Camper Trailers

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:21
ThreadID: 16090 Views:3172 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Thanks for the feedback on the Ultimate. A friend told me not to bother with the Ultimate and that we should look at a Jayco Finch as we would like a built in kitchen and they are more reasonably priced and supply is not a problem, any thoughts? He sated that he went all over Aussie in an old one years ago and that they had improved now with an off road or RV model.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:35

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:35
what state are you in?
Why not wait for the 4wd show, and walk around and physically look at each one.

another to try is obriens campertrailers in dandenong.
AnswerID: 75473

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:36

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:36
2 TOTALLY different things.

The ultimate will go ANYWHERE you want to take it , and places that you wont , and is designed for EXACTLY that purpose. It will also come back in one piece.

The Jayco's are NOT designed for that level of offroad ability constantly. They WILL fall apart , especially the interior.

Dont get me wrong here , they Jayco's (and Corrimals) of this type , are good pieces of kit (wouldn't mind one myself) , and they WILL go most places , but long term . . . the corrigations will kill them . . . even the offroad ones. They are still more of an off highway Van , then a true Offroad Van.

A friend of mine has a Jayco (Swan , I think). The Offroad version. He has given it a pretty good work over , but they are always needing to glue and screw the interior back together.

I guess it depends on your ongoing requirements.
AnswerID: 75474

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:20

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:20
FYI Flappan,

Coromal & Jayco are two totally different products, different specs different quality, different finish and different engineering. How closely have you looked at the interior of the Coromal?
FollowupID: 335229

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:49

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:49
Coromal & Jayco are two totally different products

What makes em so different. They are both a Van with Fold out beds either end ??????

different specs

They seem pretty close to me ??????

different engineering

If you say so ????????

different quality, different finish

Yes . . . I have Heard that. I have also heard that you pay far more for it.

How closely have you looked at the interior of the Coromal

Close enough , but obviously not well enough.

So , at the end of the day , you would be quite comfortable towing your Coromal (sorry incorrect spelling before) , up to the Cape , and anywhere else in Aus , and in 10 years time would be comfortable with know that nothing will have fallen apart.

How many of these types of Vans , go to the Cape ?

FollowupID: 335246

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:25

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:25
"What makes em so different. They are both a Van with Fold out beds either end ??????"

. . . and that's where the similarity ends!

"different specs - They seem pretty close to me ??????"

. . . one is predominantly fibreglass the other is aluminium sheeting!

"different engineering - If you say so ????????"

. . . one has independent supension!

"different quality, different finish - Yes . . . I have Heard that. I have also heard that you pay far more for it."

. . . So you agree that the quality and finish on the Coromal is superior?

"How closely have you looked at the interior of the Coromal - Close enough , but obviously not well enough."

. . . The reasoning behind my reply. Why offer an opinion based simply on heresay and assumption?

"So , at the end of the day , you would be quite comfortable towing your Coromal (sorry incorrect spelling before) , up to the Cape , and anywhere else in Aus , and in 10 years time would be comfortable with know that nothing will have fallen apart.
How many of these types of Vans , go to the Cape ?"

. . . Excuse my ignorance but where in my post did I suggest that this was the case? What I was attempting to do was point out the folly of suggesting somehow that the two products have anything in common other than the fact that they are wind-up campers with pull out bed ends.
FollowupID: 335256

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:52

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 12:52
The reasoning behind my reply. Why offer an opinion based simply on heresay and assumption?

Ok , I'm sorry for offering any OPINION at all . . .

I'll remember next time . . .
FollowupID: 335264

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:37

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:37
Ah heck I feel so guilty now!
FollowupID: 335273

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:44

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:44
And so you bloody well should ; )

No , in retrospect , its probably a reasonable call.

My opinion is based on 2 years of research , and from speaking to people and dealers. It ISN'T from first hand owners experience. That ALWAYS counts.

As for the other bits (design, manufacturer etc) , I DID generalise , but felt , that was all that was really required at the time.

The Cape comment. That was PURELY based on the fact that the original question was about being Retired , and Buying an Ultimate.

Ultimate are fairly hardcore offroading CT. Why buy one , IF you dont intended using it.

As I said here though, depending on Circumstances . . . the Jayco , and Probably the Coromal , may be better suited to their requirements.
FollowupID: 335276

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:58

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 10:58
Beam me up Scotty!!!!

Mate, now you're comparing a Hummer with a RAV4.

2 totally different vehicles with totally different capabilities.

Quote: "that we should look at a Jayco Finch as we would like a built in kitchen"............Scotty the Ultimate has got a built in kitchen, so it fits your criteria. However, I would hope this is not the only reason you are contemplating spending $35K+ on a trailer. If that is your main requirement and you have no real intention of getting "right in amongst it", then you may as well save your hard-earned and go with the Jayco........but as the other bloke said..."they WILL fall apart". I have seen this first hand on a trip a couple of years ago through the Channel country. Convoy of 4 vehicles with campers. 3 were Ultimates and the other was a Jayco "Outback". It had both top shocker mounts give up the ghost; cupboards etc started to fall apart and HEAPS of dust got in every day. The owners were quite pyssed off as you can imagine. It also had a sunbstantial, but low slung, draw-bar. Every time we went through some mud, it acted like a snow plough and brought his Prado to an abrupt stop.
AnswerID: 75477

Reply By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:40

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 11:40
Just back from a trip up North, and almost every Jayco owner I spoke to had or have had suspension problems.

If you stick to the bitumen they are probably okay, but not for offroad, despite the fact they have an "off-road" version.

AnswerID: 75487

Follow Up By: pjd - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:25

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:25
thats a suprise that almost everyone had problems i would have thought that everyone would have a problem jaco & the like are just trying to cash in on the serious off road trailers by putting a 4x4 or offroad sticher on there caravans & getting salesman to suck in gulable punters dont get me wrong there not badly built they are just not built for off road work
FollowupID: 335335

Reply By: dolfn - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:02

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:02
Im also an ultimate owner.

Took took the Ultimate all the way up the OTL. No probs. Water tight dust proof. Its the real deal. I also towed it in to Bathurst Bay.

The only limitation on the ultimate in its capabilities, is the vehicle in front.

Saying that, there are a number of dedicated off road trailers on the market. It depends on what you want in a trailer.

Kimberly, T-Van and Aussie swag would be my pick after my first choice.

For Australian Off road conditions, Jayco didn't make the first cute

Kelvin
AnswerID: 75496

Follow Up By: Scotty - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:30

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:30
I know what your saying, Ive had a look at the Kimberly and the problem is that you have no place to sit inside when mozzies or wet, the Ultimate has only one large bed at one end. Any suggestions as I realize the limitations on the Jayco but Im in Brissie and would not I think be going hard line off road. Darwin, the Cape, Broome etc.
FollowupID: 335272

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:47

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:47
In which case , the Jayco or COROMAL , may be better suited to your requirements.

The Ultimate is a fair hardcore piece of offroading CT. If you don't intend to use it as such , Cape , Simpson, etc etc , then by all means , look elsewhere. These Type of Vans could well be ideal sollution.
FollowupID: 335277

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:58

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:58
Scotty

The KK has a space the same size as the footprint of the bed when opened. Whilst not a large amount of space, there is room to park yourself if it is wet or the mozzies are biting.

Now, it isn't a large area, and a couple of days of rain and siting inside would most likely drive you nuts. But so would siting inside any camptrailer, caravan, tent under those circumstances.

We have an awning which has been sufficient to keep the rain off us when required.

The key thing to remember when looking at caravans, camp trailers etc, is that they are not going to replicate the comforts of your own home.

If you are in Brisbane and you want a good caravan, have a look at what the Kedron guys have to offer.
FollowupID: 335318

Reply By: dolfn - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:00

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:00
Scotty,

I agree about if youre not going off road thenthe jayco maybe for you.

Beware of corrugations thought. A mate of mine had a jayco outback, it was new when we left last year for the cape and when He got back, it was trashed. He slod it for 1/4 of what he paid for it and ordered and ultimate.

He didn't take it on the OTL. He took the bypass road.

I have the full underbed annex and sunroom for my ultimate. When fully set up with all of the extra canvas, which takes about 45mins, it is huge.

fully sealable against mozzies.

The 5 min set up. Which does take only 5 mins on level ground. Has its limitations. Great for the quick stop though.
AnswerID: 75503

Reply By: pmacks - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:07

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:07
just to add my two cents worth
we have a goldstream off roader and after reading this thread i feel lucky not to have killed it as it has been to the cape and accross the simpson, now i may have been just bloody lucky but i think it is the way you drive that has a major bearing on weather your camper / trailer will survive.
Having said that i think the ultimate is just that, the best off road camper you can buy but theres no way the wife would ever give up the comfort of the goldstream, which brings me to another point who care about the interior comfort anyway i always seem to sitting around ther fire at night and for some reason don't have any problems falling asleep when i crawl into bed
Pmacks
AnswerID: 75506

Follow Up By: Bob H - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:53

Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 16:53
here here totally agree its how the veh is treated 90% of the time
FollowupID: 335317

Reply By: duncs - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 00:17

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 00:17
If you want something that will go anywhere you want to without falling apart and has heaps of room and a kitchen. How an I going? Have I coverd it all yet?

Then have a look at the Trak Shak. Mine has done every trip mentioned above and then some over the past eight years.

I know it still has two years to fall apart in but I sure can't see that happening.

Oh and at about $23K it comes in a fair bit cheaper than the Ultimate. NOt sure about the KImberly price but the Trak Shak has twice as much room.

AnswerID: 75610