feedback from MTR tyre users please

Submitted: Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:56
ThreadID: 16080 Views:2860 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
Hi groovers, i am doing a little research for my next set of tyres to go on the jackaroo - standard track, 16x7 steels etc. Standard size is 245/70/16(749od) and am currently running bridgestone 693s, have decided to step up to 245/75/16(774od) to get LT case etc. Thought about 265/75/16(800od) but cant be bothered going through the engineering/insurance issues. Have looked at the coopers stt but from all accounts they are very noisy on road, bfg m/t have seen sidewall cracking around the side lugs. May consider cooper st BUT have had the MTR highly recommended by a few people as a great all rounder . I do 50/50 on/off road work so i have to be able to live with the handling and noise as it gets a fair serve on the bitchy..

SO enough of the crud, I would like to get some no bs feedback from mtr users, in the smaller sizes as above if possible, as to their on road manners and noise, and how you find them off road - standard pressure on dirt roads & dropped pressure in the hard stuff. I guess i just need to know if they are a great all rounder in reality as i have been involved in product work with magazines and i know how advertorials work and i dont consider 'sex appeal' a valid performance factor.

Thanks in advance , Brad.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:05

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:05
I have 33x12.5s on 15x8's on my GQ, they are better than BFG MT offroad, and easily as good on road. They do get noisey with wear, but I will go with them again (the spare is unused).Thats in Victorian terrain.

Have run the MTR's down to 12psi without hassles.

If the Xterrains weren't directional I might be swayed to try them.
The STT's also wear out really REALLY fast.

Not much else out there really worth trying.
finally someone else who doesnt believe magazine dribble.
AnswerID: 75414

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:20

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:20
cheers dude, where we go at easter there are always pro comp 'tracks' in the dirt so i had even loooked at them - but cant get a set small enough for my mighty mouse !! Interesting the stt fast wear rates as well. Thanks for the feedback.
FollowupID: 335159

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:39

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:39
Where did you score those prices ?? I might have to give em a call, just got quoted $275 for 245/75/16 $305 for 265/75/16 !!!!!!
FollowupID: 335699

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 23:16

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 23:16
Numerous others on outerlimits are quoting same prices in different states.

the issue is your after 16inch tires - they are ALWAYS more expensive. but the price on the 245's they are smoking crack, paid $200 for 245/75 for wifes pathfinder, all the 245's were this price. What are they Boggers?

Or do you live in back of beyond?
FollowupID: 335702

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 23:23

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 23:23
na man these prices were from bob jane in epping, had a few higher prices from other tyre dealers !! (better quality drugs i think) Yeah i can get bridgestones for $205 each but i want better qual. Got quoted about $275 for simex jungle trekkers !! ye haa... couldnt live with em on the blacktop but..

Was that price from a 'goodyear dealer' or a multi brand franchise ??
FollowupID: 335705

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 23:38

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 23:38
The Tire Factory.. Bundoora there is a store.
FollowupID: 335710

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:01

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:01
Well i bed to differ to Trucky , I have found the BFG muddies way more agressive in mud , but I do find the wranglers a better all round tyre . If you do dry off road and sand , dafenently go the Wranglers . If muds your play , go BFG or COOPER stt. I have not seen the problems with BFG's that you have mentioned , only thing I can think of is peoples lazyness when it comes to tyre pressures . I alway run mine on 50 psi on road , and never wait till I get home to air up.
AnswerID: 75431

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:09

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:09
Thanks Eric, yeah the bfg prob may be due to overheating the case like you have mentioned. I don't attack the big mud holes unless i can't avoid them - can't afford the damage to the jack...(alternators staters etc...) I go anywhere, forest , desert , fast gravel, shale climbs etc. so that is why i am leaning toward the mtr as an allrounder..

How have you found the mtr for vibration and noise ??
FollowupID: 335171

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:32

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:32
the wranglers are a lot quiter than the bfg's
FollowupID: 335172

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 09:15

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 09:15
Up around Toolangi, the MTR's were awesome compared to the BFG's (the old type).. Also numerous people are using MTR's over BFG.. Sam Keck even used MTR's on his tuff truck buggy zook for yrs.

But the only way to do a genuine comparison is same tires on same truck on same day then change them.

The MTRs are quite noisey when they wear, which is why Im thinkin of new ones.

Might start ringing round for prices :'(
FollowupID: 335209

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:24

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:24
Truckster,

Just got my 285/75/16's for $279 per tyre. Don't know whether you can get better, but I'm in Melbourne in November, so if you can't better it, I have to send some others down to a mate around that time.

Chris.
FollowupID: 335217

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:33

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:33
Brad... first phone call I got
MTR's $260 for 33x12.5's
BFG's $280 for same size
FollowupID: 335259

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:19

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:19
well there you you brad, pays to shop around, trucky can get you a better price!!!
FollowupID: 335271

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 00:26

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 00:26
I like the little unit your showing us there Bradley, looks kinda cute.
There has been 00000's posts here on the forum, seems like one every week sometimes. Have you done a search of the files using the above "search" facility. You'll find heaps of opinions there.
I use the MTR's in all conditions and can't find any reason to change my next order for more of the same.
AnswerID: 75439

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 06:38

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 06:38
Brad I run MTRS 32*11.5*15 they have been a good tyre.
done the cape 5 times.
the hight country.
And many other tracks.
travelled about 40,000 ks
I would buy them again.
Noise isnt to bad.

AnswerID: 75448

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:33

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:33
Gday Bradley,

Had BFG's 33 x 12.5's on a cruiser and on a zook, had MTR 33 x 12.5's (15 x 8's)on a GQ running lotsa boost and MTR 285 75 16's on my new beast. (16x8)

The BFG's had good cleaning properties in the mud but wore quickly after 50%. Got about 50 thou out of a set but were used for hardcore stuff mostly.

Did 60 thou on the 33 MTR's and they had about 30% tread left. They were noisy, but if you want a mud tyre, they all are, and if one is quieter than another, it'll be only a couple of DB's. The MTR's were great in the wet, whereas the BFG's didn't handle as great and found they slid at around 30% braking normally down a bitumen road. The rubber seems to get very hard.

The new mtr's, done 3000k's too new to tell but already developing road noise. I love the sound of big tyres humming on the road, so it doesn't worry me in the least. Got a good stereo, so if it did annoy me, I'd listen to some tunes.

Overall, would get MTR's from my own experience.

Chris.
AnswerID: 75472

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:15

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:15
The MTR is thicker in the sidewall, and from the tyres we have cut up and tried, the MTR is also alot tougher in the sidewall than the cooper or the BF's.

On road handling and noise of the MTR are definately better than the cooper, and slightly better than the BF's.

The MTR has a groove in the outer tread blocks, which helps the tread block flex and clean itself when rotating in mud, which it does better than the bf's and the coopers.

Wear of the tyres on road is all reasonable, though the MTR's dont chip like the coopers on gravel, or the BF's, which do so as they wear more.

The wet roadhandling of the MTR is also slightly better than the BF and alot better than the cooper.
AnswerID: 75526

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 18:04

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 18:04
Go_Offroad,

My perfect set up for the Prado I think would be a set of MTR's on ROH Track II Steels but they are not avail in 17". I don't want to do the caliper thing. What can I get nearest to this combo in 17's?

This would be a second set for longer excursions (Simpson, FNQ, Kimberly) or rougher weekend trips. The rest of the time I would just run my current Alloys with Cooper A/T's.

How long do you think before this combo is available in 17"?

Muddy 'doe
FollowupID: 335328

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 00:00

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 00:00
MTR comes in a 17" and if you check with Pro Comp, Im sure they have access to US made 17" rims.
FollowupID: 335366

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:44

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:44
Thanks champ , i have just had a look at a cooper st cut away and was quite suprised how thin it is in the critical area where the tread becomes sidewall, this is where my tyres bag nicely and i wouldn't like to run the st over many rocks / shale like that !!

Thanks everyone for the great feedback, now i just have to decide on the final size to go for, MTR's look like a shoe in , providing i can get them at a nice price... My local tyre place which gives me fantastic discounts is a bridgestone dealer :-(((((
FollowupID: 335700