Steel drawer dimensions

Submitted: Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 19:32
ThreadID: 15928 Views:3456 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
I'm contemplating doing my own thing for a drawer system for my troopy. I've read the archives on the subject & I was hoping to get an idea from other forumites of what the typical dimensions are for the two metal drawers, ie, thickness, width, height & length.

Then my next step is to get a quote from the local sheet metal factory to manufacture the 2 drawers.

Sparky

Reply By: Member - Helen Hazel Clare - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:47

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:47
Hello Sparky

Just saw your query. I have a 75 series Troopy which I bought in June 2000 for my retirement. I was on the look-out for cargo drawers & eventually found what I thought I wanted & as luck would have it, I turned out to be perfect. I got it from PeeCees at Pt Macquarie (adv in 4WD Monthly) - drove up from Canberra to have them installed. I quote PCs answer to my query

"it was originally designed for a ute & for storing tools & it is strong & heavier than normal as it is a one only, 1700 x 960 x 420 h".

OK - I had it installed - at 960 mm total width for the 2 drawers it fits between the wheel arches, a false floor about 1440 mm wide covers the drawers - a hinged flap on both sides can be lifted, so that space can be used to advantage for long narrow stuff. I carry emergency "not to be touched" 2 x 10 litre jerry cans of water & such , Toyota spares etc. - things I hope I won't need!

The depth 420mm means plastic milk crate units just drop in & easily lift out, so you can pack items in them - a unit for kitchen cooking, a unit for food/pantry, a unit for cleaning/wash up/clothes wash detergent/pegs etc etc/car wash items, a unit for electricals/lights/batteries etc etc, a unit for what-ever and so on.

I took out my back bench seat & put a cargo barrier in behind the front seats. I have a fridge slide on the side behind the driver's side (good because you actually have rear vision not directly behind but to the left). So, as I travel alone (I am a 63 year old woman only 5ft 2 in) and I lay a narrow foam mattress down one side on top of the false floor & can sleep in the vehicle as it is 1700 mm long. Probably not good for a big man or a couple but it does me fine. Of course you could make the drawers shorter than 1700 mm to suit your needs. The metal is somewhat extra heavy duty as it was originally constructed for a lock-up tool storage on back of a ute & I think that is good - it is a very solid unit.

I'v been through Western NSW & across the Nullarbor and the Victorian High Country & given my set-up a good trial - I'm very happy with it. OK - it's not fancy, not lined or carpeted etc, but you can do that yourself - whatever you want. Anyway, plain metal is easier to clean desert dust off! The 2 drawers are lockable too. The false floor is just a sheet of marine ply which you can carpet or paint yourself. As it was made for someone else who ended up not needing it, I got it for $1300 in 2002

By the way, I bought a cheap silver tarp and cut pieces/curtains to cover the windows - a roll of sticky-back velcro - made tabs easy to put up at night & take down in the morning & a silver widscreen sun cover inside the windscreen & Voila! complete privacy for the night's camp! Dual battery system, with power point in back, cheap fluro light & I just retire & have a little read of a book before I nod off! Luxury!

Good luck with your research!!!

Helen

AnswerID: 74575

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:12

Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:12
Try the TLCC. They meet/met over at Chullora at the old rail yard, just look for about 1000 troopys having a toss a thon.

Then look in their magazine. You may find a second hand set.
AnswerID: 74581

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:49

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:49
Another option is to ring up several places that make them, and ask the measurements of theirs.

You would also want to sus out if your going full length or not.

Have you considered the 3rd door conversion? I reckon thats would open up a whole new world with at troopy. They fit a rear passengers door on passengers side. You then have access from the side as well...

just a thought
AnswerID: 74695

Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:21

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:21
I feel a bit 'iffy" about asking manufacturer's to give me their design.

Thought about 3rd door & spoke to a bloke with a new troopy with a 3rd door yesterday. Would like a 3rd door but it would cost nearly as much as my troopy's worth. Would definately consider it for a later model troopy, though.

I went to SolarTint & paid $100 for three windows removal & retint. Took them a couple of hours & I reckon it was worth the money, after taking heed of the forum's advice.
Sparky
FollowupID: 334581

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:26

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:26
Na dont ask them for specific designs, ask for draw lengths, and heights.. Say you want to store a lamp in there thats X high and wide, and this and that, so want to know measurements... :)

How much was 3rd door?

$100 you would JUMP at to do R&R on tint!!!
FollowupID: 334586

Reply By: Charlie - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:56

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:56
Sparky, metal normally comes in 2.4X1.2 meter sheets so I'd try to design something that makes the best use of this size to keep the price down.
Regards Charlie
AnswerID: 74702

Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:23

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:23
Good advice Charlie. Do you know what is the typical thickness of the sheet needed for drawers?
Sparky
FollowupID: 334583

Reply By: Member - Barry - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:49

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:49
Gidday Sparky, I had a FJ60 cruiser for 23 years from new, I made my own rear set up. I did not like the permanent drawers, as they were PERMANENT, and I wanted to use the vehicle for other things also which face it is most of the time. My unit is made from play 10mm, hard to explain but briefly, the fridge is fitted to the centre with top access (Engel) to the right there are 2 compartments which house each 2 plastic boxes with the push down lids which can be slid in and out and hold heaps of food and gear. To the left of the fridge to the bottom is the 3 burner stove which simply slides out onto the melamine table which by the way automatically folds down when the tailgate is opened, above that drawers for knives forks etc. This unit holds everything, gas bottles, extra esky, fridge all very secure and safe, it bolts to the floor at 5 point on the 100 series, the threaded holes are already there other than for the rear ones, like I said hard to explain but I can send you some photos if you get back to me it has survived in the 60 series for years and now with only some minor floor shape modifiation in the 100 series, we did Cape York and never lost an egg. The beauty of this is when you stop, open the tail gate the table folds down it normally is upright of course, and hinged to the floor support, pull out the stove, turn on the gas and you are ready to cook. When I had it in the old cruiser it was bare timber finish with aluminium strip re enforcing etc. but after getting the new 100 series I covered it with interior grey carpeting to only make it look better and it looks a million dollars, you can make it yourself for about 2 x 2400 sheets of ply, a few metres of al strip, srews, carpet for about $400. The big plus is when you get back from your trip, you unbolt the floor bolts and slide it out the back and store it, then you can still use your vehcile for other purposes. If you want more I can send it to you, regards Barry.
AnswerID: 77508