Where to next year?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 16:46
ThreadID: 16246 Views:3342 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
Now that work is almost back to a manageable level after our central Australian sojourn it is time to start planning for our upcoming vacations. We have our Christmas holidays for this year resolved and have a month long trip set up for January 2006. The 2005 mid-year two week break is yet to be determined and we have narrowed our destinations down to three, each having in our minds its own list of pros and cons. Our choice is between Broome/Cape Leveque, Bora Bora Tahiti, or Hamilton Island/Airlie Beach Queensland. Do any of our fellow forumites have any suggestions, opinions, facts or experiences which we should take into account prior to committing, taking into account that we will be travelling with a three year old?

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 20:48

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 20:48
Wombat it's a bit hard to take the 4by to Tahiti. LOL

AnswerID: 76238

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:00

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:00
He will need a pretty long snorkel to get to Hamilton as well ...

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 336040

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:34

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:34
I think we could live without the Wombatmobile for a couple of weeks John.
FollowupID: 336110

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:02

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:02
Hamilton Island/Airlie Beach are awsom . But hire a boat in Airlie beach and cruise through all the islands . I did it in October last year , it was amasing
AnswerID: 76243

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 23:02

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 23:02
Once upon a time...a looooong time ago.... I ran the Bar on Daydream Island in the Whitsundays......hmmmmmmmmm...thats when we were all skinny and good looking LOL Yeah I agree with you Eric..a beaut place for a holiday.
FollowupID: 336063

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 00:00

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 00:00
Mate your still a skinny and good looking bloke in my view.

Then again I am booked for an eye test next week. LOL.

FollowupID: 336069

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:02

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:02
Many, many years ago (when I was skinny too) H and I drove to Cairns with a couple of mates and had an absolute ball visiting as many of the islands on the east coast as we possibly could on the way back down, except for Hamilton Island. This was in the early 1980s and places like Green Island and Fitzroy Island were undeveloped, Daydream had only just been completed, and Airlie Beach was little more than a wharf and small airport. A couple of years later we went to Hamilton Island for our honeymoon as it was the premium Whitsunday tourist destination of the time. Nineteen years later it would be interesting to re-visit and see what progress has vested upon to the place. Eric, would it be possible to get some information on the charter company you went through for your boat hire?
FollowupID: 336116

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 16:57

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 16:57
No stress . I am pretty sure I have kept most things . From memory , I went through QYC , make sure you get a nice cat , There is so much room on those things.
FollowupID: 336153

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 07:52

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 07:52
Broome is good if you are happy to sit on the beach all day. With a 3 yo there isn't much else you can do anyway. Why spend 10 grand going to Tahiti when you can go to FNQ? Thats where I'd go.
AnswerID: 76280

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:04

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:04
I think the standard of service may vary slightly between Tahiti and FNQ though Bob.
FollowupID: 336118

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:21

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:21
Two weeks to drive to Broome and back!! You would barely make it.
AnswerID: 76295

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:32

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:32
G'day Al,

We were contemplating flying and hiring OR flying and freighting OR taking the Ghan. Of course the alternative trip to Broome could be twelve months later and could take in Kings Canyon, West MacDonnell Ranges, and a Kimberley/Pilbara loop. Now there's a plan!
FollowupID: 336109

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:10

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:10
Hiya Wombat,

Since Airlie Beach is my home town (lived there 17 years) I reckon I am qualified to comment LOL (plus I also have a 3 year old). Obviously the main attraction with Airlie is the islands and reef rather than the town itself which unfortunately over the years has become a haven for backpackers and young folk, IMHO at the expense of families. Having said that, there's still heaps to see and do on the mainland including the wildlife park, Sat morning markets, great eateries etc etc. The are so many cruises to choose from the mind boggles but I'd choose carefully with the kidlet in mind as some of the yachts and catamarans etc wouldn't be safe enough IMO. Must do is the Fantasea cruise out the Great Barrier Reef which you can catch from Abel Point Mariner or Hamilton Is. Now Hamilton is a family freindly place with a nice swimming beach, pools, dolphins etc but a bit expensive and I reckon 4 or 5 days there would do me.

Have to admit to having a soft spot for Broome and Cape Leveque. Broome is much more laid back than Airlie (just like Airlie 20 yrs ago). Good family activities include Cable Beach, camel rides, crocodile park, oudoor cinema and some cruises including the hovercraft. Cape Leveque has stunning scenery, lovely beaches, good fishing and excellent moderate 4WDriving (worth hiring a 4WD for a day if you don't have your own wheels) etc.

So if I had to choose between Airlie and Broome, these days I'd probably go with Broome. On the other hand, Tahiti certainly has appeal...

:o) Melissa

AnswerID: 76310

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:18

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:18
Thanks for the insight Melissa - in particular the advice on the Fantasea cruise. Is it the
Reefworld cruise which you are suggesting, and if so do you think it would be safe enough for a very inquisitive three year old?

Another question for you if I may. Is there a facility for 4WD vehicle hire at Airlie Beach and are there any worthwhile day trips in the vicinity?

We've decided to see Broome as part of a longer break in the future and so now we are tossing up between Hamilton Island and Bora Bora for next year.
FollowupID: 336119

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:08

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:08
Hi Wombat,

Yes, the trip I was referring to is the Reefworld one. With regards to your littl'n, I wouldn't hesitate to take our 3 yr old on this trip. Travelling in the high-powered cat itself is quite safe as you can travel inside in airconditioned comfort although the decks themselves are well closed-in anyway. Lunch is also served on board. My only concerns would be on the Reefworld pontoon where a child could get into the water in places if your weren't watching carefully. The upper sundeck and the underwater observatory are quite safe. Also, not actually sure but I think the operators provide life jackets for small children if you want one (pay to email them and ask). Either way, our 3 yr old would have a ball and I'm sure yours would too.

Re: 4WDrving around AB...sadly there really isn't too much around although plenty to the south around Mackay, north around Townsville and even out west of Proserpine. There are a few car rental agencies in AB and I'm sure they would hire 4WD's if you wanted one. If you felt like having a poke around in a conventional car a nice quiet day trip would be to head out to Earlando/Dingo Beach/Hideaway Bay (even Sinclair Bay which is lovely but has a short rough access track so better suited to a 4WD). These places are very laid-back, sleepy seaside settlements. You could get lunch at the pub/stores at either Dingo Beach or Earlando. Another day trip could be to head out to Conway NP calling into Cedar Creek Falls, a natural swimming hole/water fall in the rainforest, for a swim/picnic. Peter Faust Dam out past Proserpine is also worth a look.

Hope this is of some help.

:o) Melissa
FollowupID: 336124

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:13

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:13
How does this sound for a plan Melissa?

1. Fly to Hamilton Island and spend seven days there doing all the touristy things like Fantasea etc. From the look of it they have a great kid's club where Kiralee would be able to amuse herself if mum and dad became too boring.

2. Back across to Airlie Beach on the mainland for three or four days(any suggestions for accommodation welcomed), hiring a 4WD to see Earlando/Dingo Beach/Hideaway Bay and Sinclair Bay, as well as Conway NP calling into Cedar Creek Falls and lastly Peter Faust Dam.

3. Hire a 2WD (preferably convertible) and drive down to Maroochydore to stay with friends for a couple of days, incorporating an overnight stop at Rockhampton or even taking our time with a couple of stops in different places if the attractions warrant.

4. Fly home to Melbourne from Brisbane.
FollowupID: 336131