Desert Dueler v's Cooper's

Submitted: Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:02
ThreadID: 16176 Views:22026 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
My mate is wanting to upgrade his tyres before we go up to Birdsville, Camersons Corner etc. He is looking at the Bridgestone Desert Dueler 604V 31 x 10.5.
I have Coopers on mine which have an awesome tread depth for puncture proofing. Does anyone have any comments between the Bridgestone or is the equilivant Cooper worth the bit extra money (do they cost more?).

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:08

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:08
those 2 brands are on a par, though the bridgestone can be a little worse on wet bitumen as it wears.

If its the toughest punture proof tyre that drives well you want, go the MTR in that size, should be under $200 ea.
AnswerID: 75913

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:44

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:44
60000000 ply wall on MTR but pretty much same as other top tyres out there.

I run MTR's but the coopers, bfg's are all up there. Most importantly, your tyre pressures will effect end result, you could be running baja's out there and still get punctures.

I would recommend any of the 5 top tyres, but whatever your mate decides on, get specific instructions from both the tyre company and experienced tourer before setting off. Tyre companies do not recommend running lower pressures, but will advise on what should be done. As your probably aware, bulldust, mud, blacktop, extreme roads, and broken rocky surfaces all require different pressures.

Have fun mate!

Chris.
FollowupID: 335745

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:52

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:52
I have cut them up, poked holes in them, tried to tear them, and I can tell you the MTR is 30-40% stronger in the sidewall than the others you mention, and alot is to do with not only the thickness [MTR's 30% thicker] but the way the layers are layed in the construction.
FollowupID: 335746

Follow Up By: fozzy - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:55

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:55
the mtr you guys are talking about is that the bridgestone wrangler mtr?
if it is what size ie 285/75/16 as i notice different code for i think 305 and 315. from your experience is the quality different between sizes?

been looking at getting some new muddies for a while and from what i see u reckon their better than bfg(had those and reckon pretty good).
thought about baja s but still want predictable traction on wet bitumen to and from tracks.
FollowupID: 335763

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:03

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:03
Goodyear Wranglers.

To be totally honest, there's not much in it and I think that the MTR's only perform better in the wet on blacktop than the BFG's. Apart from that, the MTR may have a thicker wall, but it all comes down to pressures, and driving style.

I know a guy who did 4 MTR's on one trip, was very adamant that tyre pressure didn't matter, that the tyres were indestructable. $1400 later, he changed his tune. We all ran same tyres without a hitch, just spent 10 mins with stauns and compressors when scenery and track changed.

Chris.
FollowupID: 335766

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (VIC) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:09

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:09
MTR's for under $200 each? I'd like to know where you shop. I just rang Good Year yesterday and they quoted me $290 each for 265/75/16.
FollowupID: 335769

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:11

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:11
read the first post again, properly this time, and then see how that translates to your size.

The last set I got in that size for someone [12 months ago] were under $160 ea.
FollowupID: 335770

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:14

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:14
Gday Mark,

Don't go to Goodyear, go to a Distributor, they get better deal because the buy the tyres in bulk.

Truckster can get, by the sounds of things, great prices in Vic, he may read this post and help you out. I went through a distributor up here in QLD and paid $279 for 5 - 285/75/16's. Truckster from memory in a previous post said he got a quote of $260 or something from first call.

Cheers mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 335771

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:58

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:58
see post 16188
FollowupID: 335806

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:24

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:24
what makes them more puncture proof? Deeper tread, side wall strength? Interested to know as I am running Cooper ST's. Obviously no tyre is perfect and with the huge range of products for 4wd's out there then I am open to suggestions myself when it's time to upgrade.
AnswerID: 75916

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:53

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:53
see above reply.
FollowupID: 335748

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:10

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:10
I guess it comes down to just sticking with the big brands and get out there over the years and see what happens. I guess in a competitive market all the top brands are going to be fairly close and as long as you do the correct things with rotating the tyres and running correct pressures, everyone should get their money's worth
AnswerID: 75923

Reply By: isaac - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:26

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:26
Don't know if its true or not but I have been told (from tyre dealers!!) that the 604V made in Australia arebleepe and that the ones made OS are a lot better. The aussie made ones in that size are selling for $160 at BJ at the moment, anyone out there used either type? Cheers, Isaac
AnswerID: 75925

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:46

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:46
Yep, read that on the internet as well about the Aust tyre being no up to scratch. Bit of a risk as I guarantee the salesman wouldn't know and even if he did, can he be trusted? I guess it's a risk that my mate would have to take if he chooses this tyre. Only time would tell out bush!
AnswerID: 75926

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:48

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:48
check the Gov Recall site.
Bridgestones have a recall on cewrtain sizes.

Bridgestones wear out HEAPS faster than nearly anything out there, and are well known for it. But they arent top $, so you pay less and wear out faster.

Wifes pathy killed a set in 50,000...
AnswerID: 75936

Reply By: Member - Karl - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:52

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:52
I have 31 10 R15 Bridgestone 604 V Duelers fitted to my vehicle. I have found them to be good on road and off road - though I am not into extreme mud crawling etc.

When I got my from the Bridgestone Dealer in Fyshwick ACT he told me the 31 10 R15 were better than the 31 10.5 R15 because they were made at different factories (countries - one in Aust and one in Japan but I am having a blonde moment and I can not recall which was which).

For the price I paid - $180 ea I was happy. My next tyres will be the new D694 apparently they are a good A/T.
AnswerID: 75939

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:39

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:39
You are right . The Japanese ones are far better than the Australian made ones to the tune of 50000km. HAve used Desert duelers for the last 20 years and have been to lots of places and covered heaps of kays and have no reason to buy anything else. The 2 H powered troopy would see 80000 to 100000km on a set of Japanese ones. The Australian made set wore out at 40000km.

FollowupID: 335814

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:00

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:00
sounds a bit risky if the buyer is not 100% sure of the origin of the tyre. thanks for everyone's advice. I have passed this forum onto my mate so he can now get as confused as what I am:) It's good to get independant advice like the origin of the tyre is a problem for example. I 'm sure a salesman wouldn't pass this info on! I'm glad I went all thur this a while ago for my vehicle!

Gossy
AnswerID: 75942

Reply By: SunMan - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:05

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:05
hated the Coopers no grip and dangerous in wet
Bridgestone DD on work vehicle are wearing badly
on other work vehicle have Goodyear Wrangler ATR are great going to fit to my own vehicle
AnswerID: 75943

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:13

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 14:13
I am running some old Bridgstone DD's on the surf, 10r 15. They were on there when I bought it and look pretty tired, but still plenty of grip. I am very mean to my tyres, running them at 10-12psi in the sand fully loaded, even got air a few times the other weekend with them at 12psi. Run them in the mud, sand tracks, forresty tracks, rocks, etc etc. Not fantastic in the wet on the road, but I havn't used an aggressive style off road tyre that I was 100% happy with in the wet on road, that's not what they are made for.
They do seem to be wearing fairly fast, I've done about 20-30k since I've had the vehicle and the front is wearing even though the car drives smooth and straight. I have been keeping them pumped up to 45PSI on the road latly to stop chopping the tread on the sides out and it has made a big difference to the wear on the tyres.
Off road, the bridgestones have surprised me, I had no respect for them previously only using BFG AT's but grip on gravel, mud and sand has been excellent. Even with road pressure on the gravel the traction is suprising.
AnswerID: 75953

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 15:03

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 15:03
thanks for that. I fairly sure my mate has decided to go for the Desert Duelers. Good price advantage and as he said, he would rather stake a $160 tyre than a $250 tyre.
AnswerID: 75959

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:41

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 18:41
Get the JApanese ones as they will last 40000km longer than the Australian made ones.
FollowupID: 335815

Reply By: Richard - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:39

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:39
Replaced Bridgestone D693's with Cooper ST-C's at 65K's. Top dollar but traction is heaps better on the tracks. On the blacktop they are great in the wet. At 20K they are on track for the 80K warranty. I'll most likely stick with them unless I go to the STT.
AnswerID: 75983