winch rope to replace cable
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:30
rolande
Two questions. First off, an anyone provide some feedback on the plusses / minusses of changing from which cable to wich rope.
Secondly, for those who use winch rope, can you provide approximate cost per metre and if possible any retailers in
Melbourne who can provide good service / advice on winch rope.
Any thoughts appreciated
Rolande
Reply By: Member - Mark (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:43
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 22:43
I was in ARB the other day and they had it. I think it was around $300 for 30metres. Not sure on the price thou and I don't remember what the rating was.
Haven't used winch rope myself but I know it floats, it's lighter, it doesn't have broken strands/barbs that can stick your hands/fingers like wire cable can.
It possibly wears out more when rubbing against rocks or hard surfaces while winching? It may be weakened by fuel/oil contamination like snatch straps or other webbed/woven materials?
Just some thought that come to mind. No proof. Just initial thoughts.
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:32
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:32
$10 seems about the going rate, thanks for the reply
Reply By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 07:09
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 07:09
Yes Rolande you can get it from ARB. It's called Plasma Winch Rope, heaps better to use than the cable, does'nt kink, squash when it over laps under tension, and best of all for the same length its about a 1/5 lighter.
You do need to treat it with a bit more care, keep it clean from mud and sand and it will last the life of the winch.
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:33
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:33
Thanks for reply, will follow-up
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 07:45
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 07:45
Good stuff old mate, but easily damaged by abrasion over rocks etc. My local 4WD supplier reckons that yobbos like me are better off keeping to wire, but maybe you'd take better care of it. It's certainly very impressive and amazingly light.
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:34
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:34
Funny that, the question was for the TD5 Ute friend, time to replace the cable so I suggested the rope, was a bit sceptical so I thought i would pass on info from the
forum.
GUESS WHAT, the 110 search may be over!!!!!!!!!!
rolande
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:09
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:09
Eeeehaaa
PM more info
Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:07
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:07
Hi rolande . I bought a winch cable from a chain and cable supplier (in
brisbane)and it was 8mm x 40 mts(proper winch cable) with a thimble on one end and it cost me $140. I guess at that price i could have a spare one in the back of the troopy . In short i dont know how 4x4 retailers can justify there price . Look in the yellow pages under Lifting equipment sub catagory chains and chain equipment .
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:30
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:30
Thanks Glenno,
Would think these guys cheaper than 4WD
places, couple of prices i found today were between $10 - $13 dollars per metre so your stuff
well priced
thanks
Rolande
Reply By: Mick - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:20
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:20
Bare in mind the steel cable will outlast the plasma rope, which is affected by ultraviolet light like all synthetic ropes. Unless your into winch challenges, the steel rope is the best bet.
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:35
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:35
Mick,
Thanks, was looking for both sides, one i hadn't thought of
Rolande
Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:46
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:46
Plasma rope is safer. If it breaks it has no recoil. Also if it breaks you can splice it back together. It's light and easy to carry as you spool out. Have to make sure your fairlead rollers are smooth as old cable worn rollers can damage the rope.
Leroy
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:36
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:36
thanks for reply
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 09:04
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 09:04
1) it is expensive stuff.
2) As Roscoe said it gets damaged by dragging it over rocks which you usually do going up hills etc to get to a tree.
3) usually a gay purple color.. ;)
1) lighter and easier to drag up a
hill than wire - THE WIFE CAN DO IT EASIER!
2) doesnt coil up when you remove it from the spooler
3) looks kewl
Try any of the major 4b
places
Rod at Total4wd in Epping
Sandy at Aus4wd in Bayswater
4WD Workshop Frankston
EUREKA OFF ROAD ACCESSORIES Dandenong
Cheezy at Cheezy Racing
ARB Sthn
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:38
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:38
Will add these to my "must go and visit" list. Mate who has the winch reakons keep it rough - wife doesn't want to got then! Each to their own
Rolande
Reply By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:16
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:16
Be aware that low mount
winches use the steel cable to dissipate heat from the drum (where the brake is located), heat also dissipates this way from the motor itself.
Warn will void all winch warranty if a low mount is used with plasma rope.
On high mount
winches it is suitable because the brake is separate and so is the motor.
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:39
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:39
Will be fitted to an X-9, any thoughts on these?
Rolande
Reply By: hoyks - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:39
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:39
As said above the drum on low mounts can get hot and plasma rope dosen't like excess heat.
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:39
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:39
Thanks for reply
Rolande
Reply By: madcow - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 11:10
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 11:10
this link may be of assistance
http://www.masterpull.com/
dave
Follow Up By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 11:44
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 11:44
Good site explains all the myths when using this rope.
Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:18
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:18
Good site.
The heat protected rope is OK for the rope but does not protect the winch from overheating due to lack of heat dissipating body (the steel rope).
Low mount
winches have been designed to use the cable as part of the cooling "fins".
Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:40
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:40
Thanks, will check out
Rolande
Follow Up By: cj - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:24
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:24
It's not low mounts as such but low mounts with internal brakes that have overheating issues with plasma rope. A low mount with external brake should be fine.
Reply By: pjd - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 20:43
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 20:43
i have been to the outback chalenge & seen many plasma ropes break but never seen cable brake plasma is much safer & easier to use but doesnt last as long sand grit & dirt get into it & cut the fibres