Adelaidetaff
Ladies, Gents and others
A couple of weeks ago I was lying in my tent at
Dalhousie Springs wondering if the rain would ever stop (it did the next morning, after a very interesting night), if every fly and bug in the world was going to bite me (yes they did), who was the person that put all the exploroz stickers on the finke to mount dare road gates and I know nothing about the people who post on this
forum.
I very rarely post on this
forum, mainly I just read it and gain some valuable info but I also read another website
forum called flyertalk and on that
forum they have this ongoing thread where people tell everyone else about themselves, how old they are, what they do for a living, where they live, why they are into such and such, etc, etc and when the rain was hammering down on my tent I thought this would be a great idea for this
forum.
I will not post my details here becasue I think if this thread is going to exist then it should probably be a sticky or maybe even a separate section on the website.
I know there are already details of the members rigs elsewhere on the website but there are no details of the members, it also shouldn't be just limited to members.
I await everyones feedback
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 12:49
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 12:49
Been done before, search the archives.
Follow Up By: Adelaidetaff - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:15
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:15
well I tried searching the archives before making the post, so if you let me know what the thread was called i will go away happily
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:38
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:38
Excuse my ignorance but what the hell is a sticky, and if ya wanna know what i'm like come to the
Hill End get-together on the Oct long W/end, NSW/ACT.
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:32
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:32
Adelaidetaff
Blue here(the red hair thing, only my mother calls me Wayne)
Ferntree Gully in
Melbourne
30 something
married
3 kids
1 dog
1 cat
1 mortgage that just wont leave me alone.
Reply By: Member - Melissa - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 15:35
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 15:35
Probably won't get too many responses to this post as people are understandably touchy about revealing personal info on a public internet
forum such as this. However, I've found if you hang around regularly you soon get to "know" folks so in a way you're developing "e-friendships" just as you do ay other friendship. Whether you're face to face or chatting via a keyboard, most people only reveal things about themshelves over time as as they in turn, learn about you too.
:o) Melissa
Reply By: Big Trev - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:34
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:34
Trevor,
North Central Victoria (those that have seen my regular posts know where)
Married for 27 years to best lady in the world
4 kids, 1 x 24-girl, 1 x 22-girl & 2 x 20 (yes, twins - boys)
1 x Ford Maverick & 1 x Ford Fairmont Ghia
Hobbies - Motorsport (big time-officialing) and
camping and using my 4x4 to get us to good
camping spots
TAFE Trainer
Follow Up By: Member - Dragan T (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 01:02
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 01:02
Did someone say that this topic is pointless? NO WAY!!! now I'm looking forward to a group trip with big Trev since he mentioned this : 1 x 24-girl, 1 x 22-girl ! ! !
No hard feelings Trev just a bit of joke i couldn't resist!!!
Follow Up By: Big Trev - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:41
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:41
No offence taken Dragan, but I will warn you, they are both red-heads!!
And you should see the size of their brothers, both over 180cm and between 85-95 kilos!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Dragan T (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 22:58
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 22:58
I'll risk it anyway Trev : ) after all terrano is TURBO diesel LOL!!!
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:21
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:21
Age 44
Married 22 years 2 kids, Girl 13 going on 23, son 9 , Pet Cardigan corgi goes nearly every where with me.
Occupation builder /tour operater. love one put up with the other.
www.capeyorkconnections.com.au
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:23
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:23
Adelaidetaff,
My details;
Brian (
Gold Coast)
46 years
young
Self employed refrigeration technician
Married to the VERY best girl in the world!!! (Apologies to Big Trev above.... he must have the SECOND best lady in the world!!)
2 kidz both boyz one is 14 and the other is 11
Likes 4X4ing,
camping, family things, footy (AFL), known to dangle the odd fishing line... music....Bundy Rum, Dry and Lime, Rebel Yell Bourbon, Cascade Premium Lights,
Dislikes..... um.... not much!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:26
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:26
....And my rig pic says we drive a '95 GQ Nissan DX..... or at least we will when we get it back from the panel beaters... :-))
Follow Up By: enu - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 10:56
Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 10:56
back from the panel beaters?
did you run into the stump, instead of
parking on it !
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:49
Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:49
No.... didn't run into it.... unfortunately my bride rolled the Patrol a couple of weeks ago... fortunately she was totally unhurt, not even a scratch.... testament to how strong large 4 wheel drives are! And the PAtrol is being repaired, there is another thread here somewhere that explains all that.....
Follow Up By: enu - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:13
Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:13
glad to hear your bride was unhurt after the rollover.
and yes the gq is a tough 4wd,i owned one 14 years ago.
but being petrol/auto running costs where to high.
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:23
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:23
Why don't you join as a Member as you can then meet more of the contributors to this
forum personally. Once you are a member you may feel that you belong to a group of likeminded people and you get a sense of belonging and cameraderie...mind you we have some good spats from time to time....LOL
The SA and Vic EO mob have held get-togethers over the past year or so and a strong friendship has been moulded amongst many of them. This way go get to know the people you are corresponding with. NSW mob had a recent outing and one NSW Memebr drove to
Berri where there was a gathering in June. NSW are planning another meet. More recently there was a
camp at
Murray Bridge and aslo one earlier in the year at Dimboola and Little Desert.
I have been here since early 2002 but there are others who have been here longer. When you click on a Members' Rig Pic then you may get an idea of their psyche.
Reply By: navaraman - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:38
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:38
I'm 25, 2m tall,
well honed muscley body, look like Leonardo Di Caprio, great personality, top bloke.
You can't believe all you read on the net, IMO you need to work people out from their posts to gain an impression of their personailty, hopefully meet them somewhere face to face and make your judgements from there.
Follow Up By: Moneypit - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:11
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:11
At long last I find my lost at birth twin brother 8-))
Dave B
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:20
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:20
Which one are you? The King or the guy in the mask?
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:09
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:09
We are all individual....
Im not..
Follow Up By: Big Trev - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:42
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:42
I gathered that :-)
Reply By: Member - Dragan T (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 00:59
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 00:59
Interesting topic..... pepole are very touchy about their details, true, but no one is asking for Credit card details!!! Dragan is 25YO,as single as one can be!!! Have this terrano still hauling me around on the dirt mud sand tar etc., yamaha virago hauling as
well but on sunny days, Blazer 23 sailboat hauling me on the
water (damn I'm missing something to haul me thorough air)! 7 years in Aus. etc. etc. But I reckon, to get to know members you have to meet them in person, on some group trips. I can write here for many hours but you still won't notice my ability to delay whole group of 4WDs on muddy uphill!! : )
Reply By: Member - Spook (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 09:30
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 09:30
G'day
21, engaged to be married, live in northern
Adelaide, I'm an assisstant bean counter and drive a Hilux turbo 2.8 diesel and a Suzuki Sierra.
Catcha
Brad
Reply By: motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:36
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:36
Hi Adelaidetaff - I am one of the ExplorOz "lurkers" - haven't joined yet. I'm a wannabe
grey nomad - just that work and the need for the $s gets in the way of having fun. I'm a very
young grandmother of 4 (2 boys 2 girls), mother of 4 (2 boys 2 girls). Been married for a long time (longer than the age I acknowledge; i am only 31 and that's my story!). We're farmers so that's why we have no $s & i need to work off
farm to be able to eat. Have bought a Nissan 3.0TD and an 18 foot Bushtracker Caravan (done the tent, ute and swag thing when we were younger and more agile). That's blown the savings plan! Like to
camp "away from it all". Had to get the toughest type of off road caravan so we can get to see the real Oz. Live in SW of WA with dog cats cockies pigeons chooks sheep goats and cattle, oh, and my husband. Have only travelled a little outside the southern part of WA - the spectacular
Pilbara and mid north of WA, flying visit to
Cairns & surrounds when daughter lived there, and quick trip across the Nullabor and to Bundeburg to pick up the Bushtracker earlier this year. Loved every bit of rural and remote Oz we've been to. Taking holidays in January and hoping the sheep won't starve if we follow the South Coast for a bit - not quite as far as
Adelaide (don't like cities).