An urgent need...not a want for a change!!!
Submitted: Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:24
Member - Chris M (QLD)
Howdy one and all,
No, it's not an air locker or bits and bobs to fit off the GU. I need a run around 4wd, preferably a 1980-1990 2.4 Diesel Hilux/4Runner.
The GU got a dint (a really small one, but nevertheless) in the shopping centre and I wasn't happy.
I've been looking for 3 months or so and renovating shortly so really need a bash em up 4wd that I can also take to
the beach.
If you know of anyone, please let me know. Preferrably, if you have a better suggestion of something that may service my needs, please advise. I don't really want to spend more than 3k.
Chris.
Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:42
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:42
Just take the GU.
Now it has a dint the rest don't hurt as much :-(
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:04
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:04
Thanks mate!
Chris.
Reply By: flappan - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:07
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:07
snip> I don't really want to spend more than 3k. <
Then there would be no way known I would be buying a Diesel that old for that sort of money. Only asking for problems.
Diesels are WAY to expensive to fix if somethings wrong , and unless you pull a beauty , there WILL be something wrong.
For example , I friend bought a TD Pajero for $1500. "only a little oil leak" . $4000 later , its STILL got a leak they cant find.
If you are looking for a Ute to frig around in , that wont cost you a bomb , I would be looking at Petrols around that age.
Follow Up By: pjd - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:44
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:44
thats were your friend went wrong he bought a pajero
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:05
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:05
I've got a mate who picked up a 4runner for 1500 bucks and I have another mate who would fit a 2LT motor to it for a carton. For 3 grand I have a run around that goes to
the beach, goes ok and I can throw timber on for the renos without worrying about the newby...
Reply By: Bob H - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:14
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 17:14
howdy chris
depends on whereabouts in good ol qld you are.
the magic mile at moorooka has a few cheap caryards that you could try, same on th
gold coast.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:06
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:06
Gday Bob,
Thanks mate, I'll have a bit of a gander at Moorooka this arv.
Chris.
Reply By: rolande- Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:49
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:49
Chris,
How 'bout a little Suzi, great for tight
parking spaces and good off road, not too bad on fuel either, lots of cheap ones.
Rolande
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:07
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:07
Gday Rolande,
Had two, I'm 6"5 so I fit ok, but get sick of squeezing in and out. Plus it'll be a bit tough to fit much in for
camping and the renos!
Great trucks but!
Chris.
Reply By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:57
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:57
buy your groceries online from woolies
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:07
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:07
If your that scared to scratch the GU, sell it now.. it will only get worse.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:03
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:03
Fog off truckster... ;-)
Not scared to scratch, don't want to rack up k's too quickly, I do 40-50 thou k's per year and 35 of those are city running, which isn't good for the 4.2's. Rather drive a piece of crap into the ground.
Thanks anyway.
Chris.