Submitted: Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 17:17
Britzy
Hi everyone,
I was hoping to get some advice on wiring up some spotlights to my Toyota Prado. Im not sure how to do it. This is the first time i have done anything like this. Im not sure what to ground them to. or where to wire to, put a fuse in, the relay switch , how to find the highbeam active wire etc. Can any one help me out with a mud map on how to wire it up?
thank you for your time everyone.
Jay
Reply By: Steve - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 17:38
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 18:51
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 18:51
On the back of your headlight you will have three wires going in. One will be ground, one will be 12v+ for Low Beam and one will be 12v+ for highbeam.
If you don't have a multimetre, go and buy one, they are only $10 from supercheap auto. Check to see which one has voltage when the high beams are on and then use a wire tap (a crimp you can buy from any auto
shop that goes around a wire and taps into it). That will then activate your relay. Run this wire, can be thin cheap stuff if you like through the firewall to your switch on the dash or where ever you want it and back to the relay. Earth to any bolt in the engine bay. Run 6mm wire through a fuse to the positive terminal on your battery through the other side of the relay to your spotties. Earth spotties to any bolt in the engine bay or any bolt that has bare metal (not painted) All Done!
Good luck, have fun. The more of this stuff you do the easier it will become and it'll save you heaps of dosh!
Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:17
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:17
I'd be wary of using those scotch locks though. They are fine to begin with but can give problems later. Best to solder the connections.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:13
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:13
Utemad fair enough mate, Ive had them sitting in the toolbox for ever and never used them, I do normally crimp however, I used to solder but have found that crimps with tight black tape around them to be suprisingly reliable. I also guess it depends on how you crimp, I've seen some pretty shocking jobs in the past. I also find the crimps handy as I am forever fiddling around with the truck and it's so much easier to add replace, exchange switches, pumps etc when you just pull the tap off and unplug the wires. I spose it's all personal prefference. I also am aware of the possibilty of the crimps breaking and always carry a gas soldering iron, solder, crimps, crimper and spare wire in the toolbox just in case.
I put the wire tap on purley because I couldn't be bothered pulling the 760CCA battery out and I was able to just reach down in front of it and clip it on. Seems to work fine, if it ever breaks it's no big deal to fix so I'll probally leave it for now.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:27
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:27
I'm only talking about the scotchlocks. I do crimp other things. I have the proper crimping tool from Carrol Crimps (??) does a very good job. However I do a lot of beach trips and almost every trip I will redo someones crimps on something. However they are usually not done properly in the first place.
I agree with the gas soldering iron though. Best soldering iron I've ever bought.
I'm also constantly changing my wiring in my ute. Every time I get a new gadget lol. Like the in/out temp voltage thing you have that I bought when I saw yours. I haven't put the outside sensor in the fridge yet as being a ute it will take time. Although it has some nice buttons to push and it keeps me amused all the same :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:35
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:35
LOL yeah it looks cool anyway, actually I find the voltage alert really really handy on it, in fact I probally look at that stupid thing more than any other guage in the truck! :-)
Yeah I was going to whack the outside temp sensor in the Wacoe Cooler but it was just to much of a mission to run the cable to the back of the car so I just shot it out through the firewall and up underneath the air ram of the
snorkel in the shade so it works as a true outside temp sensor. It's pretty cool, when you wake up in the morning freezing your nuts off you can go and have a look how cold it actually did get last night! LOL
Reply By: Bob H - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:37
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:37
Agree with the use of scotchlocks, not a real good idea for long term. also check that the prado dosent have the same light system as the l/cruisers. l/c (not sure about 100s) use a back to front switch system for high/low beam. they earth the beam high/low to activate the light.
hope this helps you.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 22:03
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 22:03
From my car audio days I seem to remember a few different Toyotas using earth switching for the lights. Cars and 4x4s.
Reply By: Britzy - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 10:03
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 10:03
I just want to thank you Steve, Jeff and Bob for your fast replies. You have been a great help.
Thank You
Jay