100 series gear box troubles
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 14:36
Larry01
Can anyone help ???. I am having trouble with the gear box in my 2000 model 100 series auto petrol. When I go to put my foot down to pass or accelerate the gear box will not drop back a gear as it should. I can manual drop it back no worries. I took it to the local Toyota dealer but they tried to tell me it was tyre problem ??????? It is a intermittent problem, only once at normal operating temperature and does not occur all the time. A mate suggest it needs the drop down cables adjusted but if this was the case wouldn't it happen all the time ???? Any help appreciated
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:00
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:00
I am not familiar with that gearbox but wouldn't it be electronic? And not have drop down cables? I wish
mine wouldn't drop back! LOL The diesel doesn't like high revs! Starts to pull and then wamo she's back a gear DOUH!
Perhaps you should get the oil and filter changed on the gearbox, I know my missus falcon was playing up somthing bad at just under 100,000 kms, it kept hanging on to gears way to long and would'nt change back when it should, turned out the oil had apparantly "burnt" and was no longer any good.
Reply By: Nanky - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:03
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:03
Hi Larry - Give Wholesale Automatics in Bayswater (Vic) a call 03 9762-8004 or e-mail them at:
http://www.automatictransmission.com.au/orto.asp
They seem to be quite the experts on Toyota autos fro what I have read and others comments.
Follow Up By: Larry01 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:44
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:44
Thanks Nanky I will drop them a line and see what they have to say
Larry
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:05
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:05
Have you had your gearbox serviced by a proper gearbox place - not yota..??
Follow Up By: Larry01 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:50
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:50
Can anyone recommend a a good auto guy in QLD. I am in Bundy but happy to go to Brisabne if required
Larry
Reply By: GUPatrol - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:36
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 15:36
Aren't manuals good, I drop
mine a gear whenever "I" want not whenever "it" wants, same for traction control, I can choose when the diff lock should be engaged...!
Disclaimer, above comment is tongue in cheek...
Your g'box does not have a kickdown cable but the electronics do take a measurement from a temperature sensor, if the gearbox is too cold (ie early in the morning on first start) it will not go into overdrive and it will not kick down, it will drive in "moderate mode", once the g'box warms up then it changes to normal operating mode...
It could be that the temp sensor is faulty.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:34
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 17:34
There is a measurement the Toyota manual has for the kick down cable, you could check this against the actual, however, i second the above email about Rodney and wholesale automatics, you can also ask on the 100 series list at www.lcool.org, as he is on that frequently. It might be something simple like a temperature sensor loose wire, these boxes are usually problem free....By the way, is it a 4 speed or 5??
Follow Up By: INTENSE Offroad - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:47
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:47
Hello im Adrian form INTENSE Offroad. we are in the final stages of development for a modification which allows the automatic gearboxes to be driven like a manual. gear changes can be held and controlled completely by the driver by a toggle switch on the gear stick. for more information on the due dates for this product release call INTENSE Offroad on (08) 8294 2325,
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:04
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:04
Gday Adrien
Sounds good to me, but doesnt help the author of the thread, plese start a new thread on it, and i will have a thousand questions waiting...like can you lock and unlock the converter manually, etc.
Follow Up By: Larry01 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:59
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:59
Hi Dozer it is a 4 speed auto and has been trouble free until now
Larry
Reply By: govo - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:30
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:30
O NO...not another 100 series problem..