Exploromites get together

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:21
ThreadID: 15950 Views:2440 Replies:9 FollowUps:11

Been awhile since I've been able to regularly visit the forum, but I see that the SA mob have got a weekend get together coming up. And I know some of the Vic mob have had similar meets. All this begs the question...when is WA going to have it's turn???

:o) Melissa

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:31

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 13:31
Hi Melissa, how is your bundle of joy not so little any more I bet. Our 2nd grandson is only weeks away so nan is getting edgey.
Why dont you organize a get together there some where its not hardjust pick a couple of spots and wack up a post.
Are you coming across to Robe will be a good crowd there.
Nice to here from you again.
AnswerID: 74667

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 14:33

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 14:33
Hi Steve,

Shelby is doing great, thanks for asking. Hard to believe nearly 6.5 months old already. Robe thing sounds good but just not possible. Got a family wedding in Vic around Sept/Oct next year though so we're thinking of incorporating SA into a trip across then. Have to wait and see though. Re organising WA get together...I guess I was hoping someone else would take the initiative as I have very little spare time lately. Hope all goes well with the arrival of your new grandson.

FollowupID: 334548

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 14:00

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 14:00
NSW/ACT just had one, i'm waiting for QLD/NT to have one as well and maybe sometime in the future we could have an all in one too. And if Jeff (Beddo) gets back too me, maybe another one soon for NSW/ACT.

AnswerID: 74672

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 11:48

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 11:48
Where about's Baz?
FollowupID: 334637

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 15:52

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 15:52
Melissa, is great to see you back with a post again. It is great to meet with the ones we have met since we went to the Wombat Forest and got ourselves acquainted with Baz, Mr and Mrs Al, John and Muddy Girl, GOB and Denny - and of course Member Eric and family too. Since then a few of the SA clan Bonz who is local to us and looking forward to catching up with more at Robe.

Heather and I will actually be in Perth just before the end of the month in the lead up to the Davis Cup re-qualifying round if you WA folks feel like socialising. The email addy is with the rig pic. Be in a pseudo 4by then though.

Unfortunately I have been having net problems here with the computers and they are not socialising properly - network is working but not for internet although all is set up as it should be. Well I reckon it is and so does our computer doctor. The desktop net server goes on holidays in a boot process too and since I tried to get the Java going it does not like me to log in as a member here :-( > One could say I am not a happy camper.........
AnswerID: 74684

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:14

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:14
Hi John,

Will email you...

FollowupID: 334570

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:41

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:41
I am very keen,and i know that Karl has been talking about it, We will get down your way soon , now that rugby is finished
regards uppy
AnswerID: 74701

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:17

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:17
No worries...have you managed to get a look down this way yet?

FollowupID: 334571

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 13:47

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 13:47
Yeah I would be interested, more so in a day trip and then we could plan something for a weekend etc. I am currently in Karratha at the moment with work and will possibly be in Darwin a bit later in the month. I will keep an eye out.
FollowupID: 334652

Reply By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:59

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 17:59
Hi Melissa,

Good to see you back "on air".

Back in mid June a few of us half talked about getting together and going up to Lake Indoon. (post #13904)

It didn't eventuate before the rainy season hit us and we haven't revisited it since.

I reckon if you were to suggest something - you'd get some takers.

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

AnswerID: 74703

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:22

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:22
Lake indoon would have been OK too but no fun during winter. I've just about had enough of winter now and getting restless to have a weekend away somewhere. Actually, hubby and I have been talking about a weekend at the beach...possibly somewhere between Lancelin and Wedge Pt. But there's plenty of sandgropers around this forum. Surely someone can come up with a suggestion...even just a picnic somewhere!

FollowupID: 334572

Reply By: Member- Rox - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:32

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:32
Hi Melissa, How about Jarradale? Good spot for BBQ + o/N camp + 4wd tracks see UBD page 483/485? and look 4 a tent simble.

Were traveling soon Round oz.
AnswerID: 74707

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:36

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:36
Hi Rox,

Don't think I know the spot you are referring too. Are you volunteering to organise something?

FollowupID: 334640

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:44

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 18:44
I'd be keen, it'll have to be soonish though as the bub's getting close to being fully baked! She's just browning at the moment. LOL
AnswerID: 74712

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:34

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:34
Got any suggestions? BTW, when's bub due?

FollowupID: 334639

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:41

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:41
Bub is due at the end of October.
Whiteman park is not a bad idea, it's free and green this time of year, they also have free wood for the BBQ's. If people want to they can go for a drive out to the Pinjar power plant through the pines after lunch or somthing like that.
FollowupID: 334644

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:47

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:47
Sounds OK. I've been meaning to check out WP for years.

FollowupID: 334645

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:51

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:51
I belive you can even reserve some BBQ area there, don't know how or if at any cost but I have seen them reserved before.
Spose we would just need to organise a time and date, post it and take it from there. Whatya reckon?
FollowupID: 334646

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:38

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:38
Just love that word:

EXPLOROMITES

Enjoy, & c ya round

AnswerID: 74736

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 10:10

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 10:10
Melissa.
Just start a new thread, pick a date and place that suits you, and call it a reunion.

If people turn up, good, if not, then have a good weekend yourself.
It works! No organising required.

YMMV
AnswerID: 74781