uhf radios

Submitted: Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 13:37
ThreadID: 15918 Views:2774 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Hi, I am thinking of buying a UHF radio for the Jackaroo.
What are your though Re. Icom, Uniden or GME.
Will

Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:02

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:02
Never used Icom.

Have a Tx4400 for myself and 3x Tx3200 for work. Never had an issue with these.

Have three Uniden Handhelds (1x half watt & 2x 5watt new water proof ones). No probs with these either.

However I remember with some older Uniden units we used to have heaps of trouble with any sort of noise. e.g. spark plug noise, alternator whine, heater fan whine.
AnswerID: 74515

Reply By: grlynch - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:04

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:04
I have just installed a Uniden UH012. Pretty basic!

However I am having a problem, I can recieve as clear as a bell, however my broadcast is crackly. I have checked this on several other radio's and the same result. (Has anyone else had this problem?)

Anyway I am currently in e-mail communication with Uniden and I have to say, getting help out of them is painfull to say the least! So I would consider the after sales service on any unit.

Glenn
AnswerID: 74516

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:12

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:12
What was the distance between your radio and the other radios?

As if they are in cars very close to each other then your antenna might not be installed correctly.
As you would still recieve ok due to closeness but your transmission might get buggered up.

Have you tried another microphone. How about holding the microphone further from your mouth. I have a friend who holds his right at is mouth and it is near impossible to hear him speak.
FollowupID: 334414

Follow Up By: grlynch - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:40

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:40
The distance between the vehicles doesn't seem to matter. It's the same if they are parked beside each other or about 1k apart on the road.
Also tried it on a Uniden 0.5W Handheld.

I've been talking to Peter at MobileOne, (just a side note - Very helpful!) and he can't suggest anything wrong with the antenna side. He also pointed out that if there was some interference from the antenna setup then I would be having trouble receiving as well.

The Microphone was my thought as well, hence my frustration in dealing with Uniden Customer service. I do have quite a deep voice, which I never considered would be a problem, however i have witnessed the problem by getting someone elso to transmit from my vehicle.

Glenn
FollowupID: 334417

Reply By: RickB - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:32

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:32
Very happy with both my GME 3200 and ICOM IC40 handheld. 3200 is a very simple radio to install and use.
AnswerID: 74519

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:39

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:39
Will.
I have Tx4400 installed in my 2002 jack. Located under the radio in dash. No problems except for the arial. Turns out the combination of jack and alloy bar means lots of vibration at the arial location (left front). If you have an alloy bar check your arial selection carfully.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 74521

Follow Up By: jackablue - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 15:15

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 15:15
Yep found that out, snapped mine. Repositioned it on the guard.
FollowupID: 334421

Follow Up By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:07

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:07
Alloy bar with antenna mounted on it.

So it is a common problem after all. I thought I was the only one with that problem. I have a spring base antenna so hopefully won't snap it off
It is a bit annoying to see my antenna dance a jig every time I go off road or drive a bad road but so far all good.
I have a 1992 Jackaroo and also have a tx4400 under my radio. I had to remove my clock to fit the uhf in. Had to modify some brackets to make it fit but a bit of care and PATIENCE and now it works a treat and looks like it belongs there.
The extra 20 recieve only channels for scanning are a great idea as I hear some unreal stuff from the boys in blue and lately all about the rural bush fire brigade as well.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
FollowupID: 334440

Follow Up By: jackablue - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:55

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:55
Yeah Sparkie I had the spring too!
FollowupID: 334482

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:49

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 14:49
I am on the verge of buying my second Uniden. I am going to get the UH088
SX and mount it in-dash in my 80 Series Cruiser. Last Uniden I had was tempting too many peoople as an under dash mount.
Never had any problems with it - it has been over some testing stuff without a problem. I am going to order mine from Prestige Communications as I have found their prices as good or better as anywhere else I have tried.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 74523

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 18:24

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 18:24
i have the UH088 and am very happy with it. The front speaker does away with the need for an external speaker. Doesn't have selcall but does anyone ever use it any more?????? Seems like it was all the rage for a while, but not many i know use it these days. Ditto with prestige.If u are worried about dealing online do what i did and print off their pages and get someone to price match.
FollowupID: 334437

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:19

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:19
Hi Brew:
Prestige are currently offering free overnight delivery, so I think I will stick with them They got a wrap from a mate of mine in the Car Club,and someone here has given them a good wrap as well. They'll do me.
jack

FollowupID: 334442

Reply By: jackablue - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 15:23

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 15:23
I have a GME tx3200 no problem clear as.
AnswerID: 74526

Reply By: navaraman - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 16:00

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 16:00
GME 3400 and no problems with it at all. Can also recommend Prestige Communications very highly.
AnswerID: 74528

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:00

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:00
Thanks for that. I mentioned earlier that they are offering free overnight delivery, so I will go with them I think.
Jack

FollowupID: 334451

Reply By: Davoe - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 16:58

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 16:58
check the archives as this has been covered quite a few times. My reply each time was that most mines I have worked on use gme so they definitly handle use abuse and dust
AnswerID: 74534

Reply By: Will - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:49

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:49
Thanks for your replies, it is always good to hear from people who have actually used the gear.
Thats the beauty of this forum.
Will
AnswerID: 74558

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:14

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:14
Daveo said it...
there would be 10000 threads on it.

GME hands down for value and quality
ICOM for premium price with little extra.
Uniden for BigW style.
AnswerID: 74582

Follow Up By: Flash - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:31

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:31
I endorse Truckster's comments here 100%.

GME is streets ahead of Uniden, no, make that miles. And that is from a lot of experience with both, on a fleet of vehicles, much personal experience, and many friends..
ICOM also always make top quality gear, but often price to match.
FollowupID: 334505