Delays Getting 78 series fixed

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 16:39
ThreadID: 15970 Views:2209 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
Bit of a whinch, We have had 2 landcruisers doing some very tough bush bashing lately and it is rare for them to come back to town( Kalgoorlie)without needing repairs. Most of the time they get fixed fairly promptly but often there are delays coz parts have to come from that mystical place calle "over east" The latest delay is waiting for fuel lines and I can t beleive that given the the number of well thrashed tojo utes in Kal alone there is not sufficient spares in perth (usually sent on overnighters) W A- wait awile

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 08:17

Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 08:17
Morning Davoe

Well mate, all I can say in the first instance is that I was born in Southern Cross and lived in Marvel Loch for the first 7 years of my life and the next 11 in Perth and Southern Cross, and fully understand the "over east" thing.

However when I became a 'big boy' (18), I moved "over east" into the army and have lived there ever since, with no thoughts of ever returning "back west".

Now to the core of your post.

I have a 75 series Troopy which I flog around the deserts etc and after hearing of one that had a brake line torn out, I made some enquiries with my brake specialist as to how I could make emergency repairs in such a situation and what tools and supplies I would need.

ANSWER: Basically the only thing you can do is block of the damaged line and the only effective way to do that is to clamp off the nearest rubber hose between the damage and the master cylinders.

Admittedly this may mean that you only have braking power to either the front or back.

He told me that all brake lines are machine made ( beds and flares) with the flares being at some particular degree/angle and I think he said 'double rolled', whatever that means.

In essence, us who live "over east" are in the same boat as those that live "back west" in that replacement brake lines have to be ordered from the vehicle spare parts area or custom made.

Unless of course you are extremely lucky and there happens to be one in stock wherever you are making your enquiry.

So sit back, have a beer or three and enjoy Kal and life in general while you are waiting for your next set of brake lines.

Ken Robinson
AnswerID: 74856

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 13:51

Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 13:51
I thought he was waiting for fuel lines not brake lines.

FollowupID: 334741

Follow Up By: Davoe - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:51

Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:51
lucy obviosly knew what I meant it is brake lines although the fuel lines are ripped off most trips as well. btw what do you mean no intentions of moving back west. I am from S.A and I consider W.A to be the 4wd mecca of Australia.
FollowupID: 334747

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 14:57

Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 14:57
G'day Ken

Now who is 'LUCY' ??? Or is it one of those mysteries?

Please explain

FollowupID: 334854

Reply By: Troopie - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:37

Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:37
Recently experienced the same thing in WA - Kununurra. Ordered a part on a Thursday and was informed it wold be there the following Monday.... The Monday came and went, as did Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursaday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and another Monday before it showed up!

This was waiting for a very common part on a 78 series.

Puts into doubt the theory that buying Toyo is a good thing because you can always get parts easily....

AnswerID: 75015