You are not going to believe this but........
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:10
Willem
I bought a set of Cooper STT and steel rims today. 265/75x16
Will be keeping the Kelly's and alloys for bitumen trips.
The trailer still has 750x16 skinny's though :-)
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:24
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:24
Newies Willie...or did you get them as a job-lot?
STTs will wear a bit faster than STs, but better in the rough stuff
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:39
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:39
Newbies mate...sucked a great big Black Hole in to the bank account...hahahaha....Will see how they perform in the Flinders and in
the desert.
Reply By: mr diamond - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:32
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:32
good choice for your needs willem.
coopers and a nissan dosnt get better than that
cheers mate
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:41
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:41
Cheers Jim...thanks for the encouragement. Can only try these things out and see how they go....
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:19
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:19
Jim I wont be able to make it Thurs night, but if you let me know at gwbarbyat powercordot comdot au where you are at say 1500 Thurs I'll call by for a chat.
GWB
Follow Up By: Glenno - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 23:52
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 23:52
Coopers and anything - doesnt get better than that :)
Follow Up By: Glenno - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 23:52
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 23:52
Be it beer or tyres :)
Reply By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:57
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:57
now your learning , lol buy buy buy lol
the 35's look the goods bud
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:13
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:13
Pretty impressive Rig Pic mate LOL I was there!!!
Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:00
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:00
Hi Willem
Did not think you would need the trailer now with the big Pootrol.
or did I read somewhere you will use it to sleep in.
Was good to see you got back home from Vic. OK, just takes time to recover from a long day behind the wheel.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:12
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:12
Hi Bernie
The trailer is what was left over of ancient history. Still use it now and then to cart stuff around but will probably flog it. Was feeling pretty buggered today but still managed to fit the winch and a few other small jobs.
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:07
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:07
Willem on Coopers!
Unbelieeeeevable!
Muddy 'doe
Reply By: sub - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:57
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 23:57
willem , putting 285/75/16 st coopers on my gu in 2 weeks time ,when they get them in stock in
perth.same thing ,went thru all the b/s at the tyre shops.will make up my own mind after they go on.have had all the other brands over the years on 4x4 and trucks so may aswell try coopers.
cheers sub.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:21
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:21
Go Willem!
what was the factor in buying STT's? they were there?
They wear out real quick, but grip
well apparently.
The wear factor is the main thing that puts me off them :( but
yea few mates use them with smiles on their face... :)
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:18
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:18
Seeing as I now have tubeless tyres I decided to get some agressive tread pattern tyres for some rough terrain out in the Flinders. Had to order them in through my local tyre bloke. The rims arrived today but then we had to order a new set of wheel nuts. The
wheels should all go on tomorrow. The rims arrived in boxes marked Toyota. On talking with the company were told that Speedy rims for Toyota/Nissan are the same.
Will see about the wear...I suppose it depends on ones driving style :-)
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:04
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:04
Handy tip - the wheel nuts on the spare wheel carrier dont fit the car - or so Ive been told, so dont plan on them being spares!
They will be Toyota Offset, which is good. They are same as Nissan. 80/GQ same rims.
Now fit em up and Into it MR!!!!
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:18
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:18
G'day Truckster
The set of wheel nuts which came with the alloys on the truck are all identical including the sparewheel nuts. Trouble is the suppliers of the new nuts will only send a wheel set, I bet. Nuts did not arrive today but will be here tomorrow but I am somewhere else then sooooooo the tyres will be fitted on Saturday.
BTW the wheel nuts of all Patrols are the same from the G60 through to the GU
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 12:55
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 12:55
Mate, you must be good for a loan! ;-)...
well, probably better to have asked you yesterday...
Good on ya mate, you'll find the Kelly's good for quiet blacktop trips and the hum of the Coopers satisfying on the dirt.
Chris.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:05
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:05
I reckon he will get a billion lightklms out of his kellys, they are as hard as steel!
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:21
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:21
Your right there trucky, got a mate with kelly's and he's done about 110 thousand k's on them and theres still around 6mm tread!
Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 18:56
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 18:56
as said b4 a NISSAN and a set of COOPERS!
good job Willem.
the work continues on single-handedly paying off the national debt on accessories for the new toy then???
lol
good to hear from you
the toonies
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:28
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:28
Hi Toonies
Unfortunately the money tunnel has run out and I have to stick with what I have got for the time being...looks good though
Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:26
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:26
Hi Willem
It's really terrific and enlightening to watch your progress with bringing your rig up to your preferred position. I suspect that you will almost need a new rig pic each week....obviously a very committed "good women" behind you. Does she have a sister?? Good on you and enjoy!! Cheers
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:22
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:22
Hi Luxolux
Should be able to put a completed Rig Pic up by Saturday. Yeah going from stone age to space age with the new fitout :-)
Unfortunately the "good woman" does not have a sister and if she had had one you would most likely have to call her Auntie....hahahahahaha