GU Suspension Failure
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:24
tolch
Has anyone had problems breaking the rear top spring mounts on their GU's. I have just come back from my yearly trip away over, what some would call, demanding roads and discovered the rear right-hand top spring mount is tearing away from the chassis. OK, so I have heavy-duty springs, shockers, and Polyair bags fitted, but for those who travel the Outback regularly, who doesn't. The vehicle has done 63K kilometers of which about 25K has been on unsealed roads. Disappointing to say the least, given the vehicle has been used for what it was designed for (or so you hope). The issue is currently with Nissan as my warranty is still current but early indications are the (Nissan) may not come to the party. It's curious though. In the seven days since the problem was discovered and after talking to people generally in the 4x4 business, I have come across two other instances of this failure occurring. One person has suggested Nissan are aware of design flaws but are keeping quiet about it, given 95% of all 4x4's are Toorak tractors (no disrespect to those who genuinely need a 4x4).
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:32
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:32
check out here, http://
forum.patrol4wd.org/phpBB2/
it has been reported before.
Reply By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:34
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:34
Back a month or so, someone posted a similar and a few responded with the same problem, so yes it has been a problem. Maybe with just a certain batch of vehicles
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:58
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:58
yes,
reasonably common, and a carry over problem from the GQ, which bent up, but the GU seems to crack them.
the outer edge of the spring bracket needs support, and can be done with a steel brace across the chassis over the top of the spring mounts.
This stops them bending up and tap tap tapping on the floor as they start to go ;-)
Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:20
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:20
It's quite common and more so when you use heavy duty coils. Think about it, if the spring is stiffer and not compressing then something has got to eventually give. The stock springs probably wouldn't cause a prob as they are light and soft.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:28
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:28
Well that's great; so what do you do when the standard springs aren't up to the job and you are forced to fit heavier coils, etc to stop the arse dragging when you add a few axtra KGs and you end up with front tyres scrubbing.
My Prado dropped 50 mm from standard just with drawers, a Tirfor and a few items of recovery gear. Both fuel tanks weren't full either.
Wizard
Darwin NT
Prado TD
Reply By: Happy GU Owner - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:27
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:27
tolch
I have heard all of these stories before, starting with the rear
suspension spring towers in the GQ, and now with the GU, and I used to be paranoid about the same thing happening to my vehicles, but over the 12 or so years, I have had Patrols, with 3 years living and travelling constantly out of
Alice Springs, have never had any problems at all, but I have always had the right
suspension setup for the right application.
When I bought my latest Patrol, I talked to all the
suspension blokes about their recommendations and setups for heavily loaded vehicles.
According to my local
suspension expert, the only time the spring towers present a problem with breaking mounts and the like, is when you use Polyairs or the equivalent product, with heavily loaded vehicles, as it prevents the spring from taking the shock load from the constant pounding of the
suspension, and thus the shock load is then transmitted to the top of the spring tower, in turn causing it to break.
This normally rears it's head with cab chassis vehicles, as they more often are heavily loaded than wagons.
I asked my
suspension expert whether polyairs, or their equivalent products, were worthwile getting installed, for my latest application.At the moment, I often travel lightly loaded for my work, but load up for the weekends, and I received a resonding NO.
In short - get rid of the polyairs, and get the right springs for the job.
Mic
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:29
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:29
Nice answer mate, makes perfect sense...
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:35
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:35
"... always had the right
suspension setup for the right application."
That says it all I reckon.
Most issues would be from carrying 8 ton in the car and not modifying to suit
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:02
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:02
On the same token an extra stiff spring will have the a similar effect to the polly air.
Leroy
Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:09
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:09
Leroy,
Extra stiff springs will have a similar effect over a longer term, however a stiffer spring will still absorb a sudden impact progressively, polyairs on the other hand do not allow for that...
Check out air springs in buses and trucks they have a progressive cone where the pressure is built up into the air bag progressively and allows absorbing the sudden impact... polyairs are just a cylinder, once air is compressed to a certain degree it will push the weakest point (in this case the tower)...
Some people reinforce the towers but there is no need if you use progressive springs and no polyairs...
Follow Up By: Happy GU Owner - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:19
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:19
Leroy,
It would probably be alright if you could only use a p___air without the appropriate spring to hold it in place. It is the COMBINATION of the heavy duty spring and the brick, oops, I mean p___air bag which causes the problems.
Buses and trucks use airbag
suspension, without springs and it has no unwanted side affects that I am aware of, and many, many, in fact heaps of people, including me, use heavy duty springs on their own with no problems at all.
On my latest vehicle, I am trying out progressive rate heavy duty, King's springs, as suggested by my
suspension supplier, even though there are also stories out saying that progressive rate springs don't last. Remember, springs are cheap,
suspension towers are not !!
Mic
Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:53
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:53
Which brings into play another factor which is the total weight of the vehicle (GVM)when it is loaded with all your accessories, equipment, fuel,
water and passengers for the trip in question.
If it is over the GVM as stated by Nissan then they are not liable, it is you the owner who has exceeded the stated design parameters, voiding the warranty and probably your registration and insurance.
I'd
hazard a guess that nearly 100% of 4wd stationwagons that are loaded and on outback roads in holiday periods would be laden in excess of the GVM when leaving on long trips in remote areas.
The ones with camper trailers on the back off the bitumen are probably also exceeding the off road towing capacity of their vehicle as
well.
Manufacturers towing capacities are usually for bitumen road/good smooth dirt only.
Reply By: Member - Raymond - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:10
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:10
Hi Tolch
I have a GU with heavier (but not the thickest available) back springs fitted as
well as Polyairs and have not had a problem. Discussed it with the Nissan dealer before fitting. One of the problems is that some of the spring setup are too thick so the when spring compressors it becomes solid as the axle comes up before the bump stop comes into play, this put extra pressure on the spring towers. We have travelled 60000klms many of them off road with the camper on with no problems. I have 15lb pressure in the polyairs.
Ray
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:13
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 16:13
As an observation only, the whole thing must be all about loadings as several contributors have said - just what can the spring mount be exected to withstand ? There must be a reasonable limit - assuming that 2/3 of a trip load goes on the rear of the car, re-rated springs might be the best idea - polyairs don't actually do the same thing far as I can see. On the fuel component, one bloke in this
forum was talking fuel
tank combos around the mid 250 L I think - if all the other trip gear goes in, and most of the extra is born at the rear, can the
suspension be expected to cope ? I'm prone to taking a lot of "just in case" crap with me - I choose the camper trailer option - allows me to spread the load across 6
wheels. I reckon there is merit in the idea to forget fuel pricing, and just have a capacity to do the town to town jumps.......carrying excess fuel for price advantage might be costlier, re tyres etc.
Reply By: NissanofOld - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:35
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 17:35
Perhaps one additional thought. Many also pump up their tyres to quite high pressures, to compensate when they’ve overloaded their 4WD . Tyres contribute to the
suspension and overly high pressures will add to the strain that the
suspension will have to cope with. So with a combination of very stiff
suspension, overloading and high tyre pressures, is it any wonder that something eventually gives?
Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:10
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:10
I had the same prob as you . Made up a couple of brackets that go down from the tray to the outside of the tower and give it some suport . Havent had a prob since i did it and its dun a lot of offroad Ks .I still keep a check on it through . If you,r around
Perth , you could take a drive up up here and take a look at what i did to get some idea,s . Cheers.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:28
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:28
Tolch
I had a problem of towers pushing up at 13k kms ans so had Nissan push or belt them down. Belted I think, was under warranty but I then had a 1/2" by 8" plate over the top of the towers side to side and bolted into place. I took some photos of the plates when they were new and can forward them but you would need to strengthen the tower too after getting it back to place. If you wanted a copy my email is with the rig pic.
I had Polyairs on from new and have since fitted heavier springs too but really the combination of exceeding GVM and speed over rougher conditons will provide the problems. You may not even need to exceed GVM - just be up close with high speed.
As to what is not progressive in a Polyair against a progressive rate spring? I would say nothing - as you have a higher weight on already and the progressive part of the spring is already compressed and taking the higher shock load into the spring tower.
Reply By: Michael_FNQ - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 23:23
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 23:23
I have seen this problem but only on vehicles that were loaded way above GVM. Doubt that Nissan would warrant this as it is caused directly by overloading. I strongly agree with the theory that polyair make the problem worse, as you go on full compression they will place a massive load on the towers rather than the constant rate load that heavy coil will.
Everyone see to be happy to ignore the fact that vehicle do have a rated GVM and that is supposed to be the max. legal weight for the vehicle. Sure you can safely run a vehicle above this figure but can anyone tell me at what point you cross the line to be excessively overloaded!