ARB wiring loom.

Submitted: Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:55
ThreadID: 16084 Views:5381 Replies:3 FollowUps:22
Slow arvo at work, so jumped in company car, and went and sussed out the ARB...

While there, I dribbled over a few other things, but ended up walkin with a wiring loom (the visa wouldnt load up 2 lockers) to upgrade the crappy headlights

Easy as to fit, took 15 mins, few plugs, full instructions, only need to drill 1 hole for the solinoid box (3 solinoids) and use one current hole thats there.

I also fitted 2 x 80/130 globes from K-Mart, so hard to tell the exact result, but now I can actually see the light on the road compared to before!

Well worth the coin!

Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:57

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:57
So easy to make yourself though.
AnswerID: 75429

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:00

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:00
CBF.. and cheap enough.
FollowupID: 335167

Reply By: Moneypit - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:31

Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 23:31
And cheap enough would be exactly how mucht?

Nearest ARB to me is 1500K's so I can't get in to see one.

I assume lights on the 4.2 are the same wiring as the cheap nasty horrible 3.0 that I drive [he says to appease the Truckster in the hope of information]

AnswerID: 75433

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:59

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:59
I got a club discount with mine, but they are around $100-130ish. It depends on the car on cost, but the one that fits GQ, also fits 60/80 series... It didnt mention GU will have a look, the box is in the car.

This comes with the 3 relays, (not solinoids was late last night!) instructions, is well put together with good wire, and that flexy wire protection stuff on outside.. it also looks like a factory fitted thing not a dodgey add on..

Again, for the improvement, I think its a bargain.

YMMV.
FollowupID: 335205

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 00:15

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 00:15
A slight digression and added Q for more bright info.
What's the go with these upgrade reflector inserts I have seen mentioned from time to time.
What exactly are they ?? do they make any real difference if you don't have a reflective problem ??
AnswerID: 75438

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:08

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:08
We got the ARB looms and IPF 100/90w (???) bulbs in our work F250s. Couldn't get the replacement headlights (standard rectangle things) because our parkers are in the headlight. Their catalogue says they sell an adapter so the parker can remain in the headlight but they reckon they are not made anymore.

Either way the headlights are much better now. Before you couldn't see your garage door from the driveway.
FollowupID: 335195

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:54

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:54
Cocka.
Most people replace the headlights from sealed beam units to H4 conversions, so you can just replace the bulb, not the whole glass. Sealed beams arent cheap, and you cant get large wattage ones, where H4's you can get 110/190's! EG 110 LOW beam...

They do make a difference, if you look into it, go with good quality ones, IPF, Hella inserts, and then go with some good globes.
As Ute says, std headlights are worse than pathetic..

The next mission is Reversing light! They are disgraceful. Even with the 'super' globes in mine.

YMMV
FollowupID: 335204

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:00

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:00
You reacon you got reverse light problems, imagine what it was like at the back of my GU, one p.....sy light on the LHS rear. I built a loom & installed another standard globe in the RHS, it's better but still pathetic.

I'm trying to come up with some better additional big bright boomer that will be permanent and wired into the existing reverse switch. Haven't found what I want yet. Something that lights up the bush.
FollowupID: 335221

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:25

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:25
Cocka.

Looking at a mates GQ last night, he has a pr of them little Gino "Driving" lights you see on front of commodores/hyuandais/Civics etc about inch and bit round.

Cut a hole in his bar ends, and mounted them in there out of the way.. with a bit of angle adn few bolts.

Man they are BRIGHT.. brilliant idea.. thats also on my list of 84203948 things to do.

$25 at Supercheap, but dont get the 'all plastic' ones. his first set disintergrated heading north.

YMMV.
FollowupID: 335234

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:28

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:28
Failing that had a mate make for me a piece of 1inch box welded up on the rear wheel carrier that, with a smaller piece inside like a telescopic thing that extends above the spare on back door.. then a hole drilled, and a nut welded on side, butterfly bolt and a Hella 181 on top..

WORKS VERY WELL!

Cheaper and easier to do than the $150-200 Kaymar one, but exactly the same.
FollowupID: 335235

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:57

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:57
Truckster,

I hope your mate doesn't use those little lights when on high beam.

They reallybleepme.

There is nothing worse than driving towards a commodore or whatever with their 'driving' lights on or following those littlebleepbox Excels with their little after thought fog light on the rear bumper.
FollowupID: 335248

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:58

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:58
Sorry meant low beam.
FollowupID: 335249

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:05

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:05
Truckster
Just turned up these two possibilities. Might be worth playing around with. The construction looks good just gotta work out if they're fittable.

http://www.ashdown.com.au/specials.asp
FollowupID: 335251

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:46

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:46
Cocka, I got a set of small driving lamps from Supercheap, theyre about 4"x1" or 100mm x 25mm and they mount up under the rear step, protected by the tow bar and switched with the reverse lights, two would be even better but I splashed out on the Arab spec lights with the reverse lights both sides, much better now. Saw a guy in QLD (from Vic on Hols too) with two of these and they looked real neat.

FollowupID: 335324

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:29

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:29
Cocka
check
CLICK HERE www.autospeed.com/shop

[ View Image]
DRIVING LIGHT KIT- 100watt- CLEAR- ROUND
$55.00
I reckon they have potential!
FollowupID: 335350

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 12:28

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 12:28
Thanks T and thanks Bonz.
I liked the rubber encased ones that I showed you T, they are 37w which is a lot better than the current 20's, but 2x20 + 37 = 77w which might be ok. But I still have to find a suitable mount. I will have a look at the ones you suggested Bonz, I was poking around out in the rain yesterday looking at access in that area of the rear, and I could possibly manage something in that spot if the size is right and the hardware waterproof enough.

T, how do they do the lights for that price ? Mine cost over $300. EACH. but I didn't pay that cause they were on the vehicle when I bought it - & they reaaaallly work.

I can see a pair of the 100w ones mounted on the rear and some spoof comes up behind you with his lights on HB, flick the switch and hit him with a pair of 100w spotties. You can just imagine the reaction, don't want to think about it really.
FollowupID: 335430

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 14:33

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 14:33
"I liked the rubber encased ones that I showed you T, they are 37w which is a lot better than the current 20's, but 2x20 + 37 = 77w which might be ok."
Was thinking of the size maybe an issue on the steps, or below steps. Maybe on the roofrack would be a good mount?

"T, how do they do the lights for that price ? Mine cost over $300. EACH. but I didn't pay that cause they were on the vehicle when I bought it - & they reaaaallly work."
Brand name? quality, remember they are only small about few cm round, not like Rally 2000's etc...

"I can see a pair of the 100w ones mounted on the rear and some spoof comes up behind you with his lights on HB, flick the switch and hit him with a pair of 100w spotties. You can just imagine the reaction, don't want to think about it really."
It works well trust me ;)~ HID's would be better... but thats after next lotto win.
FollowupID: 335446

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 23:11

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 23:11
I got 'em. I got 'em.
Went down to the local Super Cheap, gee haven't they got some gear (some good, some bad) at great prices.
Couldn't find the one's Bonz spoke about, but got some little beauties that are ideal to fit up under the rear step. They're 55w each, quartz with glass lens and the beam spreads flat & wide. The size & shape is about the same as a large hens egg & there's a good fitting bracket. Cost.........$25 bucks the pair.

I'll improve the water/dust proofing with a little silicon and a cable tie ....hey, bingo.
Called - Super Force - Super Mini Halogen Spotlight.

The bad news is it cost me a lot lot more to get outa the store, couldn't help the impulse buying alergy that I suffer from. Thanks Bonz, lol, lol

FollowupID: 335537

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:47

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:47
Photos when ya done.. Will motivate me!
FollowupID: 335580

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:58

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:58
Your photos first.

Remember you were going to send me pics of the fridge slide a couple of weeks back !!! Didn't happen.
Think you had 2 bottles of Chard that night & must have foregotten. LOL

I have to set up a wiring diagram first to see how I'll connect them to the rev light switching.
FollowupID: 335585

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:05

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:05
www.gqpatrol.com then the picture pages link.
then down the bottom under map of Aussie. ;) I posted the link week or so ago!!
FollowupID: 335588

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:06

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:06
Cocka,

Use a 3 way switch so you can

1. Have the spotlight come on and off with the reverse lights,
or
2. Come on whenever you want to switch it on,
or
3. Not come on at all.
FollowupID: 335589

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:27

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:27
Hey T I already have that switch - it's called a "gear lever" - select reverse or don't.
You don't have to be going backwards if you just want out the back illumination - just select reverse. Now ain't that clever.

My Dad always thought I WAS REALLY BRIGHT, that's why he called me sun - sorry LOL.

Thanks for the lead to the web page.
FollowupID: 335592

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:35

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:35
Yes but I find it handy to be able to use the spotlight while in other gears. It is also much easier to use if instead of needing your keys and having to put it into reverse all you have to do is flick a switch.
FollowupID: 335595

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:25

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:25
Legally any light on back of car, must be wired into reversing lights.
FollowupID: 335646