dual cabs

Submitted: Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:20
ThreadID: 16187 Views:2344 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
Ive decided to get a dual cab 4x4. Its most practical for me. I am spending 11 grand or a bit more, so 1993-95 models seem to be available for most of the dual cabs out there. What I want to know is which is better between hilux, triton, bravo, rodeo etc etc. How much truth is there to the 'rollux' term, and are the other utes top heavy aswell?? Car will be used just for weekend 4wdving, mostly dunes and beach, but also some drier rutted tracks. Any info on susp setups, fuel ecenomy, experiences with any of these models offroad. I would like to lift the suspension so Independent could be bad? Anyway thanks for your help this is a great forum.

Ryan

Reply By: Member - Spook (SA) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:35

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:35
G'day Ryan
I can only comment on the Hilux of that era. I've got a DX 1991 2.8D with aftermarket turbo. The 2.8 is a fairly solid little motor, just don't epect to get anywhere fast (hence the turbo). I've owed it for about two years and done quite a bit of sand/dune work and never had a problem with it being too top heavy. I've had it at a fairly big angle at Robe and she didn't tip. Personally I went for the Hilux because of popularity, reputation, heaps of spares and accessories available (too many to keep my bank balance up).
As far as suspension goes I haven't lifted mine (havn't seen the need to), I've got 31x10.5 tyres under it which is ample for me. And if you are worried about a fourby being tippy then I wouldn't be going too high.
If you end up with a diesel 2.8 then make sure you keep the oil changes up every 5000 kms and it wont let you down.
Brad
AnswerID: 75967

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:35

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:35
Rodeo is tough as nails although less ground clearance than most of the others. Although it will easily handle the 4wding you have listed. Great engines and diesel was factory turbo.

Hilux is the only ute that ever came with solid axle front end. Not anymore though but it did in the years you mentioned. Supposedly had gutless engines though.

Bravo/Courier not too popular so may be difficult to get aftermarket stuff for.

Don't know about the others.
AnswerID: 75968

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:41

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:41
G,day Ryan,
I had a 91 hilux for a while, 2.8d wasnt too bad on fuel, bit of a slug on the hills, was a bit of a rough ride with the leaf springs, but it would climb a street light if you wanted it to, i drove it anywhere my friends in there 80LC's and Patrols went, i just got sick of the rough ride. And also being a ute you have the problem of dust getting in the back all over the camping gear etc. so i sold it and bought a GQ wagon, a lot more smoother with the coil springs and no more dust in the cargo area. If i needed a vehicle for carting heavy loads, or towing work gear etc. i would definately buy another Hilux, preferably turbo diesel..

Cheer's Paul..
AnswerID: 75969

Reply By: Member - Glen O (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 06:20

Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 06:20
Got a 94 dually Lux 2.8d, climb a tree, won't get done for speeding, fit a snork the motor likes it. Good luck cya
AnswerID: 76010

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 13:53

Saturday, Sep 11, 2004 at 13:53
I've got a 99 Navara 3.2 na diesel. The engine is sluggish although bulletproof, 110 000 on the clock and never loses any oil between changes (5000kms), LSD still works well. I put on Old Man Emu suspension a couple of weeks ago and the ride has improved greatly. I use mine every day as a work vehicle and off road at the weekend and average 12l/100 kms. I've taken it to places that a land cruiser didn't get through (although I've been hung up on places the cruser would sail through) so as long as you know your limitations and drive accordingly a dual cab will get you to most places. I've never noticed mine being top heavy at all.
AnswerID: 76024