ADI Fridge comparison test results ?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 18:52
ThreadID: 16169 Views:6007 Replies:9 FollowUps:19
'Solar Panel' replied to a question on 18th August, in Post No 15611, post answer #73121 stating the Australian Defence Industries Fridge comparison test resulted in the following Average Amps results;
Autofridge 2.4
Bush Boy 2.8
Bushman 1.6
Evakool 1.9
Engel 1.6
Explorer 2.4
Reefer 5.6
Vitrifrigo 2.3
Waeco 2.0

The question asked of him was ->
can anyone explain WHY the ADI test report, in the Mad Dog (Victoria) posted 17th August, follow up #333048, on FRIDGE power consumption, are in some cases almost half the FRIDGE manufactures own nominated power figures?

I would like to know how a fridge comparison test gets power figures that are so incredebly low and I asked the question without an answer from the posters.

I now restate the question; can anyone inform me how the test results were obtained?

I would hate to buy an Engel or ARB and find 1.6 a/h as indicated in the test results referred to in the post is not true

Reply By: sean - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 20:25

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 20:25
The figures not only relate to engel and arb but to all the fridge brands listed.

From memory the results were 'average' figures for the test conditons. Regardless of the validity of the simulated test conditions, I think they do serve as a useful objective comparison of fridge efficiency.

Sean
AnswerID: 75870

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 20:41

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 20:41
I'd be really interested to find out how they tested the frigs, I've had both and engel and an autofridge and there is no way an autofidge would use more power than an engel.
AnswerID: 75872

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:31

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:31
peter, look back a few threads.. a link was posted to the test results and how the tests were conducted
FollowupID: 335721

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 21:05

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 21:05
Ozyguy, OzyGuy, Where are you? Looking to defend your favourite Reefer????
This is what others have been telling you.
AnswerID: 75876

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 01:27

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 01:27
no rolande,
looking to see how a test, you obviously believe is accurate, can give a result for an Engel that is almost half the power consumption stated by Engel in their own advertising brochures, and half the power consumption mentioned by other Engel owners on this forum.

The ADI test results indicate that the results are definately not relevant in any real life scenario.

FollowupID: 335895

Follow Up By: rolande- Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 20:11

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 20:11
Mainey,
Not saying that these are be-all figures, just that in controlled conditions, with side by side comparison, most fridges will beat the reefer, (liemack), hands down. The one mentioned above in previous posts set out to belittle anyone who didn't believe his favoured Reefer was the best. Suspect he has something to do with the company, despite denials. Look up name under history to see what I mean.
rolande
FollowupID: 335939

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:34

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:34
These figures are only half the storey and therfore meaningless except to tell you the amount of power being consumed in an hour.
How long and how often the fridge has to run to maintain a desired temp is the other half of the storey. This of course depends on the quality of the insulation in the unit and the circulation of fresh air over the motor to disperse extracted heat (this is paramount to economical use of power). It amazes me that some companies manufacture units with lousy wall insulation then sell you an extra jacket to help improve the insulation. One of the ARB models has a jacket that also covers the motor with mesh restricting air circulation further, if you have one, cut away everything that covers the motor and venting area.
If you want more tips on making a unit work better let me know.
AnswerID: 75884

Follow Up By: sean - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 00:03

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 00:03
Cocka

have you read the test and were the testers were independent?

Sean
FollowupID: 335713

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:40

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:40
yep, the insulation factor is part of the equation, But the results of the test by ADI are very much indicative of what one can expect for power use!

the tests were carried out in a environmetal chamber covering a temperature range that could be expected to average type conditions....

we can get a technical and get carried away with what if's and buts, how-ever that the performance figures given in the test results are average for average conditions and would not dramaticaly change a manufactures standing if the test was carried at, lets say, for 48hrs at 40 ambient
FollowupID: 335722

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:50

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:50
No to that Sean but 4WD Monthly did a comparo a while back, I'll see if I can dig that out & give you a look at their results.
FollowupID: 335724

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 08:19

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 08:19
see post 15611 for link to test results and how it was done
FollowupID: 335731

Follow Up By: SunMan - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:59

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:59
4WD Monthly test is not a test it is rubbish
now so far out of date to be useless which it was when published
FollowupID: 335779

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 13:52

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 13:52
SunMan, why is it rubbish?
FollowupID: 335789

Follow Up By: SunMan - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 17:49

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 17:49
due to the methodology and the period of the test
was totally worthless and waste of time
the test was setup to make one poor fridge look good to suck in an advertiser
what you call in the business an advertorial
FollowupID: 335809

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:51

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:51
do you have refrigeration knowledge?
FollowupID: 335817

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 23:30

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 23:30
SunMan I'm interested in your comments.
How would you consider it best to set up a test comparing one fridge against another - how would you do it and what do you think is the important thing to achieve in such a test ???
FollowupID: 335836

Reply By: SunMan - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:52

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:52
it is not true
a Waeco, Engel, Bushman, Vitrifrigio all use around the same power for the same size fridge
If you want to get into lower power consumption you need to get into Autofridge Evakool Trailblaza Explorer
Fact a 40 litre fridge average summers day total amps 24 hr period 35 amps
Fact a 50 litre fridge average summers day total amps 24 hr period 45 amps
Fact a 80 litre fridge average summers day total amps 24 hr period 85 amps

AnswerID: 75900

Follow Up By: sean - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:30

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:30
and where did you get these Facts from SunMan.

Fact!! or Fact???

Keep trying and one day we might all get to the truth.

sean
FollowupID: 335821

Follow Up By: Crocbit (NT) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 10:24

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 10:24
Hi Guys,

Thought I'd add my 2c worth!! I have been watching these various fridge debates for a while, and it doesn't take long to see who is throwing up a smokescreen, and confusing the issues with Bull#$#$!!!! 80L consumes 85A - how was that arrived at???

OK FACT, I have an 80L Evacool (yeah ok I already know is less than 80l due to compressor!) fitted to the Nissan with 2 x 40w Solar panels. Here are some FACTS - as measured and as confirmed (by use) on a trip through the GRR and Kimberleys!!

The Evacool (Danfoss BD35 compressor and controls) runs at approx 2.4amps in economy mode, and 3.5amps in boost mode (measured Metrix 52 DMM) The duty cycle on setting 1 (2 degrees celcius) at approx 36 degreees ambient, and packed in the back of the nissan is 20-30 minutes on per hour (take worst case as 50%) therefore in economy mode, equals 2.5A times 12hours (30 amphere hours!).

Solar array produces approx 24 - 36 amphours per day (measured at between 4 - 6 amps per hour at 13.0 v between 0900 - 1500, add some more if you want for the early/later times). Say lower figure of 25 amphere hour per day.

Battery used is a standard 55amphere hour capacity deep cycle.

Running it to 50% discharged (dmm (open cct voltage) = 12.25v and SG = 1190 (also where fridge turns off due low voltage) takes 5 days!!

therefore the fridge MUST only use 5 amphere hours a day MORE than the solar panels produce!! My calculations make that approx 30 ampere hours per day for the Evacool....that is NOWHERE near 85amps!!!!

For your comments..............

FollowupID: 335913

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 08:26

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 08:26
Gday Mainey,

Just to throw more poo into the ring, you must also consider the setup each individual has in relation to cabling size, connection etc etc.

My engel draws about 2.4amps with the fridge on 5 full bore, but have a mate whose draws 2.6amps at full bore, he has run a longer length of cable and and a bigger core. Really strange result.

But agree with all said, ambient temp, type of food and amount of times opened in a day really effect results.

Chris.
AnswerID: 75908

Reply By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:50

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:50
Use the info ONLY as an indicator unless you know the test criteria.

Danfoss themselves have many different tables of ratings on their website wihich differ considerably based on the test circumstance.
AnswerID: 75975

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 01:36

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 01:36
Yes,
also indicating that the ADI test results are not correct......

would like to hear from anyone with an Engel (circa ~2002) that gets 1.6 a/h power consumption under the same test conditions eg; 50 degree's with a mid ambient of 25, the fridge would be running continiously and at 2.8 a/h.

FollowupID: 335896

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 13:03

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 13:03
I reckon one should look at the maximum continuous load (current) at maximum running time. In the north during summer with the fridge in the car the motor will be running more often than not. Estimate a 50 % duty cycle if you want to use the fridge as a fridge(not as a freezer) and you won't be dissapointed.

My waeco 40ltr draws more that 4 amps running regardless of the temperature setting or the temp outside. It will never draw more or less unless I alter the speed of the motor. The total current draw for the day will depend on the number of hours the compressor needs to run to maintain the setting via the thermostat.

I tink thay are all about the same cooling power but those units with more insulation will require shorter running times but they are far larger in physical size.

Horses for courses I guess.
FollowupID: 335921

Reply By: Crocbit (NT) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 10:27

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 10:27
Hi Guys,

Thought I'd add my 2c worth!! I have been watching these various fridge debates for a while, and it doesn't take long to see who is throwing up a smokescreen, and confusing the issues with Bull#$#$!!!! 80L consumes 85A - how was that arrived at???

OK FACT, I have an 80L Evacool (yeah ok I already know is less than 80l due to compressor!) fitted to the Nissan with 2 x 40w Solar panels. Here are some FACTS - as measured and as confirmed (by use) on a trip through the GRR and Kimberleys!!

The Evacool (Danfoss BD35 compressor and controls) runs at approx 2.4amps in economy mode, and 3.5amps in boost mode (measured Metrix 52 DMM) The duty cycle on setting 1 (2 degrees celcius) at approx 36 degreees ambient, and packed in the back of the nissan is 20-30 minutes on per hour (take worst case as 50%) therefore in economy mode, equals 2.5A times 12hours (30 amphere hours!).

Solar array produces approx 24 - 36 amphours per day (measured at between 4 - 6 amps per hour at 13.0 v between 0900 - 1500, add some more if you want for the early/later times). Say lower figure of 25 amphere hour per day.

Battery used is a standard 55amphere hour capacity deep cycle.

Running it to 50% discharged (dmm (open cct voltage) = 12.25v and SG = 1190 (also where fridge turns off due low voltage) takes 5 days!!

therefore the fridge MUST only use 5 amphere hours a day MORE than the solar panels produce!! My calculations make that approx 30 ampere hours per day for the Evacool....that is NOWHERE near 85amps!!!!

For your comments............
AnswerID: 76088

Follow Up By: Crocbit (NT) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 10:28

Sunday, Sep 12, 2004 at 10:28
OOPS! SORRY, managed to put this on twice...my fault....
FollowupID: 335915

Reply By: Mainey... - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:01

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:01
The question asked & still is ->
can anyone explain WHY the Australian Defence Industrie test report, as posted 17th August, follow up number 333048
on FRIDGE power consumption, are in most cases almost half the nominated FRIDGE manufactures own power figures?

I would like to know how a fridge comparison test can be concidered factual or reliable when it states power figures that are around 1/2 the power stated by the actual fridge manufacturer.

Does anyone believe an Engel will only use 1.6 a/h in a 50 degree hotbox with 25 ambient temp.

I need a new 50/60 Ltr fridge and I would buy one if it could be proven to me.
AnswerID: 76316

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 20:02

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 20:02
Why not ask Australian Defence Industries for the test criteria.

If you don't think the ifo is correct go by the info the manufacturer provides and then add a bit and you will be right.
FollowupID: 336178

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 18:32

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 18:32
Brett H (QLD)
'Australian Defence Industries' involvement was only as the supplier of the premises, as stated by others; it was an 'advertorial' for a fridge manufacturer by a 4x4 magazine, with their own staff doing the tests.

still would have hoped the results would have been be truthfull.
1.6 a/h for Engel is stated NOT to be an honest result by previous posts,
and no one has claimed that their own Engel can get down to match the test results - or any other make for that matter!!!!

Is a case of because it is printed in a magazine it must (not) be true.

FollowupID: 336305