tyre sizes on gq shorty

Submitted: Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 19:54
ThreadID: 16251 Views:2404 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
gday all. am needing a new set of rubber soon, for the last 4 years i have have been running 33's was looking to upgrade to 35's, i have 2 inchs of suspenion lift and 2 inchs of body lift, are 35's going to clear the guards at full articulation and i guess i will have to trim my factory flares yeh! any help would be great cheers.

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 20:54

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 20:54
You will probably get away with it . I am running 35's on my GQ shory . But 4" suspention and 3 " body lift
AnswerID: 76239

Reply By: Pauly - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 20:58

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 20:58
G'day dude me and 4 of my mates all have shortys just recently one has put in 4inch springs i think there 3inch but lift it 4(king springs) $300 he has 35's BF A/t it goes allright in the sand at lancelin but hasnt taken it up mundaring yet i'd say at full articulation it would scrub but not bad, he hasnt got a body lift so it should be the same height as yours but he did replace the flares with the rubber one's.
My other mate has the same springs but the 2inch body lift with 33's theres plenty of room.I'd say go the bigger springs but then depends on what shockies you have may have to change them as well.

Any way Happy Trails

Cheers Paul
AnswerID: 76241

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:59

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 21:59
I ran a 6in lift, 35/40mm body lift and my 33s scrubbed on chassis... 34 JT's (basically genuine 35's) are worse.

To run 35s with that config, you will hvae to trim the lips on the guards, and also 12mm spacers on the control arms on front to move them forward. Have done heaps of GQs with this for 35s.

Why do you need 35's and also you will need re-engineering to be legal for one, adn in WA the laws are as tight as Qld now on large tires I hear on OLimits.

YMMV
AnswerID: 76253

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 08:10

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 08:10
Trucky's right, 35's will touch at full articulation, even with 4inch suspension and body lift, at full stretch you will need to trim guards. Have a couple of mates with shorty GQ's who all have trimmed the guards with 35 BF's, one who runs 37 MTR's looks like his guards almost meet in the middle.
FollowupID: 336075

Follow Up By: James M - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 16:58

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 16:58
Gday Truckster,
I have a GQ with a 2inch suspension lift. Will I fit 33" by 12.5" MTRs without scrubing? Do you know if this is legal in NSW.
If not what is the biggest I can go?
James.
FollowupID: 336154

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:48

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:48
Nope they will hit on compression.

If I remember, Legally 32x11.5s are biggest and will look sweet with 2inch lift.

You can do a body lift if you want, check my page, Gq Patrol.com for instructions on how to do it, its on the left frame... That will give you more clearance in the arches.
FollowupID: 336256