peter in sa
last week i posted about replasing my clutch in the paj as
mine is stuffed may be it was my fault [DRIVER ERROR] after doing the echo
camp back track last year at
Arkaroola during this track i got a big sniff of a burning smell so i reckon my clutch was workin over time and now ever since that and straight after that i pick up a shudder in the clutch ,so i,m thinkin that track was to tuff for the gear that i had on the paj so can any one tell me were i can get a hd kit that is going to take that kind of betting .im only a novice so may be the track is,int that bad maybe it was my fault ,suggestions please thanks peter
Reply By: REX.....(Adelaide) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:16
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:16
i just replaced the cluch in my 91 paj what a c%^&((t of a job picked my hd cluch kit up from repco in the 150 dollar mark from memoryif you do it your self drain the tranfer case of oil first makes for less cleanup afterwards as i found out.
my cluch had no shudder only slipped once that i know of yet when i got it out ,it was shaged 1 out of every 2 riverts were broken or missing .
Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 18:00
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 18:00
thanks rex for your fedback my machanic is doing the job sounds like he,s going to have heaps of fun NOT thanks mate
Reply By: Phil G - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:38
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 17:38
Peter,
Its not uncommon to make a clutch smell these days. Doesn't mean its stuffed. Usually happens when you slip the clutch it in High Range when you should be in Low Range. I wouldn't do anything based on what you've said.
But if you want to change it,
Adelaide Clutch Service in Torrensville is the best place to buy clutches.
Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 18:06
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 18:06
thanks phil my machanic is doing the job for me thanks for the info
Reply By: Will - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 23:03
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 23:03
Peter, make sure your mechanic gets the flywheel machined or you could still have a shudder and have to pull the box out again
Will
Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 23:24
Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 23:24
thanks will we
well let the our machanic know it does,nt go in till next week thanks peter