen is a clutter free installation thats always there ready for use and simply folds up when not required. And this particular screen is an active matrix TFT that has good side angle view and fine in bright sunlight. Your point about some other screens is very valid.

All a case of horses for courses at the end of the day, and for many the laptop is a vaible option that should be considered.

FollowupID: 334405

Follow Up By: Groove - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:45

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:45
Mounting is definately a challange.
I have two positions for mine. On the console between the two front seats facing back for passengers, I also have a dash mounted 7.5 inch touch screen. Both screens are on at the same time. when I have no passengers the laptop is under the drivers seat and I only use the dash screen. The dash mounted screen folds away into the dash. But I'm just a computer nerd and enjoy tinkering with this type of stuff

FollowupID: 334447