Mounting Roof Top Lights

Submitted: Monday, Aug 30, 2004 at 22:11
ThreadID: 15934 Views:2892 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Forumites
Just wondering how people with wagons (not utes) have mounted lights on their roof racks? Well actually how have you run the cables up there?
Stopping short of drilling through my roof (ouch) I can't come up with much.
Is running cables around the door seals an option and if so how do you secure the cable to the metal door frame?
Any help appreciated.
Tim

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 00:25

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 00:25
Gday ,
I ran my cables from the motor, inside the cabin up under the door seals then straight outside straight onto the roof rack mount, the cable sits nicely around the top metal part of the door forming the shape around the metal. its fairly neat and not to much cable showing,

Clive
AnswerID: 74602

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 07:19

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 07:19
Door seals....... works a treat.

2 cables, one for each light ( lights are side mounted, like taxi's, and are switched separately), along with Coax for UHF,

No problems at all. I told the Auto electrician to simply drill through the roof, but he wouldn't.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 74610

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:08

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 12:08
Mate,
I've run the cables for rear lights, and air horn solenoids + the air hose up the "A" pillar (outside the vehicle), hidden by the snorkel.
However, I recently decided to move my UHF antenna from the bullbar to the roof rack and decided to stick it out the passengers side door. I reckon I've done something different to other people, cos when it rains, water comes in and drops onto the passenger's seat. I'm thinking of drilling a hole through the "B" pillar and using a rubber grommet to pass the cable through and that will aleviate the need to rely on the rubber door seal to keep the water out. The same situation exists on the driver's door, where I have a GPS antenna cable going outside, but so far it hasn't leaked (smaller diameter cable though).
AnswerID: 74649

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:18

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:18
Roachie, i ran mine down the B pillar to the bottom then in and along the skirting to under the dash, comes in the bottom no leaks just a thought i always try to avoid drilling holes in cars, future rust probs.

FollowupID: 334580

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 09:40

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 09:40
G'day Baz,
So did you attach it in any way to the "B" pillar? I'm assuming you used either 100mph tape or a silicon glue etc?
At some point the cable still has to "enter" the cab and cross that sealed gap.
I have no aversion to drilling holes in the body work and am thinking the rubber grommet near the top of the B pillar might be the option for me, but will also consider what you've done.
My radio is in a dash pod which makes it a pain in the ar*e to get at to screw in a new cable if I do want to do a full re-route; hence my desire to stick with the cable I currently have.
Until recently I had the aerial on the bullbar and had to in-line joins at spots where I'd previously changed my mind......
I then worked out that at each of those joins I was losing a certain amount of signal. So I hope to be able to stick with one piece of cable with no joins.
Oh, it's all good fun though!!!!
Cya mate
FollowupID: 334631

Reply By: phil - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 15:49

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 15:49
Roof top driving lights are, of course, illegal to use in most states.
But we all know that don't we.
AnswerID: 74683

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:36

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 16:36
I heard from a friends uncles best mates granma that they were not only illegal to use but illegal to have them in the first place. So in theory you can be fined for having them without even turning them on. I think you can't have a headlight more than 1.5 metres off the ground.
FollowupID: 334560

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:02

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:02
Theyre not illegal to sell, or fit, only to use, in all states of Australia except ACT.

FollowupID: 334567

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:27

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:27
Surely they would only be illegal to use on Gazetted Public Roads. (and I can understand why!)

If u use them only on tracks or while on private land "paddock bashing" then that would have to be OK??? I would argue them as a safety measure in this setting if you need to see over vegetation.

Muddy 'doe
FollowupID: 334573

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:30

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:30
Muddy 'doe,

I would imagine that it would be fine to use on non gazetted roads for one main reason..............the cops don't patrol paddocks etc LOL.
FollowupID: 334574

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:39

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:39
Thanks for that Utemad!

Naturally I am not expecting the Highway Patrol to be active in many paddocks.....lol.... (would not doo if they got the XR8 bogged!).

But my point is that because of this use then it should not be illegal to drive on a public road with them fitted. It would only be illegal to use them. If they chose to fine me then I would argue to the Maj that I needed them for the off road use and that it was highly inconvenient to install and remove them every time I wanted to use them.

If you can argue a safety aspect then you have a good case in my opinion. But of course my opinion does not always agree with the opinion of some adademic or beauracrat drafting legislation!

Muddy 'doe
FollowupID: 334575

Follow Up By: Tim - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:20

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:20
If they are connected on the high beam circuit they get turned off when ever a car is coming anyway so how would you get caught? Unless Mr policeman is sitting in a medium strip somewhere I guess.
Thanks for the replies too guys.
Tim
FollowupID: 334606

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 08:22

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 08:22
I'm in Brisbane and I got pulled over by the cops when I flashed oncoming traffic for a handhekld radar. I didn't see the 2nd radar doing my side of the road (bugger). I got a $20 or $30 fine and I think I lost one point for 'using my high beam lights within 200 metres of oncoming traffic'.
FollowupID: 334624

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:31

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:31
Hi Tim,

I have my UHF antenna mounted on the roof rack. The installer ran the cable thru the firewall and up in front of the windscreen in the channel beside the windscreen on the drivers side and into the roof rack channel. This is of course on my Prado. Your car may be different but it looks OK on mine.

Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 74706

Follow Up By: Tim - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:23

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:23
Yeah I have a 90 series TD so I will have a look at that, I will probably run seperate conductors so I have individual control and I would probably go a reverse light too so its probably going to be a multicore cable which probably won't fit, will check it out anyway, thanks.
Tim
FollowupID: 334607

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:24

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:24
My jack was ex. plantations dept in vic, it has the 'rola' style roof racks and had two antennas fitted onto these in its govt spec. They ran the cable internally to the base of the b pillar then internally in the pillar and out through the rubber grommet/conduit between the pillar and the door ( where the power window etc. cables run) only mod to car was a small hole in the grommet. They then used some self adhesive aluminium cable retainers - about a centimetre square with a bendable tab in the centre to secure the cable to the pillar up to the roof racks. Don't know where they got the aluminium versions but i know elec suppliers have plastic versions with cable ties built in . Cant see a thing when the doors are closed and it seemed to work well.

Re roof lights - i suppose if you had an isolator switch (dummy?) under the bonnet to show the officer, and a hidden switch (internal) to actually isolate them then you should be sweet. As others said, if they switch off with the high beams then whats the prob ?? As with anything i guess if you use them sensibly then the risk is low.

Hope this helps, Brad
AnswerID: 74837