Ute Mounting points
Submitted: Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 12:26
grlynch
I am looking at getting some tapped plates welded to the underside of my style side tray in strategic locations for mounting points. In order to temporarily mount a toolbox, Eye-bolts for tie points etc.
Has anyone ever tried this, or something similar/better? I'd just like to know if there is any pitfalls before i start cutting holes in the tray?
Glenn
Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:16
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:16
Glenn,
Had this type of set up in my last rodeo. The only draw back was if i forgot to screw a blanking off bolt into the tapped hole when the hold downs were not in use. Let in dust and
water. Apart from that it worked
well for hold downs for trail bikes that could be taken out when not needed.
vince
Reply By: snow - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:27
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:27
Apologies GR for the slight hijack but thuoght y'all might get a laugh out of this as I did.
Many years ago I asked a good mate who was an apprentice boilie at the time to weld 4 eyes for tie down points (for a motorcycle) in the back of my
well back ute.
well gave hm the ute to take to work and low and behold when he returned with it that arvo all keen for me to inspect his handywork I discovered he had welded all 4 down the same side (!!!!). Trying not to laugh I enquired as to why he had done that to which he replied "
Well you never said to place one in each corner, although I did wonder why you would anchor the bike to one side only..."
Apologies again but your query reminded me of that and I thought I would share that small laugh.
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:43
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 13:43
This sounds like some so called trademen I have doing work for us over the years.