MAPS IN A GPS ( not a laptop )

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:26
ThreadID: 16037 Views:4355 Replies:6 FollowUps:18
Hi All ,
After doing a sensational trip through the desert last month with Murchison Safaris , I have decided I to upgrade my GPS .
I do not want to be saddled with a laptop sitting up in the front of the car - what I want is a GPS unit which I will be able to load with a full mapping system .
Is this possible with Oziexplorer or must you use a laptop ?
I have heard that it may be possible to instal Auslig maps in a GPS . Can anyone confirm this .
What about Natmap - do they have this sort of facility ?
As you can guess , I am a babe in the woods here . The most I have ever done with a GPS is to hit waypoint buttons , so any advice would be grateful .
I am prepared to pay up for a really good GPS which will do the job - does anyone have any suggestions ?
Thanks a lot ,
Willie

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:32

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:32
You can get a GPS/pocket pc all in one now from Garmin, not sure of the model etc. Apparently they are not waterproof though so may be a worry for out of vehicle use. Have alook at Garmin site or www.gpsoz.com.au
There are also GPS that run maps but have had nothing to do with them.
Alternatively I've gone from a laptop to a pocket pc running Oziexplorer as I found the Ipaq is much easier to use on the go and much smaller in the vehicle.
AnswerID: 75192

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:08

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:08
Peter ,
I thought about this option with my Palm , but I would need to put my glasses on to peer at it then take them off again to drive .
I think what I need is a GPS with a big screen .
Thanks for your help ,
Willie
FollowupID: 335006

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:12

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:12
I used to use a laptop but found it cumbersome and hard to use while mobile.
I have an older 3600 series Ipaq now which is much easier to use and with a few CF cards can store enough maps for most trips.
I use it in the bus I drive during the day with the street directory loaded and running, works a treat.
I have to wear glasses and can see it quite clearly, sounds like maybe you should be wearing them constantly too ;-))
The GPS (Garmin 12xl) and Ipaq run off the cig plug with the one cord connecting them both and the fag plug which also charges the Ipaq.
I just mount the Ipaq to the dash in whichever vehicle with velcro, the gps can be in the console if you have an external aerial for it.
Only takes a minute to put it all away out of sight when stopping and it fires right back up where you were when it is time to get going again.
As has been recommended speak to Brian at GPSOZ as he sells everything you could think of in this field and also knows how to use it.
FollowupID: 335021

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:28

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:28
Peter ,
There is no way I could read an Ipaq without putting on my glasses . I have perfect long sight so then I cannot see where I am going with the glasses on .
It's a giant pain in the butt putting them on and off all the time . If I can't get a big screen GPS that does the job I mighjt forget about the whole deal and stick to paper maps and way points .
Thanks ,
Willie.
FollowupID: 335054

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:58

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:58
Willie, i used to think my long sight was ok too till I got a set of multi focals, I was horrified!
Never take them off now, part of getting older I guess.
FollowupID: 335118

Reply By: 3Landerblue - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:51

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:51
I have had a Garmin GPSIII for about 5 years it has limited maps so recently I purchased a secondhand Ipaq 3870 from ebay.

I have loaded Ozi explorer CE and on two storage cards I have the whole of NSW and the Hema desert track maps.

The GPS talks to the Ipaq through a cable which also powers both the Ipaq and GPS from a 12v connector run from my dual battery.

You can put your routes on the GPS and just use it as normal and have the Ipaq displaying a coloured map.
As you drive to the end of one map the next one loads automatically.

We have just done a 5000km outback trip and it was a fantastic device
I also used the Ipaq to play MP3 music files through the radio cassette player by running the cassette adaptor from the headphone socket.

I too was going to buy a laptop but they are just too bulky.
No hard drives to damage in an Ipaq too.

This link below is to a great website on the subject and shows the installation in my vehicle

http://www.gpsvehiclenavigation.com/GPS/installations.php?action=detail&id=12

cheers 3LB

AnswerID: 75195

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:12

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:12
3LB ,
I agree with yoiu that getting a computer without a hard drive is a good option if you need to rely on it in the never never .
As I said to Peter , I am an old fart and my eyesight is not good enough for a Ipaq / Palm style screen .
Thanks foer your help ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 335008

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:43

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:43
I haven't had any problems with hard drives over several years and some pretty severe tracks. From previous discussions on this subject I haven't heard of anyone having hard drive trouble.
FollowupID: 335033

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:31

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:31
Bob ,
I have had two hard drives call it quits in a much kinder environment than a bouncing, dusty car .
Willie .
FollowupID: 335055

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 08:07

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 08:07
Willie...like you i am old fart....have had 3 pairs progressive glasses over 3 yrs and readers only but could never never get used to the progressive so used only when out for dinner ...(so i could read the label on the red of course)....used readers all other times , that was untill i misplaced the readers for 4 or 5 weeks, and had to use the progressive for every day use...read the paper,computer, paper-work and mechanical work etc etc... i now wear them almost continusously and it is good to be able to read the radio buttons and speedo etc and then look up to still be able to see the road...i can even read the hand held garmin GPS screen while driving when its in position on the dash.

so i reckon progressive glasses might be the go for you
FollowupID: 335068

Reply By: RickB - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 11:27

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 11:27
Gday Willie,
I use an Ipaq h2210 (this model has a CF slot and SD card slot). The PDA cost $425 new on ebay. A CF GPS card was $95 on ebay. Works well with OZiExploere PDA version. Maps are converted on the home PC to the PDA Ozi format and stored on the SD cards. Very happy with setup.

Rick
AnswerID: 75203

Follow Up By: Greg Harewood - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 17:35

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 17:35
Rick ..just thought Id let you know..latest version of OziCE now lets you use ecw image files as well - they update a bit slower than ozf format (still recommended) but its still handy.

FollowupID: 335000

Reply By: Member - Bob - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 11:47

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 11:47
If you want a stand alone GPS with maps the minimum model is a Magellan Map330. The newer Magellans offer more internal storage and better resolution. You can only use the DiscoverAus mapping software, or the expensive Hema/Magellan offering. The size of screen and choice of maps is very limiting.
The next step up is to have a PDA with GPS input. Some people find the screen size adequate. I didn't. Using OziExplorer CE you can use the Natmap series, plus almost any other digital map.
I use a laptop with external screen (you can get almost any screen size you like from 7" to 17"). You don't need to have the laptop in the way up front. The advantage is that you can use the laptop for a host of other things as well (storing photos or movies, music, watching DVDs).
I'd have a look at all the options running before you commit.
AnswerID: 75204

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:14

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:14
Bob ,
so is the advice is that nobody makes a GPS that will take decent maps ???????????
Thanks ,
Willie
FollowupID: 335011

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:45

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:45
No Willie Bob is correct the Magellan series of GPS units can take uploads from your home PC via the respective data cable.

You need Magellan's Discoveroz Streets and Tracks CD which has a complete coverage of all Aussie streets and tracks.

This CD was produced from every available commercial and government issue map available at the time of production.
So if the street or track your on is not shown then it did not exist at the time of production on any commercially available map.

Ozi Explorer requires you to purchase or steal the respective map you want and either scan it and upload it to your computer or upload the CD in the case of products like Hema's Desert map series.
Ozi Explorer is only able to be used with a lap top, its software cannot be uploaded into any GPS that I am aware of.
Garmin have no ability to upload any available mapping software.
Screen size will be your issue, the smaller Magellan units are a bit hard on the eye when your driving down the road, hence most go to larger screens of one sort or another.

Have a look at Magellan's web site for further info.

FollowupID: 335020

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:34

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:34
Willie,
That's right. The mapping quality is street directory-like. There are no topographic features. I found the DiscoverAus maps very inadequate out in the sticks, but very good once you reach town. As an example have a look for Pipalyatjara in the top left hand corner of SA on the DiscoverAus map - 'taint there! Nor is the road its on. Furthermore, the DiscoverAus map CD costs about $245, the Hema GDT CD for Magellan is the same price. I am guessing that Garmin maps aren't a lot better if at all.

When using OziExplorer on PDA or laptop the Auslig Natmap ratser 1:250,000 CDs of the whole country cost about $90. The HEMA GDT CD is even less.
Mate, at 50 I'm in the old fart category and definitely need glasses to see the GPS screen (and find the GPS first). A decent size screen is essential for me. That's why I say try before you buy.
FollowupID: 335028

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:12

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:12
Willie,
I gave you a bum steer there (relying on a failing memory). Pipalyatjara is marked, the road before and after isn't. Check my second photo for how the remote screen looks. That is a 15" monitor. It is bigger than I need but I had a spare. It doesn't encroach on vision or controls at all.
FollowupID: 335042

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:43

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:43
Bob ,

I had a look at the photo and I agree that it is an excellent presentation on a laptop - great view and the best maps .
Looks like the GPS idea is a dud although I will ring that GPS company mentioned to make sure .
I am surprised that people only seem to mention Garmin and Magellan . There are heaps more good companies making GPS units such as Lowrance , Founo and Koden just to name a couple .

Thanks to everyone for their help and if I here of anything new I will make a post .

Willie .
FollowupID: 335057

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:59

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:59
Bob you certainly do need glasses, I just checked and all the roads / tracks leading from the Gunbarrel Hwy into and out of Pipalyatjara are indeed marked clearly on DiscoverAus Streets and Tracks.

Maybe you need to zoom in to the 2 km and less scale as they appear at the 2 km scale.

You have to remember that this product came from the Rasters and other commercial maps produced at the time, the producers also spent considerable time with each respective state gaining as up to date info as possible at that time.

In my personal experience to date that I have never yet not found a road or track marked on a respective paper map that has not been on the software.
Although I'm sure I will one day.

Main thing that the product lacks is contour lines and that is being updated in the version currently being prepared and expected to be released early next year.

Or as an after thought are you using to old Map Send Product ?

FollowupID: 335058

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 23:17

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 23:17
"I am surprised that people only seem to mention Garmin and Magellan . There are heaps more good companies making GPS units such as Lowrance , Fuoruno and Koden just to name a couple"

Willie this is because most of these brands have been left way behind in the GPS market and they do not make small user friendly versions, most of there stuff is very large marine based stuff without the ability to integrate land based moving maps and very expensive.

FollowupID: 335060

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 14:30

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 14:30
John,
there is a section of the road (red) visible down to the 5 km scale. It disappears altogether as you zoom to 2 km, then even the missing bit comes back (as dotted black lines) when you zoom to 1 km.
Bit of a trap unless you know that the zooming is unpredictable and various bits appear and disappear depending on zoom level.
FollowupID: 335102

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 12:20

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 12:20
Willie,
bets advice for you is this.......

Contact Brian from GPSOZ 02 9999 2313
The guy knows everything about them, sells every brand not just 1.

I met him about 3 weeks ago when he came down to the nissan patrol club land just outside Goulborn. We had a weekend of GPS learning and he was the teacher.

I have to say he really does know his stuff.

I am sure the replies you get in here are good too but like myself, we usually can only comment on the product we own or know about. Brian will advise you on any product that fits inside your questions.

I have no association with the above. I just want to share an expierence with you guys when you need a fairdinkum answer.
Regards Angelo
AnswerID: 75206

Follow Up By: Member - Willie Sydney - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:16

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:16
Angelo,
I will ring these guys tomorrow .
Thanks for your help ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 335013

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:18

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:18
I forgot to add Willie we usually still carry the laptop as it is needed/used to download pics from digital cameras and internet/email access via CDMA.
Whatever direction you go stick to running laptop from 12v with appropriate power supply as inverters are not particularly efficient and I've never liked the idea of 240v leads running in the vehicle.
AnswerID: 75237