How To Control The Petrol Pricing

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:10
ThreadID: 15959 Views:2771 Replies:19 FollowUps:8
I received an email today which gave another slant on one way of stopping the oil companies in Australia controlling the price of fuel at the pumps. It goes something like this :-
> Subject: Fuel price to hit $1.35 in one month
> Petrol prices - worth thinking about!
>
> Apparently we are going to hit close to $1.35 a litre by the end of
> winter. If this happens the prices will flow on down to the price of
> everything we buy! Want petrol prices to come down? We need to take some
> intelligent, united action. Philip Hollsworth, offered this good idea.
>
> This makes MUCH MORE SENSE than the "don't buy petrol on a
> certain"day" campaign that was going around last April or May! The oil
> companies
> just laughed at that because they knew we wouldn't continue to "hurt
> ourselves" by refusing to buy petrol. It was more of an inconvenience to
> us than
> it was a problem for them. BUT, whoever thought of this idea, has come up
> with a plan that can really work.
>
> Now that the oil companies and the OPEC nations have conditioned us
> to think that the cost of a litre is CHEAP at .89 / .95 cents, we need to
> take aggressive action to teach them that BUYERS control the marketplace
> not sellers. With the price of petrol going up more each day, we consumers
> need to take action. The only way we are going to see the price of petrol
> come down is if we hit someone in the pocket by not purchasing their
> Petrol!
>
> And we can do that WITHOUT hurting ourselves. Here's the idea:
>
> For the rest of this year, DON'T purchase ANY petrol from the two
> biggest oil companies (which now are: BP and Mobil). If they are not
> selling
> any petrol,they will be inclined to reduce their prices. If they reduce
> their prices, the other companies will have to follow suit. But to have an
> impact, we need to reach literally millions of BP and Mobil petrol
> buyers.
>
> It's really simple to do!!
>
> Now, don't wimp out on me at this point...keep reading and I'll explain
> how simple it is to reach millions of people!! I am sending this note
> to a lot of people. If each of you send it to at least ten more (30 x 10 =
> 300)...and those 300 send it to at least ten more (300 x 10 =
> 3,000).... and so on, by the time the message reaches the sixth
> generation of
> people, we will have reached over THREE MILLION consumers!
>
> Again, all you have to do is email this to 10 people. That's all. (and
> not buy at BP and Mobil) How long would all that take? If each of us sends
> this email out to ten more people within one day of receipt, all 300
> MILLION people could conceivably be contacted within the next 8 days!!! I'll
> bet you didn't think you and I had that much potential, did you! Acting
> together we can make a difference. If this makes sense to you, please
> pass this message on.
>
> PLEASE HOLD OUT UNTIL THEY LOWER THEIR PRICES TO THE 80 cents a LITRE RANGE.
>
> It's easy to make this happen. Just forward this email, and buy your
> petrol at Shell, Caltex, GAS. or Gull Outlets and drive past BP and
> MOBIL Stations.

I think it is worth a try. As it is I never buy my fuel At BP or Mobil anyway so what do you reckon. It certainly does make sense if every motorist uses this tactic!!!!!!!!!!
I've already emailed all my friends. Cheers.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:23

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:23
I want that 2 mins I wasted reading that back...
AnswerID: 74721

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:40

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:40
u mean u read all of it Truckster????
FollowupID: 334588

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:12

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:12
Took that long to scroll down.
FollowupID: 334604

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:37

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:37
But what about the Mobil and BP fuel that is sold to the smaller outlets, like Liberty, Fox, Coles Express, Woolworths Plus Petrol, Star, etc (Names in SA at least). Some of them use BP and Mobil.

And what will happen if everyone starts buying at the others fuel shops recommended? Won't the laws of supply and demand dictate that they will put their prices up anyway because they won't be able to feed the demand?

And what about all the people who don't give a toss anyway? Won't they still fill up at Mobil and BP? And what about Police and fleets who only use Mobile or BP Cards?

Sounds good in theory but I doubt very much if it will have any impact at all.

Sorry to be sceptical, but I once installed Hiclones so I'm not a compete pesimist!!
AnswerID: 74723

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:46

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:46
Ok,
My local Mobil is usually a cent cheaper but I dont buy fuel there & BP seems to always be the most expensive but I have Caltex Shell & Gull close by so I'll buy from them... it wont inconvenience me & it may just give BP & Mobil thebleeps.
The other scheme of not buying fuel on a particular day would work especially if everyone did the same thing but it would take another Peter Lalor to organise it...
I have some friends with Political ears and they assure me that the Politicians are not concerned at this stage with fuel prices... Mr Howard apparently remarked within earshot of one of my colleauges that " if fuel prices were to reach $4 a litre it would provide a subsantial boost to revenue"
I'm waiting to hear of fuel trucks being hijacked.....
AnswerID: 74724

Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:53

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 19:53
I saw this email come around in the 90's when petrol skyrocketted. It was good in theory back then but didn't work because just not enough people knew about it or cared and for the same reason, I don't reckon it will work now but hey, I would love to be proven wrong (& just for the record I haven't bought from BP or Mobil since except for the odd emergency).
AnswerID: 74727

Reply By: enu - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:20

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:20
they tried the same idea overseas and it flopped,the same would happen here.
AnswerID: 74734

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:35

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:35
Mobil are pulling out of Aus anyway, something about the size of the market here not being worth the effort(from a friend at Mobil). I can't see another multinational,BP, being hurt too bad by this action.
AnswerID: 74735

Follow Up By: Member - NewMan (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:10

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 12:10
Blue,

I live in the general vacinity of the Mobil refinery in Melb and the local paper had a story stating that Mobil is now going to stay and invest the money to upgrade their equipment.

Seems like the returns are likely to exceed the costs (especially if the price reaches $4.00 per Ltr).

Tony N
FollowupID: 334638

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:42

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:42
Hmm we buy our base oil from mobil for our main melb plant and we now have to but it ex depot out of singapore as mobil chose not to committ to updating it's oil refineries in aus. Mobil have stated that they will pull out of aus alltogether in their global statements, their oil is already handled by third parties. Read a mobil blurb that said - the diesel consumed by new york in one week is greater than the total usage in aus for an entire month !! so you can see their priorities are elsewhere. Never liked mobil fuel anyway.
FollowupID: 334685

Reply By: Member - Bob - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:44

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:44
I'm not averse to higher fuel prices, as long as they apply all over the world. It might get some of the cretins off the road, delay the exhaustion of fossil fuels, and get us looking at alternative fuels.
AnswerID: 74739

Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 08:13

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 08:13
Nothing personal, but....

Isn't it funny how it is always "the other bloke" who is the cretin

???????????
FollowupID: 334623

Reply By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:51

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 20:51
So OK, we own a tranport company and we cart LPG. We also have a BP card to fill up our trucks. So, if you say don't fill up at Mobil or BP, that means our trucks don't go anywhere, so that means all our customers we fill up will have to go without as well. Oh and I hope you don't use bottle gas for your heating and cooking, cause some of our trucks cart propane which is used for that, so there for you are going to go cold, cause we can't fill our truck up at BP cause we have a BP card. And you are telling everyone not to fill up there.
That will also in turn affect all the other name service stations cause they also will not be able to get any deliveries cause "we cant fill our truck up with diesel" to keep our trucks moving.

Topcat I think you need to put your thinking cap on and come up with a better idea.
See ya all at the BP when we fuel up tonight.............................lol
Karen
AnswerID: 74741

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:05

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 21:05
TC,
Do I bite, oh alright then.............. For us in Perth 95% of the fuel comes from the one place Kwinana Refinery, the other small amount rest imported, specific to WA I know. If you bought all your fuel from a few selected sites and their fuel demand went through the roof they would purchase from the other fuel producers anyway to save importing fuel which costs more. You can try, be my guest or are you winding us up?
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 74743

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:34

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:34
Well all I can say is that I got a reaction to the subject & everyone has a right to their own opinion on the matter. After all it was someone else's idea & I was just exploring the situation. Cheers.
FollowupID: 334610

Reply By: motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:33

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 22:33
Yes, this one did the rounds of the emails a few years back - just another form of spam. As the big guys sell to the little guys - it would only hurt the customer trying to shop at another outlet.

I'm all for renewable energy sources, but i recently read a report by the President of WA Farmers, who said we could only grow something like 10% of the country's needs.

Must be an alternative to oil powered cars out there somewhere that is realistic.
AnswerID: 74758

Reply By: ianmc - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 23:37

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2004 at 23:37
The facts seem to be that Russia which is a very big producer has virtually
stopped Yukos Oil from producing due no doubt to the privatisation of it under Yeltsin, probably for favours, and its bankrupt. No doubt it will be revived under govt control & get the precious $$ flowing.
Iraq also offline due to terrorist activity blowing up the lines and of course
speculators making hay while we pay & our govt enjoying the extra tax collected.

Recxently read an article on Russian super deep drilling whereby their wells are
recharged from methane etc which tops up the wells as the draw from them.
Using it in I think the Phillipines & Korea. That, together with the untapped Falklands & Israeli fields & the wells drilled by the Dept of Min & Energy in Aust & plugged seems to indicate plenty of untapped resources but may take years to get them on line so lets hope for cheap alternatives before then.
AnswerID: 74761

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 06:47

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 06:47
Its like interest rates if they go up that day you get the result the next morning .
If they go down it takes ages for them to come down
Oil I cant see if it goes up over there why it goes up here straight away.
They must have heaps in storage.

AnswerID: 74769

Reply By: Michael - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 14:03

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 14:03
He really didn't mean all that, he was just practicing his typing skills!!!
AnswerID: 74796

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:04

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:04
I'd be happy if the price came down to $1.35 a litre!! Currently $1.46.
AnswerID: 74814

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:44

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:44
Even though paces like Gull import their own fuel and distribute it to people like Liberty etc (terminals west), they buy from BP and Mobil in between shipments and whenever the price is right from them, Gull and BP and Mobil basically supply all of WA's fuel. If you don't buy from BP and Mobil, Gull will need to then buy more fuel from Mobil and BP. It's a false economy. Sorry.
AnswerID: 74818

Reply By: floyd - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 20:13

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 20:13
This e-mail came around a few years ago. Guess where it originated????

The Oil refinery that supplies the smaller guys (ie not BP or MOBIL). A mate works for them and it was written by their own marketing company.

Funny how it asks you not buy form the big 2 and to buy from their own companies.

Believe the contents of it now???

SUCKERS!!!!!!
AnswerID: 74829

Reply By: Rossco100series - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:13

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:13
LMAO wot a crock

Little do you know that they are all in bed with each other as I work for Shell Refinery in Geelong. Shell supllies more than half of fuel in Victoria and SA.
I can go on and on but its a load ofbleep.

AnswerID: 74835

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:52

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 22:52
Hey there Rossco, are they still 'hot' filling the tankers out of the depot down there ?? And would you know if they have changed the cetane number or the density of the 'standard ' blend since they entered the coles/myer deal ? I thought they might have (same for caltex/woolworths) in order to cover some costs and make more margin..
FollowupID: 334686

Follow Up By: Rossco100series - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 23:45

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 23:45
Bradley the density is .850 sg and cetane is 50

Rossco
FollowupID: 334696

Reply By: VWR - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 15:19

Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 15:19
I saw a bumper sticker once

"Ban all mining and let the bastards freeze to death in the dark"

Sort of fits dosen't it.

If you want to look at rip offs in Aust look no further than the cost of LPG and Diesel. We are a small market I am afraid and at their mercy. One day oil will be replaced by the hydrogen cell or similar and it will just continue on the same way - It is called free enterprise and taking what the market will bear. We have no alternative fuel supplied by others, that is the problem.

They tried some interesting alternatives during the war when it was rationed but i don't know how modern cars would cope with chicken poo.

Bit of a ramble but you get the point
AnswerID: 74886

Reply By: Joe - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 16:40

Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 16:40
Maybe it's time for some bulk buying via clubs. Shop the outlets along the lines of we have 30 4wd members who will turn up on... eg every Tuesday throughout the day. Can gaurantee you will sell x lt. What's your best price?
Joe
AnswerID: 74897