80 Series Diesel or Petrol?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 22:11
ThreadID: 16254 Views:3070 Replies:10 FollowUps:23
Im going to buy an 80 Series and wanted to know what people thoughht of the two in regards to fuel consumption comparisons on the open road and around town, as well as towing a camper trailer.
My impressions so far are that the petrol model may have more pickup but.....

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 22:39

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 22:39
Petrol will have more pickup, no doubt, but at a price, most places are $1.07 at the moment per ltr.

YMMV
AnswerID: 76262

Follow Up By: NOBACKTRACKIN - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 23:10

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 23:10
Thanks for the info.....your statement about fuel price is one of the reasons why I asked because where I live we havent seen the price of fuel Petrol or Diesel below $1.05 in over 2 yrs.
At the moment diesel is around $1.13 and petrol $1.08.
FollowupID: 336066

Reply By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 22:41

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 22:41
Mate

The petrol would be my choice if I could afford the juice. I have never owned one (always wanted one) but several of my friends have the petrol. You will find plenty of info on this forum about fuel figures but the difference is chalk and chese.

The straight diesel is nice to drive too and no slouch either. But, when you start doing 100KPH + your diesel economy really heads downward. Head winds are a killer.

Friends have a 80 series STD diesel. Towed a camper trailer north WA and anything more than 90kph was impossible without a 3km wind up or a down hill slope. Overtaking was obviously a problem. Great vehicle though.

Now, to do the same thing in the petrol by comparison would have meant 110kph no worries and passing no worries. Petrol....worries. Rough guestimate would be about twice the consumption or worse, than the diesel.

Search the archives, plenty of history.
AnswerID: 76263

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:08

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:08
twice the consumption??

Thats a joke right?

factory TD 80 12-14lt per 100km towing 14-16lt
1hz 15-18lt per 100km towing 18-20lt
4.5 petrol 18-20lt per 100km towing 20-25lt

If the peole at www.lcool.org 80 and 100 lists and data from my trips are anything to go by.

Then we have the service costs and intervals which are more often and dearer for the diesel, the higher purchase price of the factory td and diesel vs the petrol.

I did the sums when I got my 78 series new, and couldnt get the diesel to be cheaper overall to run until I had done 140,000km, and that blew out to 240,000km if I wanted to turbo the 1hz so it performed within about 75% of the 4.5 petrol.

I got the petrol, enjoyed driving it, and just smiled every time I put fuel in it ;-)
FollowupID: 336087

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:13

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:13
should of added, a unichip on a 4.5 petrol 80 or 100 will drop consumption to around 14.5 -15lt per 100km also, going by people experiences on the www.lcool.org groups, and my own vehicle, an 80 with unichip, which was turbocharged petrol, it had got 11.2lt per 100km, 14-15lt per 100km around town.

That figure was when we did an economy run with many 80's one sunday, with one factory TD using .5lt less than mine for the same trip, and all the other factory TD's diesels, turbo 1hz's and petrols using more.
FollowupID: 336090

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:07

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:07
Go OffRoad...

I did say rough guestimate mate. There does seem to be a few who agree.

Like, one of the posts says "depends what you do with it"

I think my wife uses a line that, come to think of it!

FollowupID: 336123

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:45

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:45
What you did say was

"Rough guestimate would be about twice the consumption or worse, than the diesel."

Can you show me where the few that agree with that may be?
FollowupID: 336126

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:50

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:50
HAVE A LOOK
FollowupID: 336127

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:01

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:01
I looked, and no where can I see where anyone has agreed with you that consumption would be double or worse.

So can you please show me where anyone has said that? ..... if anywhere......
FollowupID: 336129

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:34

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:34
Go off Road..

You should just call yourself GO OFF!

Your very anal about your petrol consumption, aren't you? There's no need to justify anything to me so whay you ask for so much from me is misdirected.

I thought I clarified things with the 'GUESTIMATE' reply but maybe you don't understand the word. It's ball park figure, not meant to be 100% on the mark.

My original post was MY experience as yours is yours! I can understand that. Anyway, in reply to your last.... here's the best I can do for now...

STITCH mentions hearing consumption up to 20L/100k.

FOZZY talks about realistic towing fiqures being WORSE than 20L/100k

MOOSE talks about 16/17 MPG not even towing.

REMEMBER, WE'RE TALKING ABOUT TOWING!!!!!!

I can recall a post about a year ago where a couple of people mention economy of around 45L/100k in a petrol cruiser while towing. I guess it depends what your towing. Would you agree with that?

Hope this clears up some grey areas for you. If not, please don't bother getting up me any more because its all a bit silly really.
FollowupID: 336157

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:41

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:41
Still doesnt show the few you say agreed with you, did you make that bit up too? it was a simple question, which you have now got all defensivve about answering, so, for the 3rd time, can you please show me who agree's with you that they would use double the fuel or more???

Or, does your reply, now means the petrol in your guesstimate uses twice as much as diesel, or more, but you cant find anyone who agree's with you?
FollowupID: 336159

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:48

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:48
Dear Forrest GUMP.

I really thought I just covered that.

But I can see you don't.

Maybe your the one getting all defensive.? WHO CARES.

For the sake of wearing out my keyboard, You can say your the winner and tell all your friends. Now go away.

Oh, in fairness I do think the petrols are better to own. But I think I mentioned that. Hope you don't want me to Justify that comment by having someone back me up. I can't be bothered looking.
FollowupID: 336161

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 18:10

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 18:10
OK,
thanks for the clarification, at least we know who's pants it is we can smell burning .........

now,

Your first post you say was your experience
quote "Rough guestimate would be about twice the consumption or worse, than the diesel. "

where you say your first post was your experience
"My original post was MY experience as yours is yours!"

But perhaps you could comment on the consumption you have "guesstimated" [your term] being "your experience" [quote "My original post was MY experience as yours is yours!"] as per your post, because even if those few you mentioned dont exist, you could at least let us know some figures on when your experience showed you used twice as much petrol or worse??

FollowupID: 336165

Reply By: stitch - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 02:13

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 02:13
G'day,
I average 12-13L/100km with my '91 80 series turbo diesel. I decided on a T/D as a comprimise between power and economy. My cousin has a petrol 80 series which has plenty of go, but chews a bit more juice than the diesel. He averages 14-15L/100km and I have heard of them drinking up to 20L/100km whilst towing.
AnswerID: 76274

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 06:11

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 06:11
Hi NOBACKTRACKIN:

I have a '91 diesel (non-turbo) and did a trip around the Cameron Corner area with a mate who has a petrol model. At most fuel stops where I was loading up around $60 in diesel, he was filling up with $90 of unleaded. Pretty significant for the trip.

Both vehicles were well loaded, but I had a roof rack, and he did not have one.

I am happy to sit on 100 kpms per hour on most trips. When it is loaded up I really don't wan to to go much faster. His was nippier over the hills, but I was not left stranded, just used the gears. I was also more comfortable on a couple of water crossings. Mine has a snorkel.

Performance is not a major issue with me - getting there is. I am happy with the diesel.

I guess this will add to the confusion ; )

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 76275

Reply By: fozzy - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 07:44

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 07:44
go t/d anyday if can find one with reasonable km and price
also for towing camper t/d much stronger on hills
had 4.5 petrol 1994 and towing trailer had to drop back gears to try and maintain speed up slight slopes(not hills) on open highway
fuel consumption realistically for petrol will be much higher than 20l/100km towing camper and round 20l/100 round town whereas diesel from memory think mate was getting about 13 to 14l/100 both manuals
AnswerID: 76278

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:26

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:26
2 guys I know just got an 80 each a little while ago, for the same $ one got a 92 1hdt factory turbo GXL with 220k km, the other got a 97 4.5 petrol GXL with 90k km.

With the extra filters and more frequent servicing, as well as the extra km, any fuel saving of the TD will only make the 97 petrol more attractive for half the km, and the later model with more options, bigger brakes etc the 95+ had over the pre 95.

For an extra 10-20k on top of the 97 petrol GXL price you could get a factory TD 95-97 1hdft,[if you can find one] which still doesnt perform as well as the petrol, with less kw and fraction more torque, but its really only personal preference, with things like diesel on your hands when filling, and on the fround around the bowser, getting it on your shoes, and the extra cost of rebuilding a diesel [2-3 X petrol] should something go wrong, or water injestion etc, unless you were doing 75,000km + per year.

Since the inseption of the GQ and 80, with the pump and injector changes, they re now not the long term no maintenance item they use dto be with pump and injectors required at 100-150,000km intervals, with the 80 diesels around the $2200-$3000 for this to be done, deduct a set of leads, and 2 sets of spark plugs from that, and you still get over 2000lt of petrol out of that, which on average consumption, is another 20,000km, [aprox] so, do the sums, and then get what you want ;-)
FollowupID: 336096

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 18:49

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 18:49
I agree with you off-road BAN ALL DIESELS and for those who see diesel spilt on the ground around you fuel station bowser, take a digital pic and send it to your local federal member and demand action.

It is an election year you know..
FollowupID: 336171

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 20:49

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 20:49
Looks like more burning pants in this thread, only yours this time brett H, as I dont think I said BAN ALL DIESELS anywhere but here quoting you, hence, you must either be having trouble agreeing with something I didnt say, or trying to put some spin doctoring into what ever point it is you wish to make from what has been said?
FollowupID: 336187

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:02

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:02
Sorry goof_froad I must have rad between the wrong lines.
FollowupID: 336197

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:22

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:22
GO_OFFROAD Sorry . editing the above spelling error .
FollowupID: 336199

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 08:15

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 08:15
Gday mate,

Depends on what you want to do. Towing with trailer, fully loaded and doing 10,000 k's, petrol would kill you unless you obviously had the cash and if you did, I'd be getting the 100 TD cruiser.

I'm a diesel man the whole way, but you have to weigh up the percentage of driving, if it's going to be all play or 90% town work. If it is 90% town work, a non-hairdryed diesel is a brick on wheels and quite frustrating.

On the open road, towing a camper I would much prefer a diesel and a turbo one at that if possible, makes driving much more enjoyable when you see that 26 kilometre sign of winding up hill driving.

cheers,

chris.
AnswerID: 76284

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:00

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:00
But in that 10,000km, you have had 2 serives in the diesel, and one in the petrol, and after 4 times [40,000km service] you spend about $400 more than a petrol service as well, plus the 4 in between.

Now over 10,000km we will go worst figures Ive seen quoted at 25lt per 100km for the 4.5 which would make 2500lt of petrol, at an average of say $1.15 per litre = $2875.00

Now, diesel using 16lt per 100km for same trip would use 1600 lt, and if we average the same price for it that = $1840

Now, if we add the extra service at $350, plus half the 20k km service for the extra fuel filter which is $40 odd, = $2230 which is $645 less than the diesel, on a 10,000km trip say 4 weeks travelling, you have spent $160 a week more on a once a year trip for most people, if they didnt spend the extra the diesel vehicle costs to start with, didnt pay 6c a litre more for diesel, like the price here at the moment and if the petrol got the normal 20lt per 100km, then that would be less than $100 difference to the diesel for that one trip with servicing etc.
FollowupID: 336128

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:26

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:26
Hey Go offroad,

Wow, you really do like your petrols don't you mate!

Well, I say each to their own, but if I have a snorkel on a diesel, and go up to the wheel wells in a crossing, at least I know I don't need to dry up afterwards and/or fit a tarp to the bullbar.

What you seem to forget as well is that a petrol as well as normal servicing needs tuning in between plugs and dizzy's etc etc. A diesel will go 100,000k's before the injectors need doing.

Further, my Diesel, if properly maintained in accordance with your schedule above will do around 600-800 thousand k's, around 3 times the age of your petrol. At that point, I can replace the motor but most likely will just trade. In fact, I know of one fellow who has just ticked over 1,000,000 k's on his 1988 GQ Patrol TD42 and has only done 3 clutches, usual service replacements and serviced every 10,000 k's. If that's not good, I don't know what is.

My neighbour who owns a 4.5 80 series towed a 21 foot van and got an average of 3.8ks the Litre on a trip up to Cooktown, and back and that was after a service, new leads, plugs tune etc. So, it all depends on the driver, the weather, tyre pressures, the trip, what your towing, the fuel, and age of vehicle.
FollowupID: 336134

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 16:26

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 16:26
If you re read my post you will see I allowed for the service intervals of plugs and points in my sums, with leads changed as required and plugs at 50k km.

The sums predict in 800k km, [petrols are good for 600,000km + looked after] 8 x $2300 pump/injector service = $18,400 where as 8 times petrol plugs and points = $4200, which leaves alot of petrol to buy with the change, or at least 2 rebuilds.

3.8km per litre is 26.3 lt per 100km, so my 25lt per 100km comparison was probably unfair to the petrol, but my figures are all sums I have done when I have purchased a new 4wd, and the one I have at the moment is the first time I have got the TD, over the petrol, which i wont do again.

I have also taken consumption figures from the datatbases and emails from all the www.lcool.org lists where members have filled in the consumption figures with tyre sizes, acc fitted, towing or not, roof rack etc etc.

Its not that I like petrol, Its that I dislike misinformation, thats why my posts here are based on fact, not what I think. ;-)
FollowupID: 336150

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 21:01

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 21:01
Go off road , did you say you had a turbo 4.5 ? if yes . I would like to chat to you about it . i have a kit to fit on mine and i am in 2 minds . Would be nice to chat with someone who has run one .
FollowupID: 336190

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:35

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:35
email me darrenm@bigpond.net.au if you like, happy to answer questions.
FollowupID: 336226

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:36

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:36
I have owned both - first a standard diesel and now a petrol 80. Switched to petrol as I was sick and tired of the diesel slug around town. We only own the one vehicle so it has to cover all duties (from running kids to school, shopping, annual outback holidays, 4WD club outings etc). The petrol serves it's multi purpose role very well. As far as fuel goes it certainly uses more than the diesel did - the diesel used to get about 21 mpg on trips, the petrol about 16/17 mpg. In real 4WD situations (use of low range) and around town the diesel didn't change much but the petrol certainly uses significantly more than on the open road.
Haven't had a turbo diesel so can't comment on them, but I imagine they might just be a good compromise - better economy and reasonable get up and go.
If we had a second family car and only needed the 4WD for say touring and club trips etc I'd certainly go diesel. It was the around town aspect that really got to me with the diesel. Whilst the petrol uses more fuel around town at least I can keep up with traffic now.
AnswerID: 76320

Reply By: Member - Mark (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:04

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:04
Depends on what you want to do and personal preference. I have owned both and travelled with people with both types.

I much prefer the diesel. It has better engine braking than any of the petrols I've driven. Better fuel economy on road and particulary off road. A diesel can just chug away whilst a petrol needs more engine revs to get the power and hence more fuel consumption. A petrol is quicker off the mark but not by much compared to my intercooled turbo. I've never had problems overtaking. A bit slower in a diesel but can normally do it in 5th gear with ease. Faster acceleration also means a thirstier engine and lower fuel economy anyway. (I normally drive VY SS commodores or XR8 falcons so I notice a big change in get up and go. But then again, I also had to fill up with 180 litres of petrol to drive only 400 kms in the SS too. Luckily I don't have to pay for the fuel)

I also have memories of travelling with a new Sahara petrol where we spent most of the time towing it or waiting on it due to break downs. It had problems with the fuel pump over 30 degree inclines and the engine would starve/stall. It would also have problems with water entering the electrics and killing the engine during some river crossings that were about 3-4 feet deep. I also had problems with water in electrics in my own petrol 4x4's that I have owned over the years.

For city driving I'd use a petrol for convience and to zip in and out of traffic easier. For touring or off road driving, I'd go diesel all the time.

My 2 cents worth.
AnswerID: 76402

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:18

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:18
you said
"A diesel can just chug away whilst a petrol needs more engine revs to get the power and hence more fuel consumption"

Now, my 4.5 petrol 78 series standard made more torque at 800rpm, than the 1hz diesel version make in total....

And the more grunt you have, the less throttle you need to do the same thing, so, it becomes more fuel efficient, if set up correctly.

I also got better economy out of my VU hsv R8 and around the same as my prado TD out of my VY2 HSV R8, with ALOT more grunt, so i think a gen 3 may be the way to improve my prado's performance, and keep some economy, if going the L85 auto adapted to the prado [hilux] transfer case.

Anyone want to buy a 1kz-te and 5 sp box, 40k km?
FollowupID: 336292

Reply By: Skinny- Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:31

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:31
The sound of a Diesel motor takes me back to my childhood and my love of big trucks. I have not grown up and by the time I do we will drive battery powered Prado's.
I will continue to feel guilty for the polution but secretly love the sound of the truck at idle.

See you off the road

Skinny
AnswerID: 76409

Follow Up By: Member - NewMan (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:05
I'm with you Skinny. The only thing I would add to improve the sound is an exhaust brake. Just don't know how or where to fit one.

Would help with compression braking on downhill runs too.

Tony.
FollowupID: 336243

Reply By: Member - Mark (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:46

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:46
Don't be guilty about the pollution. It's a fact that newer model diesel engines produce less emmissions that petrol motors.

AnswerID: 76412