Laptop theft from car
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 22:30
TD6
I have recently experienced the theft of a laptop computer from my Patrol.
My rear RHS cargo window was smashed and the laptop stolen. The HF base unit, tools, compressor etc etc were untouched.
The intention of this post is to make others aware of the low life’s that are out there, what they are doing, and hopefully how to get around it.
In my case my computer was in a bag in the back of the car IE: behind the larger door, RHS and covered by a tarp. I also have heavily tinted windows so there is no way you can see the load in the back. I drove from one end of Sy#$$Ney to the other and parked in a commercial car
park. I also didn't access the back of the car after
parking. Therefore no one would have known the laptop was there from a visible point of view.
To cut a long story short.......
When I called the police I was told that I was the 10th person in this particular car
park to lose their laptop during that week.
Apparently these crooks have a scanner that picks up the frequency of the Nicads and shows them exactly where in the vehicle the machine is located. I haven't gone to the trouble of confirming this but going from other peoples experiences and talking to a number of coppers this is a standard tool for these Bas#$%tds.
To get around this you can either use a Kensington lock IE: a cable locking system, keep the laptop out of the car or buy a Blood$$%Y big German Shepherd.
Just thought with the amount of people now carrying laptops as part of their navigation system this may be useful.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 22:40
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 22:40
Dont laptops use lithium batteries now?
Smells like BS to me.
YMMV.
Follow Up By: TD6 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 22:44
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 22:44
I said Nicads.......what are you getting at
Reply By: TD6 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 22:49
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 22:49
Sorry mate just read your response properly.......Yeah I don’t know but this is what I'm told and it was strange that they knew exactly where the laptop was
Reply By: ianmc - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:10
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:10
This shows a lack of security in the
park & a lack of concern by the police.
You would think that with so many thefts they would have staked out the place.
It was common knowledge years ago in
Melbourne that the staff in parks were
into car theft, joy rides & whatever.
Follow Up By: TD6 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:26
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:26
Yep......when I approached the car
park manager I was told (in very broken english) that it was not their problem. I guess that
sign at the front of most of these buildings "
park at own risk" covers these clowns
Reply By: Anthony from Anglyn Promotions - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:42
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:42
We market a product called PortaSafe. This is a portable safe with an alarm. It utilises a cable which can be threaded through a secure part of your vehicle and then inserted into the lock. When locked with the key, the alarm, 120db, is set, and if someone tries to cut the high tensile braided cable, or tamper with the lid of the safe, it will set off the alarm.
PortaSafe is big enough to take slimline portable computers, as
well as other bits and pieces.
More details on our website www.anglyn.com.au , and click on the PortaSafe logo.
As with all locks etc, they are a deterrent, and hopefully make the thief go try somewhere else where it is easier.
Anthony Taylor
Tel 0438 646 981
Fax 08 9248 2713
email: anglyn@dodo.com.au
Follow Up By: Michael - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 16:59
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 16:59
Thats great Anthony but you still end up with the $500 glass repair bill..
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:46
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:46
This ad brought to you by...
Thought it smelt like something.
Follow Up By: Peter O - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:56
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:56
You're pretty quick Truckster LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Ray - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:59
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 23:59
Truckster , you old cynic you.(-:
Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 03:08
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 03:08
I agree with you Truckster. Anyway, why not spend the same amount of money & get the whole car alarmed. Any thief scared off by an alarm would then leave all possessions alone, not just the laptop
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:26
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:26
Peter O.. It couldnt be more obvious!! Amazingly someone out of the blue just happened to be surfing EO for the first time ever that sells security items that suit this situation..
"hallelujah .. its a miracle"...
Bits: the issue is once they have smashed the window, and the alarm is going, the opening is there. They will 'smash and grab', grab what ever they see and make off on their toes.
But Agree with you, alarm is a good idea, although do you ever notice people taking note of alarms anymore? Walk thru a shopping center
carpark, see the 300 alarms going off per hour, and not once does anyone take notice anymore. When they first came out they were a BRILLIANT deterrant. They were a novelty.. Alarm went off, and WOOSH.. people everywhere.
YMMV
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:46
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:46
Seeings as his lock company is a registered bussiness member on this website I do not see the problem with him telling you about his product in an advertising way, also it seems to me that it is the ideal solution to the above mention problem. I think that businesses who support this
forum and website finacially should be given some support in return and am dissapointed to see the reactions to this person's response to a trying to help solve a problem.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 17:07
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 17:07
Good onya Jeff .
Maybe truckster didnt think off that one.
Follow Up By: Anthony from Anglyn Promotions - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 01:16
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 01:16
Hi Truckster,
As a ligitimate advertiser on this website, I am able to high light my products to a potential customer.
If you have a problem with me advertising, have a chat to David and Michelle. I pay for my advertising. How would people find out about new products unless they are brought to your attention through advertising.
Get your facts right before you sprout
forth.
Anthony Taylor
Anglyn Promotions
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 06:37
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 06:37
Ant good reply I dont know how long you have been on this site but truckster dont like many things.
Unless its one of his mates products.
Ps if you send him a free one he could learn to love it. LOL
Reply By: stitch - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 00:18
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 00:18
I bet your insuance company didn't want to know about it either. My vehicle was broken into in a work
carpark (railways), smashed passenger front window, took CD player and cd's...... my fault, I didn't advise them the cd player was aftermarket and I should have had personal effects insurance to cover the cd's. I know how pi$$ed off you are. I have a story, though, of a mate of
mine who actually caught a theif in action with his car...........
Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 07:38
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 07:38
how would a scanner pick up a lap top if its not switched on? scanners can only scan for frequencies emitted ....and that means it has to be powered up to emit a a radio frequency...its as truckster says.... BS
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:31
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:31
Me and 3 mates searched the net for hour last night lookin for this scanner, and nothing comes up anywhere.
re-read that and then the advert about the "solution", timing is pretty good eh.. people wait 3 days for a reply on 4wd related threads.
~1 hour 12 for a reply on How to secure the lappy??
and do somethin' about that image LMAO! Its putting me off lunch... ;)~
Follow Up By: TD6 - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:52
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:52
Nudenut,
Good point, I'm not 100% sure if the machine wasn't in standby mode. I quite often eject it from the docking station without closing down totally. I've got no idea what would be emitted in this situation.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 10:45
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 10:45
truckster, Lunch? its just gone breakfast time ...still holding it down?
you dont love me?
well get nicked!!!!
lol
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 10:56
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 10:56
TD6
most sensible people make sure their lap top is switched off after use and before putting it away!!! to conserve battery life eh? AND if you did leave it on the radio frequency is not strong (also most no all power supplies must now comply with the law which governs the spectrum)
and would not be directional which would not aid in directional search....
I'm with that ugly bloke truckster on this...
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 09:43
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 09:43
Well there ya go...looks like i might be wrong again...
scanning for network cards eh? probably does work, i didnt think of that!....but the post is still suspi.......
whoa....mmm like someone says below...keep the mouth shut
mums the word......but but but
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 07:41
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 07:41
TD6..........
I am saddenend that this has happened to you.
As the proud owner of a new laptop myself, I read your post, and it sunk in real quick!
Okay.......... the fact that it was honed in on, and other things were left alone tells me that they knew what they wanted. 10 laptops in a week.............. I'm starting to wonder.........
Anyway......... this scanner thing intrests me.......... greatly. Is it for real? How does one pick up either a Nicad or Lithium at rest?
Answering this question is not going to give you any justice, but, if we can ascertain that this thing is for real, then perhaps others, myself included, can take extra precautions.
Again, I am sorry for your loss, and I hope you get a FASTER and SMALLER laptop to replace what you have lost.
Yours Sincerely
Follow Up By: TD6 - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:37
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:37
Thanks Ian
I have no idea how this so called scanner works but the Police seemed to be pretty confident about it. I was hoping someone here knew something about it just out of interest. There must be something it it though because my machine was definetly out of site.
The intention of this post was only to make people aware as more of us are using these in our vehicles.
And yes I did get a smaller faster one but it doesn't stay in the car anymore!
Regards Richard
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:05
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 09:05
Thanks mate, I've been putting off buying a car alarm for the last few weeks but I know I have to otherwise I'll lose my gear.
Sorry to hear about the loss of the lappy, if it's any concession, insurance should cover it, as long as the vehicle was properly locked.
Also consider your legal options, if the carpark signage was not informing you to secure valuables and that there was a recent problem, the carpark management have a duty to disclose that to you, epecially considering that the theft was one of 10. Obviously, you only need go down that track if insurance doesn't cover repairs and replacement.
Chris.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:44
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:44
I disconnected the whizz bang car alarm that came with my car as it was always re arming and you could not stop it, so when you are
camping it was always going off an annoying fellow campers and myself. I cut the wire to the siren and removed it. Now it's a good imobiliser.
Car alarms do not stop theives unless it hooked up to a 2000w 240v inverter connected to the body.
Reply By: Savvas - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 14:51
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 14:51
TD6 ... if this car park has a problem with breakins, let us know which carpark it is so we can avoid it.
Follow Up By: TD6 - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 14:57
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 14:57
Savvas,
This was the Ward St Car Park in North
Sydney. It's entry is off Berry St and sits behind Miller St if that helps.
Reply By: Andrew - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 15:38
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 15:38
Interesting thread
We (at work) have lost two laptops. One caused by ableepemployee (now with a very sore backside) who left it in its bag in plain viewn while he dashed off for a loo break. Lost the side window as well.
The other was a bit more interesting.
Out of sight under the seat and with jackets and stuff in the way.
The vehicle (falcon wagon) was in a high rise carpark and locked.
employee came back and vehicle still locked and no sign of break in. drove out and realised the jacket was in a different spot. So...
Laptop gone, power leads disconnected from inverter. No actual damage done.
Police advised that crooks can unlock some falcons to get in then relock as they leave. means that most people have left before they realise somthing is wrong and raise the alarm.
We now run lock cables that rip the computer apart rendering it useless if they try to pull it out. Otherwise we lock them in the roller
drawers in the back.
A
Reply By: Tim - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 18:56
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 18:56
Sorry to hear about it, I got a lappy a few weeks ago and there is soo much stuff on it, if it was stolen I would be lost.
About the whole scanner thing, was your laptop fitted with a wireless network card? As someone said, the radiation from the battery alone would be next to nothing but a wireless network card.....maybe, especially if it is in standby and not shut down.
Tim
Follow Up By: TD6 - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 22:09
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 22:09
Tim,
Yes it did have a wireless network card.
And to answer some expert through this thread about "sensible people" powering their laptop down totally to save the battery.It depends what you do with it.
In my case I move from job to job and need to have the machine up and running at short notice and that is exactly why that feature is available. I guess it's horses for courses.
Follow Up By: Tim - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 22:24
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 22:24
TD6
I'm not having a shot at you for leaving it on by any means, its something we all do but as far as the scanner thing, I think the wireless network card could be the answer to that, if you know what your doing you just have to drive around the carpark until you find a signal from a lappy, I had never even thought of it before myself.
Reply By: TD6 - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 22:34
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 22:34
Tim,
No I didn't take your response the wrong way at all. As a matter of fact you may have hit the nail on the head with the wireless component. Appreciate it.
I, and others I'm sure, value the positive comment like yours as opposed to some of the cynicism you see through threads like this.
Reply By: Space Bastard - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 23:14
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 23:14
As a laptop owner myself, I appreciate what you've said TD6. With the wireless, if you have a wireless card that is plugged into the PCMCIA slot of your lappy, it should be disabled when your computer is in standby, since you are logged off any network.
Still, it would have power going to it. I know I'll be making sure I pull my wireless card out in the carpark.
cheers, and I'm sorry to hear it happened at all.
Also, older fourbies have terrible locks. I can break into my 88 patrol in about a minute using a bit of packing tape, so the safest thing to do is take the lappy with you, especially if its a good one.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 01:06
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 01:06
Get a lock cable. Also stickers on windows advising that all items of value are engraved with drivers license no.s work well too. No thief wants a laptop or phone they can't flog later.
In answer to the scanning question try
checking out Wardriving
A laptop with a wireless network card and a copy of NetStumbler (free download from net) would find another wireless if it was on in about no time flat. There's a whole geek sport based on it. I run it to diagnose my home wireless network problems.
I love wireless - I can type this from the recliner with the laptop on my broadband.. ahhhh. CCCsshhh - the sound of another stubby opening....
djcache - It's always in the last place you look....
Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:07
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:07
Well djcache a recliner is fine but I use mine everywhere.........hang on a minute..........................
Just had to flush LMAO.
I have Netstumbler too. Haven't played with it much but doesn't it just pick up the wireless LANs as opposed to the computer?
As I said I don't really play around with it. However it is amazing how many networks you can find with it while just driving down the road.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 22:00
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 22:00
TD6 - If your laptop was still powered up, and I leave mine semipowered most of the time, then your laptop would possibly have been transmitting.
If it was in a standby state or hibernation, it probably wasn't. That may vary with individual laptops - I have no idea. A hint as to whether yours does leave it's network access point transmitting and receiving may lie in your power settings, and whether you can set it to wake on new network activity. Your IT people should be able to tell you. Others on this
forum clearly can't.
The software I mentioned "NetStumbler" and other similar types of software will detect a transmitting network access point using another wireless computer.
Hopefully you have gained enough information from this thread to help in the future.
I am a reasonably new member of ExplorOz and think the forums are great - most of the time. However, like the rest of the internet you have to use some filtering of the info you gain.
I think what happened with this
forum is deplorable and that there are a few people who should hang their heads in shame.
Okay you can't scan for batteries but if you think about the chinese whispers game then the coppers involved and others who retold the story before it was told to TD6, it didn't end up too far from the mark.
I think it's great that the ill informed ignorant opinionated bulls*&t artists who scoffed at the scanning idea can't delete their posts, as they stand for the duration as evidence to the fact that those that typed them have to have an opinion even when they have not a clue what that opinion is or should be.
Why do people have to turn forums like this one, which was just letting others know about the possibility of a risk of theft, into what this one became.
A person who knows the answer MAY be smart, the smarter person keeps their mouth (keyboard) shut, observes and (maybe) learns when they don't have a damn clue.
PS I didn't mention names as I don't wish to get personal. If you think I was talking about you - reflect on why you jump to that conclusion. If you think you are right maybe you have something else to think about.