Bravo on fraser

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:08
ThreadID: 16299 Views:2709 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
Hello People

I am new to 4wding and have just bought myself a 2001 Bravo duel cab turbo Diesel (60 00K) I am planning a trip to Fraser for the 1st time and was hoping to get a bit of info. my specific questions are:

1) Do you need low range when 1st getting off the Barge I am planning to leave from Inskip Point?

2) When driving on the Hard sand at low tide should I keep 4wd engaged and the hubs locked ? the manual says this will increase my fuel consumption and make a noise ????

Any other info on the TD Bravo's or Fraser would be greatly appreciated....

(I am an experienced Camper and have looked into that aspect)

Many thanks.......

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:22

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:22
Hi Sully,

I have a petrol 97 Rodeo. Similar mechanicals to your brave (apart from fuel).

1. You may need low 2nd getting off the barge on Fraser if it is high tide. As you would be getting off on to soft sand. However if it is low tide you will be fine in H4 1st. You would most likely be fine getting off the barge using whatever you used to get on it on the Inskip side. No doubt you would have already dropped your tyre pressures to 20psi or so whe getting on to the beach on the Inskip side.

2. I leave the hubs locked in at all times when on the beach. However on the hard pack sand at low tide it is fine to use H2. Just don't forget to push it into H4 before you driving through soft patches. Saves embarrasment LOL. Sure driving with the hubs locked while in H2 will increase fuel consumption slightly but not very noticabley and it makes life much easier.

Have fun. It is a great place to go.
AnswerID: 76527

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:24

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:24
1. A good idea, if for no other reason than it's good insurance if you're not up to speed on sand driving.

2. See 1 above ... knock it out of 4WD but keep the hubs locked. Forget about fuel ecconomy ... you're on hols. Forget about noise ... you won't hear it over the surf.

3. Enjoy your trip.

AnswerID: 76528

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:45

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:45
I had a 91 Bravo for about 9 years - Don't worry about fuel - just use the 4WD all the time in the sandy stuff - that's what you bought it for ! 4WD does reduce your turning circle a bit - leaving out tight turns, its great to leave it in 4x4 for those trips. For loose powdery sand, really low tyre pressures are the answer (given that you are not overloaded too) - you will be amazed where the thing will go, if you are empty, in 4x4, with pressures down around 16psi - camels would have trouble in the same dunes - but beware.....don't scoot over any blind ridges - tha sand can drop away sharply and people do roll vehicles down the other side !
AnswerID: 76537

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:56

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:56
Never take it out of 4wd on Fraser. Ther is simply no point.

You will need 4wd on a very regular basis and you won't encounter any surface hard enough to induce 'wind-up".

Fraser is a great place.

Enjoy it. I envy you.
AnswerID: 76539

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:59

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:59
gday

Ive got a 95 Bravo, as said before leave the hubs locked in, and drive to the conditions, basicly it maybe a good idea to do a basic sand driving course, the hints that you would pick up will be valuable plus may save you from getting into any difficult situation.

Clive
AnswerID: 76540

Reply By: clint2 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:10

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:10
hey sully

dont know much about fraser but bravos yes

leave in 4wd on sand , less work for engine ,

watch the temp gauge if in soft sand especially if going with the wind/breeze ,
try to keep the revs medium.

be sure to unlock the hubs when back on high speed road and for long ditances and speeds over 70/80

they have a chain drive transfer case and flog themselves to death if not looked after ,,,otherwise bomb proof

if you plan any rough stuff or are fitting aftermarket shocks be sure to fit front shock mount reinforcing brackets ....

watch the air cleaner ,they tend to injest a lot ,,,recommend a snorkel

roll on mighty bravo!!
AnswerID: 76545

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:30

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:30
Hi Sully

Have a great trip to Fraser, I love the place. Been going there since I was very young and still go there even though we have moved Victoria. Try and get off the barge at low tide, so you can travel along the beach as the old miners road is rough.
1. If it is your first time to fraser, lower your tyre pressure and go on and off the barge in low. You do not want to be the person stuck holding others up.
2. Leave your hubs locked in and just take it in and out of 4WD.

Take care of the washouts across the beach. This is where the fresh water runs across the beach and create a gully, some are small, some are huge, e.g. Eli creek.

Have a great trip

Ad
AnswerID: 76548

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:49

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:49
ps. The pic is launching my boat at Sandy Cape fraser island
FollowupID: 336353

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:47

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:47
Good to see a blade pilot on board....
FollowupID: 336372

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:49

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:49
You should oil your chain more often hehehe...
FollowupID: 336373

Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:27

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:27
Hi Crazie, Am thinking of a Fraser trip in Nov and noticed you took a tinny, I have a 3.85 explorer and am keen on a bit of fishing. Should I take the tinny (on normal trailer) or is having it with the car a bit of a pain when gettingh around over there?
FollowupID: 336381

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:54

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:54
Hi Darren

There is great fishing all around the island, even from the beach. We would take the boats and go to a few reefs about 8km north of sandy cape and along the top around to platypus bay. Not sure where you are staying, but for good fiishing the boat is not essential. When we do not use it, we just leave it in camp. We usually go up for 3-4 weeks and take at least 2 boats in the group. There is no probs taking the boat, when the Toyota classic is on I have seen guys dragging a 20ft boat up and over the middle of the island which is hard enough without a boat. If you take the boat everywhere with you it will slow you down across the middle of the island. One suggestion would be to make sure that the wheels of the boat trailer are inline with the wheels of your 4WD. This will allow the boat to travel in the wheel track made by your 4WD. Sorry mate, I have crapped on for a bit, but hope that helps a bit. Adam
FollowupID: 336386

Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:08

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:08
Thanks Adam,
Not crapping on at all, thanks a lot. Recent decision so I haven't planned anything yet and am just starting to do some homework, will probably take 2 weeks leaving from Melb and am pretty keen on a spot of fishing but as my first trip there want to look around also. Will probably search archives and post questions re where to go/stay etc at later date.
Thanks again
FollowupID: 336387

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:25

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:25
Hi Darren
It is a fantastic place. We usually have an annual trip around August/October since moving to Vic, but we cannot make it this year. When living there we were at fraser about 6 times a year. The beach fishing is pretty good, we have had some unbelieveable fishing up there. have a great trip.
FollowupID: 336390

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:09

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:09
sully,
A few things that have already been mentioned but this is from my own experience on Fraser.
1) Do a sand driving course first if you can. Lower tyre pressures. We run 22 psi in the Patrol and that suits us but others run 16-18psi. Take your own recovery gear, including a shovel!!!!!
2) The sand where you get off the barge on Fraser Island is very soft, and you won't want to be the one holding up the traffic I can assure you! Use low range 4WD here for sure!! (we use low range 2nd in our Patrol).Keep momentum up and you should be ok
3) Hook Point can be a bit treacherous depending on the time and tide... pick a set of wheel ruts and hang on!!! If its high tide, use the inland road, pick a spot of bitumen and hang on!!!! :-)
4) Once onto the "hard" sand, we always shift into high range 4WD, easier on your drivetrain and you can get better fuel economy although as mentioned before, you're on holidays!! Remember the Eastern Beach is a gazetted highway with an 80 kmh speed limit. There are "washouts" across the beach, don't take these lightly... they can do a lot of damage if you hit them hard!!! Watch out for the planes!
5) We always select low range 2nd for getting onto/off the beach through the soft sand etc... and just keep the momentum up. If you feel your progress slowing and the wheels starting to dig down.. STOP! reverse back and try again in low range 2nd in the same wheel ruts, we find that we can then proceed ok, the worst thing you can do is keep revving while your wheels are digging!
6) Last but not least............ Enjoy your holiday!!! Fraser Island is a paradise!!!!
We were there last October, a bit of a story and some pics are at our web site here just follow the links to Trip Stuff and Fraser Island. Have a look andif theres anything else I can help you with, leave a note in the guestbook there and I'll get back to you.

Have a good holiday mate!!
AnswerID: 76569

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:01

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:01
1/ check the tide times .
2/ lower your tyre pressures to 22psi before you hit the sand and reinflate them at rainbow beach . I personally wouldnt drive over 60klms per hour on the way back to rainbow beach with tyres at 22psi . Reinflate them at the garage or if going back via cherry venture reinflate them at the garage at tewantin .
3/ carry a long handled shovel .
4/ check the tide times .
5/ check the tide times .
6/ check the tide times .
hope this helps.
AnswerID: 76591

Reply By: GrantSA - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 12:53

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 12:53
We are also planning a trip to fraser in Dec. Jan depending on tides. Thinking of hireing an off road camper trailer - can this be taken to and around fraser.
AnswerID: 76621

Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 13:15

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 13:15
Hi Grant, what do you mean depending upon tides? I thought the above references to tides were simply in relation to not driving on beach around rocky outcrops on a rising tide. i.e. I have seen the drowned car photos in rainbow beach pub.
FollowupID: 336413

Reply By: GrantSA - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:35

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:35
what I meant by tides was on what days we go so that we have low tides = or - 2hrs when we are planning to be driving on beaches
AnswerID: 76655

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:28

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:28
tire pressures
..... and you can't go wrong.

and
go to the car wash just past Rainbow BEFORE and after. It will coat the vehicle with a light oil to aid corosion protection, every little bit helps.

Going in Oct for 10 days.
Yipeeee!!!!
AnswerID: 76724