Portable 3-way fridge

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:26
ThreadID: 16038 Views:6356 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
I noticed that Repco are advertising a 3 way (12v, 240V, LP Gas) 35l chest type fridge for $399. I read the data sheet that was inside the fridge & I note that they draw 6.5A from a 12V supply, but there is no temperature contol in that mode. Having read countless threads on fridges from the forum, I suppose the quality is akin to the $$$ paid?

Sparky

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:38

Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 09:38
Think my 15 year old chestcold 40L is the same - about 8.5 amps on 12 volt with no thermo in that circuit. That's ok - while in the car you need it flat out - while static you use gas (to save power) and the thermo works on that mode (plus the 240V mode. IF a caravan servicing mob could give you the nod on this model being able to be serviced parts wise (the odd element will go) and you are happy with 35L, it could be a winner. My 40 L gets very tightly packed at times with the two of us only, and 3 ways should have some air movement space in between the tucker !
AnswerID: 75194

Follow Up By: Crazie - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 10:09

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 10:09
Hey Banjo

Take the back off the old chestcold and wire in some computer fans (pick up from Dick Smith or somewhere like that) to force air through the elements, it will work wonders on 12V. As for this fridge I have a mate who works for Narva who put these fridges out, I will try and find out how good or bad they are.
FollowupID: 335076

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 11:30

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 11:30
Thanks Crazie - forgot to say in the post (but have in others on this topic) - I've already done the small fan thing - works very well...comes on when the 12 V circuit is on - ............and can't see us goin go to a compressor fridge just yet - the 3 way goes too well !
FollowupID: 335084

Follow Up By: Crazie - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 11:42

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 11:42
Hey Banjp

Still waiting on my mate to get back to me regarding the Repco frridge, but just reading through your jackaroo details and wanted to know where you have put the 25L water tank. I have got a 2002 Petrol and have been looking at adding a water tank. We went a purposely brought an old chestcold because they are so good. Love the 3 wat too. Cheers

FollowupID: 335086

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:53

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:53
This page is a little out of date now but the tank pic is ok. Custom Made SS with a bung in the side from a marine place. Goes in the triangular space made by the forward slope of the bottom half of the cargo barrier. Small vent at the top plumbed up to the roof. Inlet / outlet hose left foot side for filling and getting the water. I'm happy - easy to use and is in a place previously unoccupied.
FollowupID: 335098

Reply By: jules15 - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 10:17

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 10:17
G'day - we have one of these fridges - have taken it on all our travels - does struggle a bit in the tropics - especially in the car - but cooling fans - and a heavy duty connection to your battery work wonders - we find we freeze meat before we go - keeps longer - don't overload the fridge - the quality is great for the money - we paid over $600 for ours - my husband even thought of buying one of these on special - just because!
jules
AnswerID: 75295

Follow Up By: Graham- Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:52

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:52
Hi Jules,

I have just bought one of those fridges. Have it running on 240 to check it out. Seems a pretty good unit for the price. Got some beers chilling to see the result. :-)

Am curious as to how you deal with ventilation if running it off 12v when travelling.

Do you leave space around it or is your setup such that bags, sleeping bags etc don't come in contact with the case?

Graham
FollowupID: 335150

Reply By: Crazie - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:06

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:06
Hello Troopy Travellers

I have just spoken to a mate of mine and he says that are quite a good fridge, great on Gas. They have had very few returned and they were meant to be more expensive. cheers
AnswerID: 75337

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:47

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:47
Hey Sparky, talk to these guys about 3 ways they are good, been around for a long time, they reco'ed our 3 way.

Alternate Gas Refridgeration Pty.Ltd.
20/14 Holbeche Rd
Arndell Park 2148
9672 1664

AnswerID: 75367

Follow Up By: jules15 - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:07

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:07
G'day - we make sure we leave plenty of room around our "Finch/Chescold" - same difference - we also put a silver reflective screen on the window next to it - to keep direct sun off even tho we have heavily tinted windows - it all helps. - We couldn't find a screen thingy small enough - so got a steering wheel one and put a grommet and suction cap through it to stick on the window - works well - can be moved to the rear of the vehicle if necessary. We always use long life milk as well -so it doesn't need to be refrigerated until it is needed - can carry lots more that way - we at one stage made a cover out of a silver window reflector - put together with staples - which also helped in big heat when travelling - will not have any problem on gas - works best of all this way - will find it even freezes things if you have very cold nights - so don't turn it down too low overnight.
Happy travels -
jules
FollowupID: 335194