Long range
tank
OME
suspension
Canopy
very tidy
Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:30
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:30
'88 models didn't come with the 2.8 litre so it must be a swap. Also is that kms on the Hilux or the motor? Pretty low kms for an '88.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:40
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:40
In 88 the 2.8 was an option along with aircon and power steering. This vehicle has all three. Yeah, low K's
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:09
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:09
Arhhh, got the year wrong it an 89
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:50
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:50
www.redbook.com.au
Heaps of models there. Need more info on specific model.
1988 TOYOTA HILUX
LN106R Utility SR5 Dual Cab 4dr Man 5sp 4x4 750kg 2.8D (Oct onwards)
national average price - private sale* $7,000 - $9,800
what price they asking?
If i were you, I would have a word to Eric... :)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:56
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 13:56
What price, hang on to your chair.......$18,000 which I thought was rather unrealistic but these buggers wont budge. I'm prepared to pay more than redbook but I'm not prepared to be raped. Nice vehicle though.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:01
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:01
I told them it needs new rubber all around...didn't make any difference.
One would think they don't want to sell it i but being a dealer surely they do. Are Toyotas really that good.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:05
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:05
HOW MUCH??
$10,000 over redbook? Tell them their dreamin! Specially if it needs tires and other chit!
Simple, go elsewhere, tradingpost has several Lux's.
What actual model is it Ray, is it the LN106R I mentioned?
Agian, have a word to Eric.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:14
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:14
It's not the SR5, just the poverty pack dual cab. I got the year wrong it's an 89. No real history with the vehicle either. Nice looking vehicle but l'm feeling better about walking now.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:18
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:18
Eric just dropped dead when I told him the price.
He said $7ishK, or with low klms 10-12k..
$18k you can get a 3.0 model according to him..
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:30
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:30
Gotta bloodly larf don't ya, and they reckon they can sell it they day after it gets in just 4x4's mag. I shall be keeping my eye on it to see how long it sits in the yard. I've been to all the car sales sites and hunted high and low but can't find much that appeals to me. Still, no hurry.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:14
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:14
When I was still looking for my 97 Rodeo I gave my phone number to a yard and told them if they get one in to let me know (Govt sales place). I got a call to come in so off I went. When I got there it was a 96 which as you know is a different model/body. Anyway they told me I could have it for a certain price (already told them I didn't want it regardless). However they said it has just had a bunch of stuff done to it and they are about to put the price up. I came back the following weekend and it was still there and $1000 cheaper. Dumb bleep.
Ended up buying a Rodeo off them eventually though.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:33
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 15:33
Ray,
Most things in Just 4x4 fit in with this bloke selling, most are way overpriced!
Did ya look in tradingpost?
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:52
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:52
Yeah, keeping my eye on it Bruce. I'll have another look tonight if I get the time but gotta have a turbo or maybe I could turbo it myself.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 18:39
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 18:39
Be smart buy a Nissan, save thousands on the same thing, and turbo it yourself, you always get better performance out of an aftermarket turbo.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:02
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 19:02
Nissan Navara ?? Nah, doesn't look tuff enough :)
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:10
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:10
in all honesty My rodeo shocked me with how great it was.. but it too doesnt look strong/tuff.
but I would have another in a flash!
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:37
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:37
You want to buy
mine.....I normally sell when the rubber gets down but this time I'm selling early....still got good rubber. I've just had a look at the trading post, carsales.com but nothing there. Will have to look interstate.....I hate this fluffing around!
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:38
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:38
Rodeos are great.
Mine gets a 50mm lift next week. It'll look tough then with 31in tyres and the lift. Will go much further too.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 22:32
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 22:32
Yell out if you need a hand with the chicks Utemad :)
Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 03:01
Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 03:01
Bruce/Ray,
I am looking for the same vehicle for a mate of
mine - dual cab hilux diesel turbo. Since Telstra took over melbournetradingpost.com.au, buggered if I can find one listed. And I know there should be a few.
I tried under 4wd Wagon (SUV as they are now saying .... another issue) and also under utes. Basic search for toyota and hilux .... Went to the advanced search and select 4wd, dual cab, diesel, manual, etc and always comes up with no listings.
Any light to be shed?
Wazza
Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 08:38
Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 08:38
Nay bother, I found a few in there .... think I was setting too many search options. ie. price too low!
Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:05
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:05
I sold my 89 dual cab last year it had:
Rebult 2.8 motor with rebuilt turbo (30k) with full service history.
Rebuilt gearbox (30K0
New HD clutch (30k)
Rebuilt rear diff (5k)
New long range tank
Winch
Canopy
Side steps and brush bars
Ultimate Susp.
It looked good and drove great.
Got $14000 for it in ACT.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:15
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:15
Thanks Steve, sounds like a nice vehicle.
Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:18
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 14:18
It was but I prefer my GQ.
Good luck with the car huntin/buying.
Reply By: GoRodeoGo - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:42
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:42
You're not selling the Rodeo are you Ray? :(
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:48
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 17:48
As soon as something suitable comes along Stuart. These damn toyotas though, some think the sun shines out of the exhaust.
Reply By: Member - Kerry (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 20:21
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 20:21
see my rig pick 95 toyota 4runner 115,000 k's (diesel 2.8) full service history from toyota purchased off a police officer warn winch window tint side steps towbar bullbar
snorkel dual batteries rola racks rims a/c clean as and purchased for $15600 6 months ago.
and the guy through in a compressor and type pliers set.. $18000 tell them there smokin!!!
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 20:51
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 20:51
Nice rig Kerry. Does Mr Plod have another for sale :)