Safari
snorkel
ARB side steps and rails
front and rear lockers
285/75 R16 MTR's
TX3400 UHF
Sandgraber mats
Out with friends on Sunday up
Appin when I did a right side CV joint, towed to Toyota and what do you know. Sorry mate with the locker that CV will not be covered.
Any Ideas on estimated repairs? I'll ring around for you and call you. YEH!!!
Steve J
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:36
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:36
Steve,
You are not alone, guy in our club did more or less the same thing, took five teeth off the crown wheel on the front diff of a LC 100, same deal took it to Toyota, sorry "no can help" you have a diff locker fitted, he's contesting it don't know how far he's got, last meeting he was still in 2wd, only 25 k on the clock. Gets us of the woes of 3.0 litre TD's I suppose LOL.
Follow Up By: Steve J - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:47
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 20:47
Martyn,
I got the lockers after doing front pinion at 5051Km, currently have 8500Km.
Toyota covered the first job and now
well I guess I have a record of breaking my toys
Steve J
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:10
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:10
Lockers do put more stress on things, I'd be shocked if they did cover it.
Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:26
Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 21:26
Hmmmm - 'ere we go again, Another prob in the 100 series Yota driveline and such low kms too!
I'm really starting to wonder about whether I should take my 100 series off the bitumen!
Now, where's me ole Ford Maverick so I can go prospecting again?
Bilbo
Reply By: hazardous - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 07:22
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 07:22
I have virtually an identical car. 2004 GXL V8.
With Lockers,
Snorkel, Steps, Rear Bar & 285/75x16BFG MT etc
Ironically, I just did a right side CV joint the other day.
Your looking at around $900-$1000 for the CV and $200 or so for labour.
I got the same story from Toyota, what really annoyed me was that were not interested in trying to see IF the part was defective or not. I expected more from them.
If it makes you feel any better the concenus from those that looked at my car was that without the locker the diff would have gone.... much more $$$$.
Toyotas response when I asked about the weak front diffs in IFS LC's
"We have never heard of a front diff failure in a LandCruiser....."
Haz
Follow Up By: Steve J - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:47
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:47
Haz,
Toyota had replaced my pinion diff a month or two ago thats when i went out and got the lockers. The $900- $1000 etc is that Toyota original parts? as a couple mates of
mine said they FIX it for me as Toyota are going to warrent this part of my vehicle anyway even if they do the job with the locker in.
Steve J
P.S when under ride noticed i have bumped the cross member under the gear box a little, OK a little more then that pushing the gear box up
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 11:45
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 11:45
Get your old CV's refurbished. I went to the CV joint in Melb west suburbs. I pulled the old one out and they put a new outer CV on. Cost $165. For them to do the labour it wasn't that much more. Worth a call.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Steve J - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:11
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:11
Leroy,
thanks I just have to look around for a local CV joint
Steve J
Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:57
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 08:57
I think we will stick with our old troopy. One would expect a new car to at least see out the warranty period. Don't think I will ever buy a 100 series, but then again what 4WD is worry free?
Solid axles forever???
Sparky
Follow Up By: Steve J - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:14
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:14
Troopy Travellers (NSW),
i have taken on the safe tracks rocks etc as my Solid axles mates and even pulled them up some but then this is the price i'm now paying
Steve J
Follow Up By: Steve J - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:15
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:15
thats same tracks rocks etc
Steve J
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:27
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:27
Troopy.
Lockers put a whole world of strain on things that werent designed to take that much stress.. How did ya go with ya window tint?
Im also betting if the sold axle mates had lockers they wouldnt have needed towing up.
YMMV.
Follow Up By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:48
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:48
Troopy Travellers, Easy, just buy a 105 series. Has live front axle.
Reply By: Solar Panel - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 10:03
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 10:03
I would not expect them to warranty the drive train with a locker fitted.
If you turn and there is no wheel slip something has to break. In your case the CV.
On the quarry trucks we have large internal flashing lights when the diff lock is engaged to remind the drivers not to turn. If you turn with the diff lock engaged either the axle or crown wheel and pinion will break.
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:14
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:14
Steve,
Maybe the damage was done some time ago but only destroyed the CV the other day.
You say you have already done the diff so maybe the CV problem goes back to then.
I here of a lot of diffs and CV's breaking on all sorts of vehicles and they are just about always doing light work at the time. As I said the damage may have been done on a previous "workout"but you will never know.
Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:23
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:23
I would have thought that one would naturally assume that fitting a device that alters the behavioral charateristics of the original fitted CVs and thereby possibly placing additional stress on certain components may void a warranty.
One would also assume that checking the validity of your warranty prior to the fitment of such a device would have been advisable.
Oh,
well hind sight and all..............
Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:40
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:40
Wonder what Toyota's response would be with factory lockers installed ;-)) Or can't you get them on IFS.
Reply By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:51
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:51
Steve J, Might have been a good idea to get them factory fitted. They would have been covered by warranty atleast.
Cheers Peter
Follow Up By: Croozer - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:42
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:42
I tried to get my 04 model 100 TD GXL fitted with factory lockers but it is apparently no longer available as an option. The only way to get them is to buy the TD SAHARA which has them as standard.
Stu
Follow Up By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:18
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:18
Well maybe that tells a story, interesting!
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:52
Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:52
Gday Steve
Bad place to break things
Appin is now...last time there 2 were towed out with no rear drive....the 100 IFS is coping it on lcool aswell, with lower control arms cracking at the pivots not to mention the diff problems.
If you cant get the c/v refirbished, i suggest you take it to a Tech college and get it analized by NDT (non destructive testing) and if they say it is bad materials, put it back in their court...winge and refuse to take NO for an answer....the squeeky hinge gets the oil...
Follow Up By: Steve J - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 09:32
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 09:32
Dozer,
I noticed from another post your local to
Wollongong, were can you suggest taking the CV to be refurbished, rang DANIELs Engineering today asking about buying one and was told they won't have 2004 CV's till Nov. (are they the same as 2003?)
Steve J
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:39
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:39
Hi steve
Not sure where u could try,sounds like the 2004 ones are different....u could try ringing the addverts in the tradingpost that sell reco c/v joints. Also could post on outerlimits4x4.com if you want me to....someone might know.