yee haaa i love nissan

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:01
ThreadID: 16132 Views:3063 Replies:10 FollowUps:37
juming up & down chucking hand springs!
you guessed it nissan has come to the party without even a wimper.they agreed to pick up the cost of the new motor all labour & parts, all i have to pay for is the oils & coolants.
dam that feels good saying that , one less thing to stress over. woo hoo!

[[View Image] - Image Link]

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:07

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:07
Hey Bruce,

Good on ya mate. Really happy for ya. Give us the low down when you get the new motor.

Chris.
AnswerID: 75664

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:29

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:29
Good work.

So get it fixed and flog it off with warranty??
AnswerID: 75668

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:43

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:43
why do you have to pay for the oils and coolants?
AnswerID: 75672

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:19

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:19
gday go off road
my laymans understanding on this is as follows
you can not get a warrenty on consumables under the law due to the fact that they are consumable & have a set life & are designed to be replaced at intervals.hence if a motor company were to give a warrentee on consumables you would be able to caim regular servicing as a warrentee cliam.
so in this case if nissan were to to pick up the cost of the cosumables under this cliam regardsless of the fact that it is an out of warrentee claim, they would have what is known under the law as an implied warrentee, due to the fact that they covered the cost.which would leed us backe to the problem if every service being claimed as warentee work

so this why we are required to pay for all consumables used within any claim.
which when you look at what i would have to have payed i am more than happy to do, as the motor cost nissan $13000 wholesale to the dealer , so fully fitted with parts & labour would hvae come close to $20000 to fix.
FollowupID: 335460

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:32

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:32
What a crock ofbleep, if they need to drain or change the items due to something being fixed they are covering, caused by an issue they are in control of, then, they should be covering it.

I agree in normal service life, they arent covered, but I would be asking them will the engine be covered using the existing oil and water, which was fine in the existing engine, and if they say no, then, what is wrong with it, and why should I be paying to replace it.

If they cant show me why it needs replacing outside of the engine failure, or normal service interval, then, I wouldnt be paying, regardless of what its costing to replace it, it shouldnt of happened to start with..
FollowupID: 335464

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:40

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:40
Which would you rather pay daz, oil and coolant or engine..
FollowupID: 335470

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:47

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:47
niether, like I said, if nothing wrong with what was in the other engine, but if they choose to fit new coolant and oil to the engine they are supplying, then, they should pay.

Unless they wanted to go down the same path as the last car dealer I took to court, over 3.5k which was their fault, who turned it into 40k with all court costs etc, and they lost, the lawyers and barristors and instructors made good money, but the dealer didnt get away with it, and cost themselves money trying to bluff the consumer, and that point alone, made it worth the effort.
FollowupID: 335473

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:47

I have never had a warranty claim where fluids have been covered.

My Rodeos water pump died once due to wear and tear. Still worked but the little hole at the bottom to indicate bearing wear was leaking. They said it normally wouldn't be covered (since it was just worn out not actually broken) but since I hadn't had the car long that they would cover it. I bought it 3 years old with 74 000km on it and I had done another 20 000km when this happened (this was the second hand dealers warranty). I had to pay for coolant with all work done by my mechanic.

I was pretty happy.
FollowupID: 335474

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:20

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:20
Mine's in for a service at the mo. Additional work under warranty includes dropping the transfer case to attend to an oil leak .. yeh yeh I know LR have a part no. for leaks ... yadda yadda. Anyway I don't expect to pay for the replacement oil and will spit the dummy if asked to do same.

Will let you know the outcome.

FollowupID: 335557

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:23

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:23
Yep

Picked up the Fender and paid for 30k service. Warranty work completed including oil ... no charge.

FollowupID: 335794

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:57

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 15:57
Hi Bruce,

Good to hear Nissan came to the party. Its probably been a big inconvienience, but at least you now have a brand new series III motor.

AnswerID: 75673

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:21

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:21
agreed it feels almost like buying a brand new car
FollowupID: 335461

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:22

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:22
Captain,

I have been trying to find you...!
We now have confirmation from Nissan Australia that there is no new series 3 engine they are all the same except for the increased sump capacity, that was the only recall/change.
I have also been in touch with forums in Italy and they (in Europe) are having the same problems, also the recall in Europe was not to change engines it was the same as here sump capacity increase, they only change engines as they blow (same as here).
I do think however that perhaps the japs made a change and have not notified the worldwide dealerships... but that is just my gut feeling...

Just thought I let you know what we found so far...
FollowupID: 335462

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:35

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:35
Fits with the Melb engine rebuilder who is supplying the rebuilt nissan engines, who is carrying 6 in stock to cover orders, who doesnt see any other change in part No's etc either.

The changes seem to be wiring and ecu control related.
FollowupID: 335465

Follow Up By: Puddin & Gumnut (Sydney) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:35

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:35
When ours was done the dealer service manager told me the series 3 motor was redesigned , with piston & combustion chamber changes to stop this problem of the 3.0ltd blowing up. Only time will tell if it worked.
FollowupID: 335466

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:39

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:39
dont worry i will be asking a lot of questions when i pick it up!
FollowupID: 335467

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:39

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:39
Puddin & Gumnut

they also say there is no issue with the motors ever. ask any dealer they say "never heard of it".

they tell u what they are told to tell u....
FollowupID: 335468

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:41

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:41
The companies only onus is to get the vehicle past the 100k km mark, it doesnt have to cover anything fitted to the car for a further 100k km, only until the vehicles warranty is up.

Given they are rebuilding the 3.0 engines in Melb, i wouldnt hold my breath on to many changes to the engine, but maybe to the ECU mapping to try and protect egt's and combustion temps a little better.....
FollowupID: 335471

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:47

not quite true go off road
under the law if you can prove that the parts were faulty by design or or have a history of premature failure then the manufacturer has a responsabilty to replace the parts involved but not any non related parts that are replaced along side it ,unless they are damged by the failing part nor are they required to be replaced if they fail due to due to reasonable wear.
FollowupID: 335472

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:50

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:50
under the law if you can prove that the parts were faulty by design or or have a history of premature failure then the manufacturer has a responsabilty to replace the parts involved but not any non related parts that are replaced along side it ,unless they are damged by the failing part

Doesnt what you just said prove they should be paying for the oil and coolant, damaged by the failing part?????????

Unless the stuff from the old engine is ok to use, they should cover it.
FollowupID: 335476

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:51

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 16:51
I'd believe this bruce.h.

I was told by a auto sparky once (about 1999) that to that day you could take your distributor from an old square Nissan Pulsar to a Nissan dealer and they would swap it for you for free. This was due to it being faulty and they never developed a fix for it.
FollowupID: 335477

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:16

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:16
What I posted is what Nissan Australia said. It appears that dealers don't know much, they all have their own stories...
Also Bruce h see what warranty they give you from here on, they gave this friend of mine 20000kms or 6 months that is all...
That is what I find very suspect...

GO OFFROAD, the EGT on the new engine is up to 700c mark before the turbo...

I am not trying to start a debate, these are fair dinkum results after a lot of research and the info is from Nissan Australia and not from a dealer.
FollowupID: 335478

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:38

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:38
They only have to give the remainde rof the vehciles warranty when fixing items under warranty, but 6 months and 20k km is probably what they are getting from the engine rebuilder.

And egt "up to " 700deg...... is that up or down from the earlier version?
FollowupID: 335480

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:38

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:38
Hi GUPatrol,

Thanks for your information, its genuinely appreciated. It is so confusing, one gets so much differing information from so many different sources. Some with hidden agendas, some with ignorance and some who actually know stuff. But its working out who is what, thats the problem.

Just looking at the facts (as I see it IMHO);

Series II engines started blowing at ~50,000kms plus and this happened within 6 months of their release. There is a multitide of people who I have talked to and there is no question that these motors had real issues. Virtually all cases were holed pistons, a classic case of overheating pistons (typically is overfuelling or lack of heat removal).

Series II engines were recalled for increased oil capacity - dipstick change (oil sprays on pistons is used to remove heat in many diesel designs, increasing sump capacity is one way of cooling oil temp, hence cooler pistons). However, I have communicated with owners who have had the "upgrade" and still had engine failure.

Some of the later series II failures did not require wiring loom replacement while early failures did. This IMPLIES (not fact) that a change was performed to ECU control during the series II life.

Series III engines have been around since June 2001. There are vastly more series III engines than series II engines on the road now, some wth in excess of 300,000kms. However, I have yet been unable to communicate with a single OWNER of a series III failure.

There is plenty of RUMOUR that oil gallery size was increase, more oil sprays on pistons, dual oil pump pickups etc..., but agree, no hard FACTS from Nissan. All the rumoured changes make sense if its an overheating piston issue, but were they done or were they suggestions that others have picked up as facts - I don't know for sure.

The only thing i know for sure is that I have talked to many series II with blown motors and no series III, even though there are probably 3 times more series III on the road (note - just an estimate based on years, not a sales figure). So my educated assumption is that there has been some significant changes, otherwise why are we not seeing the same rate of failure in series III now?

I am very happy with my Nissan. Its the first time I've owned a Nissan and I have no idea what brand I will get next time around. I buy what I percieve to suit my needs the best at the time. I have NO brand image to push or any affiliation with any make (have had 7 different makes out of last 8 vehicles!). I don't have to buy a certain "brand name" to stroke my ego. I was also very happy with my 80 series. Both are dam good vehicles. However, I don't pay much notice to non-owners of any vehicle, its funny how they know so much about something they have never owned.

Bottom line is, I am sick to death of all the crap talked by many people about the 3.0TD and cannot believe the fanatical love/hate relationship the 3.0TD has with many people. I know what my opinions are about this motor and I have better things to do with my time than continually be berated for my current choice of vehicle. If someone doesn't like the 3.0TD, fine, but hey move on, its only a vehicle!!!

There is not a single vehicle made that doesn't have some sort of design issue, some better, some worse, but NONE perfect!!! We all have different needs in a vehicle and as long as the owner is happy, isn't that what counts?

Sorry to unload on this post, but still struggle with the small mindness of some on this forum.

FollowupID: 335481

Follow Up By: NissanofOld - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:02

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:02
There are some people on this forum who seem to actually derive some weird form of pleasure every time they hear of a problem with the 3.0lt Patrol.

There is a German word for this:

schadenfreude

n : delight in another person's misfortune [syn: Schadenfreude]

You would think that at some time in their life they would get a life and grow up.
FollowupID: 335497

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:06

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:06
Well said captain, its great the the bloke as got it fixed for free,also these people going on about the negative,Telling him to sell it.Poor guy he wanted to jump for joy.GOOD news Bruce,and good luck.We will have to catch up some time as I live in Perth,But accordding to people on this forum I cant go anywhere as I drive a petrol patrol
kind regards uppy
FollowupID: 335499

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 22:12

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 22:12
Captain.
Read the reply from GUPATROL at top

"We now have confirmation from Nissan Australia that there is no new series 3 engine"

No such thing.
FollowupID: 335526

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 22:39

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 22:39
Hi Truckster,

In your post to Puddin & Gumnut above you state;

"they also say there is no issue with the motors ever. ask any dealer they say "never heard of it".

they tell u what they are told to tell u.... "

And then you tell me to believe as gospel what Nissan Australia say about "no new series 3 engine"????

Just cracks me up how you like to believe Nissan when it suits you, but totally distrust them when it doesen't suit you. Sorry, just toooo much selective believing for me, or are you being tongue in cheek?

Truckster, we know you hate the 3.0TD with a passion. We know you will shrivel up if one ever dared park in your driveway. We know the 3.0TD is totally responsible for all the ills in 4WDriving. We know its the irresponsible hoons driving Nissan 3.0TD's who destroy National parks and steal historical markers from the desert tracks. If only the Govt were to ban the 3.0TD, or better yet, put a 4.2 in its place, then we all would be safe and could sleep easy at night.

But please, get over it. Its only an engine and the majority of OWNERS are very happy with it, warts and all.

FollowupID: 335532

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 00:04

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 00:04
Captain,
if you wish to be a stickler for correctness in what is being said, you will notice one of the statements you ahve used for ammunition was actually posted by someone researching the 3.0 as being "confirmation" and the other bit of ammo you chose to use is dealer rhetoric.......

Anyway, truckster is as entitled to his opinion on the 3.0 as you are to yours, so, say your bit and stop looking like defending your purchase, because as much as you say he needs to get over it, your comments always try to be the last one on the topic....... so before you can remove the splinter from your brothers eye, you must first remove the plank from your own.
FollowupID: 335542

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 00:38

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 00:38
Uppy if you have not noticed the thead concerns issues with the 3.0 diesel not the petrol.

That is unless your now saying that you have developed problems with your petrol Nissan ? and can't go anywhere.

FollowupID: 335543

Follow Up By: Moneypit - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 02:06

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 02:06
Captain,

Nothing to do with the subject matter of this thread but I was hoping to PM you regarding towing a van with the 3.0.

You went low profile for a while and I thought maybe you'd packed up and gone for a while.

Can you email me at duxnutz2003 AT yahoo DOT com and I'll drop you a mail.

About to set off for a10K trip over 4 weeks [nothing is close to where I am] and I need to make sure that I don't stuff things up coz I haven't got time for drama's.

FollowupID: 335545

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:07

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:07
John,

I believe Uppy was referring to people saying the petrol Patrol is a gas guzzler and therefore not viable for travel. I have read that regularly enough on this forum to belive this is what he means.
FollowupID: 335556

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 09:32

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 09:32
Captain,
As I said before, I did not wish to start a debate of hate/love for this particular engine/model.

I thought I pass the info we got from Nissan Australia...

By the way, we asked Nissan the same question "why is it then that the later models are not having problems".
Their reply went back to the sump capacity increase. They say the early ones which have already run on low oil capacity have been "compromised"...
Don't get upset guys (those who own them), I am passing to you days of research and phone calls/emails...
The quest is not yet finished as we still have to hear from Nissan Japan.
FollowupID: 335566

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 09:37

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 09:37
Additional oil capacity = cheap easy way to try and keep pistons cooler.

Please keep the info coming, Im sure those who dont wish to read it will find another topic to view ;-)
FollowupID: 335568

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:38

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:38
Hi GUPatrol,

Look forward to hearing what you find. Hopefully Nissan Japan will be more forthcoming, but I wouldn't hold my breath. Short of stripping down a series II & III side by side, I don't know if we will ever find the facts. Even then, a lot would be hidden in the ECU.

But hey, I am happy with my vehicle and to me, thats all that counts. Still continue to be amazed at the passion the 3.0TD evokes.

FollowupID: 335576

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:28

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:28
Hi Captain,

I am also amazed, and keep enjoying it, another friend of mine with the series 3 (same colour as yours) is really happy with it and I can't fault it either, he has done 90000kms already...
I will certainly let you know if we get anywhere with the japs. We found someone who speaks Japanese and can send the email but we are now trying to find out where to send it to because we would like to be able to get a reply from an engineer (like we did here) and not a sales person.
FollowupID: 335593

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:58

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 17:58
Bruce,
Great news, personally I would happy paying for the coolant and oil if I got the engine and all the other bits for free. That's my opinion, I can also see the points made by others, all valid. Am I allowed to ask who did the work? Just interested. Did they replace the clutch as part of the replacement I imagine they would of done. Where did the directive come from, Nissan over East or the dealer, I understood the dealer wasn't to helpful so you where going to Nissan, I lost the thread there what happened?
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 75684

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 18:54

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 18:54
Gday Martyn
I have a total distrust of anybodty to do with the car industry, so i by passed the dealer & rang nissan australia, who promptly sent me back to the local dealer with a promises to take care of it when they recieved a report from the dealer.
the dealer in question is total nissan in canningtonto date i have had three phone conversations with them,

the first was no more than to say it was arriving via tilt tray shortly

The second was basicly them telling me it had no compression in #1 cylinder & me telling themthat i expected Nissan to pick up the costs to which they said ok leave with us we will contact Nssan Australia.

The third was to say that Nissan were picking up the cost for all of the above mentioned.

so to be honest with you i believe thats not bad service at all & i also believe its exceptable for motor companies to have problems with design faults to a piont becauce testing can only take you so far actual life conditions are always going to be diferrant to bench testing,what truely makes a manufacturer good or bad is the ability of the company to back up their products when they go wrong.

In my case i can not fault nissans service & respons as it has been for all parts concidered relitivly painless , this may be just because of those who have gone before me doing the hard yards, so iguess it all depends on your own personal experances,at this piont i can honestly say im am to dte very happy with the service, as for future problems with either the car or Nissan,
a very wise business associate once said to me deal with the now worry about the things you can change & dont stress over things you can't ,the rest will always take care of them selves some to your benifit some not & as you cant change them it makes no defferance.

FollowupID: 335494

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 18:58

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 18:58
btw its an auto & the work is not done yet as the motor is still on its way over
FollowupID: 335495

Reply By: Member - Allan - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 00:46

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 00:46
Well done Bruce. I might be one of those horrible Toyota owners but I’m still pleased for you and hope you get it back on the road soon. With regard to differences between Series II and Series III engines, why doesn’t someone go down to the local Nissan parts dealer and just check the part numbers between the two engine models pistons, head, oil pump, ECU etc? It may end a lot of the speculation.

AnswerID: 75733

Reply By: DiesAl - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:16

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:16
Gday Bruce, Well done...always a good feeling when they come to the party....
I don't want to hijack thread but did you once own a hilux and fit a second fuel tank under the passenger side (as in post 3359) if so I wouldn't mind getting some details from you ??
AnswerID: 75747

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:45

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:45
yes i did but thats going back about 20 years ago how did you know that.
not sure about the new er models but in the 1981 model it was easy taking only about 3 hours start to finish
FollowupID: 335578

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 09:51

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 09:51
All this 3.0 litre stuff is most interesting.
Following my engine failure I wrote to Nissan,a newspaper, and three 4wd magazines querying the reason for the failure.
Not one publication printed or replied.
I contacted the consumer affairs in Victoria,nice letter back ,they are investigating.
No reply for 3 months.
This would have to be the greatest cover up of all time.
How consumers can have an engine dumped in without providing any details after a major failure,is beyond belief.
From the info gleaned from other sources,I was of the understanding that the oil pickup was increased as well as the larger sump?
Also my vehicle was fitted with all oils and coolant,a new battery and idler pulley at no cost with the engine installation.
I think the dealer may be having a fiddle,still small cost againgst engine replacement.
Glad you were successful in your claim.
AnswerID: 75759

Follow Up By: NissanofOld - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:25

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:25
It's not really a cover up, but is the norm in the motor industry. You can go back as far as you want in recent motoring history and find the same thing time and time again, where problems such as these have not warranted major investigations or publicity.

And while the forums have made a lot of noise about this, no one really has any cold, hard evidence on what percentage of 3.0lt Patrols sold in Australia have suffered this mishap. It may really be a very small number, from the total number sold, that it really is a storm in a teacup from Consumer Affairs etc point of view (and the fact that rectifications are being performed).

Just look at the problems Pajeros suffered for years with their transmissions, the early big-end bearing failures with the 80 Series TDs, the transmission Jesus nut coming undone in the MQ Patrols, recent BMW engine problems etc. The list can go on and on.

When it becomes a safety issue, that's when the spotlights go on. But even then, it can often be a voluntary thing and manufacturers can often elect to rectify things only when the fault occurs.

The heartening thing is, that it would seem that in all cases, Nissan has come to the party and fixed the engines. Can't say the same for all manufacturers (not just 4WD) when such problems arise.

If you have a regular look at this site, you'll see that every manufacturer is as good/bad as the other:

http://www.recalls.gov.au/
FollowupID: 335575

Reply By: DiesAl - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:52

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:52
Bruce, I saw your response to post 3359 in the archives.
Mate if your memory is up to it I only have a couple of questions.

1. Did you make and weld brackets onto the chassis in the same way the original tank is fitted ?
2. Where / How did you locate the filler pipe for it ?
3. Where did you run your exhaust and locate your muffler ?
4. Did you come accross any legal implications ?

Al
AnswerID: 75938

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:10

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:10
GDAY AL

if i remember rightly this how i fitted it

1.) went to the wreckers and got a hilux tank & filler assembly inclueding the door / flap cut out of the body work

2). had panel beater install the filler assembly on the oppissate side to original filler ( the use of the filler doors is optional)

3). the tank is the turned around to fit so as the filler face to the out side of the car (you can also run a long filler to the exsiting filler & have a second filler placed there) ithinkl i used existing brackets & had them fitted to the car bit hazy on this bit or i may have just bolted it to straps around the tank& bolted to chassis

4). i then ran fuel line across to the exsisting filler & had a pipe bronzed into it to take the hose i the nistalled an in line pump & pump from the reserve tank into the main tank.
( you can also set it up so as to have soliniod & run direct to th fuel pump & install a guage to let you know if it full ect.)

5). then connected the pump to a switch in the dash
so when the main tank was getting low i just pumped the fuel accross

all thge fittinf of the tank bar the filler into the body work was done my self & was completed in 3 to 4 hours.

hope this helps
FollowupID: 335791

Reply By: DiesAl - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:25

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:25
Thanks mate much appreciated.....

Al
AnswerID: 75955