Ultimate camper trailers

Submitted: Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 15:24
ThreadID: 16064 Views:23249 Replies:14 FollowUps:9
Can any owners of the Ultimate camper trailer, it's made in Batemans Bay NSW, give me some feedback.

Looking at purchasing one for our retirement.

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:38

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:38
Ohh , this should bring out some interesting replies.

Very Expensive piece of kit , especially as it only a Camper trailer.

EVERYONE that DOES buy one , seems to love them. Very well Built, good aftersales service, hold their value REALLY well.

For two People that want to take them offroad , they seem a really good thing. Bonus having the kitchen inside (for some). Makes roadside stops a PITA though.

Few people on here

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/campertrailers/

have them.

I think there is also an Ultimate's forum as well somewhere.
AnswerID: 75339

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:14

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:14
By far the best camper set up you can buy, with g'teed buy back price, limited supply, and price rise every year to protect resale, only bad word I hear about them is usually those who couldnt or wouldnt spend the extra.

Has to be the best thought out and executed camper available today, and have taken trips where they have come along, through the high country, and the only part of the design I would change would be a straight draw bar with the coupling underneath, to improve clearance.

If living in it day to day months at a time, cooking inside when mozzies or flies are around, or sitting in the shade, or out of the rain, are part of your criteria, spend the money, and sell ti when your done, and you get back what you spent + some normally.
AnswerID: 75351

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:12

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:12
Scotty we have had them on trips with us .
To date I cant fault them.
They are well built and thought out.

If I had the money I would buy one,

www.capeyorkconnections.com.au
AnswerID: 75359

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:16

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:16
Was looking at one today in it's natural environment at Newnes pub camp area, nice bit of gear bit pricey IMHO but having said that they are easy to erect and tow, this couple are retired and wanted something that was no hassle to put up, you know tired bones. They are on the campertrailers group on Yahoo as are a lot of camper owners me included. There are also a few on this site too Roachie to name one, as said above those that have them swear by them. The Ultimate forum was closed a while ago but the web site is still going there is a link on this forum under your post, just click on campers.

AnswerID: 75360

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:39

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 18:39
G'day Scotty,
Mate, we've had ours since Feb 1999 and love it. It's been to Cape York (about to go again in a week and a half), the Gulf country around into NT, Vic High Country, Channel country etc.
About the only complaint we have is that with 3 young kids, it get's a bit cramped inside on a wet day. We do most of our cooking outside anyway & tend not to go camping if the weather is going to be crappy.
Overall, we are very happy with it. It has gone everywhere we've tried to take it. Ground clearance is brilliant. Suspension is also top notch. (Annette insists on "proper" crockery and we use "Correll" ..spell??. It is breakable stuff and yes we have broken a few items when ol' muggins here has hit large dips/potholes at Mk II etc.
As to whether you can justify the hefty price tag (they were only $20K when we bought ours), that is a call that only you can make.
Cya mate
AnswerID: 75365

Reply By: Mr Z - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:03

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:03
what other campers are in competition with the ultimate?

and what are their costs?

cheers.
AnswerID: 75381

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:13

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:13
Kimberly Kampers, , Aussie Swag, Campomatic, Australian Off Road Campers ....to name but a few.

$20-40,000 depending on options.
All have websites.
FollowupID: 335130

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:08

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:08
Don't own one but very nearly did.

Negatives:
It's a big mother (and looks wierd) and we found it a bit high so thought it would become a pain to reverse. Agree as said previously about the internal kitchen. We use our external more than we thought we would.

Also I think the bed was in 2/3 pieces so of course no inner spring mattress option avlb.

I think the internal bench heights were similar to the Avan's pop tops (very low) so that killed it for us. (crook back)

Seemed a bit more hassle than expected to setup for one night.

Price can be a consideration.

Positives:
A great in-between (offroad) caravan and camper setup though and would have probably leant towards it if it was for retirement. (you can eat/sleep etc totally inside if need arises, rain/cold)

Fridge inside convenient and no dust from vent with fridges in ext boxes!

King size sleeping.

Area under bed when open is great for having a lie down out of the sun or rain.

Research it throughly, it's worth being completely happy with your (expensive) purchase. We looked at everything worth looking at before making a logical decision to go with our beast. (see rig pic)

UTIMATEly it's up to you :)

Good luck.
John C
AnswerID: 75382

Reply By: pjd - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:59

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:59
if you have kids its a pain for overnight stops to set it up to be comftable
you cant take a boat [strange that his background is boat building]
very high you cant see behind you
need to wait 6 months + to get one
cooking in side not the best option
[seems most people that have them cook outside any way & spend 40Kto do it]
watch your step gettig in & out
but each to there own
AnswerID: 75395

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:36

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:36
G'day pjd,
Your opinion is of course okay....but I would certainly like to correct you about the boat option. They have the ability to have a boat stored on top using rachet tie downs....mine his these fitted, but i am not a boaty. There is also provision in the large front boot (or "nose cone" if you prefer) to mount a 7hp outboard motor. I've removed the mounting bracket from my boot.
Steps in/out aren't a problem unless your pyssed or crippled
FollowupID: 335162

Follow Up By: pjd - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:43

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:43
roachie ive never seen a ultimate with a boat. what would you do with it when you want to open camper & how do you get way up there if your not 7ft tall & a weight lifter
FollowupID: 335337

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 09:07

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 09:07
G'day pjd,
I have never personally seen a boat on top either....but there are photos under "Gallery" on their website, quite clearly showing a tinnie on top. The boat would have to be lifted off each night when setting up; that WOULD be a pain in the rear end. As for needing to be 7' tall.....all I can say is that the height of a Ultimate when it is road-ready is much lower than most full size 4x4s with a roof rack; about 5' I reckon.......so it would be easier to hoik up onto the Ultimate than onto the top of a vehicle's roof rack (IMHO).
Earlier, you also said they're a pain for o'night stops if you have kids....we have 3 young blokes (8,7 & 4). We have 2 choices..(a):we can set-up their tent under the lid (takes about 15 minutes included their stretchers and sleeping bags) or (b): we just have them up top with us; the 7 y/old likes to sleep on the lounge, whilst there is plenty of room in the king size bed for Annette, me and the other 2 lads.
FollowupID: 335392

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:30

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:30
A most impressive rig I must say. Watched one being erected at Weipa recently. Shall I say it didn't happen in an instant. No doubt the diciples?? believe they're marvellous. For mine they're top end, but also over priced to a ridiculous degree, notwithstanding the promised buy-back policy.
AnswerID: 75406

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:40

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:40
Got to agree with Rosco, way overpriced indeed. But if I had the spare cash, I would consider one too.
Cheers Angelo
FollowupID: 335147

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 01:15

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 01:15
I've admired them for years, just love the suspension. I see just one major difference between these and other designs and it's not the $$$$. It's the kitchen accessability if you want to stop for a bite to eat, everything for the Ultimate is inside.
Roachie can you enlighten us to your operations around lunch time ???

Well as for the $$$$, I see it that "if" you dropped say $5k over 5 years then it would be well worth the peace of mind and comfort it affords. If you get all your money back it's a real bonus.
AnswerID: 75443

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 09:17

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 09:17
Hey Cocka, nice rig you got there....
You're right about it not being really practical to get inside for lunch stops, although it can be done without too much fuss, takes only a couple of minutes to flip the lid & stick the 2 "stretchers" above the kitchen area. Because you won't be using the bed, there is no need to put down the ground supports etc, nor the stretchers over the bed end.
However, our usual practice is to organise lunch at the start of the day (sandwiches etc) and carry these in an old esky in the back of the trailer. You'd only need to get inside if you wanted to use the stove....why would you at lunch time? We have a thermos for hot drinks, and cold stuff is kept in the engel fridge in the truck, although you can still access the trailer's fridge as well without lifting the lid. I also have a "Hot2Go" kettle, but it's painfully slow and I'm usually either out of gas, or the bloody batteries for the pizzo (spell???) ignition are flat. Not one of our better buys (Annette bought it for me as a gift).
FollowupID: 335395

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 11:09

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 11:09
Hey Roachie, which rig are you talking about the truck or SWMBO?? I'll take it as a compliment for both, they are both good girls.

Exactly what you do with a bit of forward planning for lunch is also our option. Although we are campers with an OzTent, we make a "plunger" coffee & keep it in the thermos for lunch/m.tea. I made a teflon cutting board that sits permanently (or lifts for access under) across the top edges of the big slide out storage draws at the back. So we have an instant bench to make a fresh sandwich or similar with coffee.

I usually go for wanders to stretch the legs across the landscape at this time, with my hot coffee in hand and marvel at the remoteness and peace of the places I am in.
FollowupID: 335424

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 11:19

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 11:19
Meant to mention...
The pic of the truck was taken as I came from the west to the top of Big Red in the Simpson. That's as far as I got on my own - my mate (who drove around and up the east side) threw a line to me to get me right up. 1-2 more turns of the wheels and would have made it unaided.... what a bomber. Me thinks if I had let another 2psi from the tyres I would have been there for sure .... but we will never know..... unless, unless I go back !!!!
FollowupID: 335426

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 11:32

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 11:32
Sounds like a good enuff excuse to go back across the Simmo to me, mate...LOLOL
FollowupID: 335427

Reply By: KO2004 - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 09:58

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 09:58

We have just returned from a trip to Cape York where some friends had a Kimberley Kamper. It was great and whenever we stopped they were able to pull out their kitchen and we had a bench to make our lunch.

We saw some ultimate campers along the way and they looked really nice but it's all on the inside.

We were off camping and wanted to enjoy the outdoors.

AnswerID: 75469

Reply By: Member - Bob et Joëlle (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:18

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:18
We have one - we love it. Have slept 4 teenagers underneath in their own room - not long to set up - have eaten with 6 inside on cold wet nights. We prefer to cook outside like everybody else but it's great to have the option. Tows brilliantly, goes everywhere. Very comfortable to sleep in - king size bed etc - you would not get us in a motel bed now. Takes about 5 mins to set up in basic mode.
Only you can decide if it is worth the money for you - for us it is !
AnswerID: 75499

Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:38

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:38
Another very happy Ultimate owner here. Ours is actually a very early one which we got 2nd hand. You won't find an owner that isn't very happy. They go anywhere, are completely dustproof, don't fall apart, have everything you need inside and believe me cooking outside in the rain is for the birds.

We have a lunchtime setup in the back of the car which is self sufficient and use a steel thermos for hot water.

A major advantage of the canvas top is ventilation when up north. The tropical roof really makes a difference.

Best way is to go to the factory and have a good look at how they are made. You won't be disappointed.

AnswerID: 75530

Reply By: Dunedigger - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:14

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:14

I have the Trayon It is the equivlent of a Ultimate that sits on the back of a tray top. This way you don't have to tow. Only problem is it takes about 20 minutes to remove or refit, but can be used while the vehicle is away. The fridge can be accessed without opening. The price just more than half of the ultimate.

Open up in one minute to "boil the billy"

Dunedigger
AnswerID: 75741