Frontera Fuel Problem

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 14:12
ThreadID: 16129 Views:2040 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
I have a 1999 Holden Frontera SE, which to me seems to have developed a fuel problem. When I fill to click with fuel, it pours out beneath the car (5-10lt). My mechanic says that is the overflow system but it seems very odd and dangerous to me. Hoping somebody can assist.

Reply By: Member - Mark D (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 14:28

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 14:28
That is not normal. There is an overflow but it shouldn't be leaking 5-10 litres as you say it does.

Does is happen at all service stations you fill up from? Maybe it's a fault with that one pump. (ie it wont shut off properly when reaching full and keeps pumping fuel into the full tank.)
AnswerID: 75661

Reply By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 14:30

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 14:30
Schmoo,
I have a 200o mod Fronteria and I have never had this problem. I do have big problems in filling the tank at times. This seems to happen at servos that have high speed pumps that keep backing up and cutting out. This means that you keep trying to fill and do get a bit of overflow at times, but only 100 ml.
5-10 lt sounds like a lot of fuel and $. I would get another Mech to look at it.
Vinces
AnswerID: 75662

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 23:04

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 23:04
hmm wouldnt accept my response so i will try it as a follow up instead (sorry vince)

bleepe if you are dropping 10 litres at the servo they would have the spill kit out and the fireys on the way!!

Mate this is not normal or acceptable for any fuel to come out anywhere except the filler opening when it is chock a block, the vehicle is unroadworthy as it is leaking fuel and the emmissions system is not working properly as well as the tank is not 'sealed' to the carbon canister etc..

I know that those models had a problem with the fuel mro (sender/pump unit) in the tank and a lot of them had the tanks in and out heaps at the dealers, so possibly the filler neck is not attached properly or has chafed through . You could try lightly presurising the tank and get under for a listen , but i would be dropping the tank and double checking all lines straight away.. Never muck about with fuel probs, especially as there is a nice hot exhaust under there as well !!
FollowupID: 335535