Submitted: Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:16
sumpo
Re: 4.2 turbo intercooled 2003
I'm looking for info on which after market products give the best results. Eg: 3 inch exhaust system / Injector timing etc. / turbo adjustments.
Also , some contacts to do this work. Thanks
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:26
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:26
Gday mate,
See my post 16234. I dropped the truck off to
Brisbane Turbos and Tuning this morning for a powerup, and I'll be picking it up tomorrow. I'll be posting the report, good or bad next week. I'm doing a 600 k run out to Millmeran this weekend so that will give me a good idea low and high as to the increase.
Chris.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 17:05
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 17:05
Chris,
Please don't be disappointed if you don't get as much whiplash as you're hoping for tomorrow mate. Don't forget the 4.2 needs at least 30,000klm under it's belt before it will be fully loosened up.
Mine was nearer 40,000 and I put that down to a "mistake" I made early on; I used Slick 50 in the motor at the 5000klm oil change. I happen to be a believer in their propaganda and I reckon that product retarded the running in process, as it stopped the wear on the motor parts that I should have been hoping would "wear" a bit. If that makes any sense??
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 07:21
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 07:21
Yep, thanks mate. I have to tow a car trailer and a lovely GTO III back. Thought now's better than any time to get it done. I've already been asked by John to bring it back every 10,000 for a tune and dyno to see how the motor loosens up over time and what the exact gain is. Thought it would be good info for all future TD6 owners...
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:34
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:34
Hi-flow the turbo, then you will have to get INJECTORS AND PUMP done...
Then you will need the exhaust to go with the other mods.
Enjoy spending, wont be change out of $2000+
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:44
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 16:44
$10 change for me...
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 17:48
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 17:48
To get ythe best out of a Nissan motor you need to keep the tappets adjusted regularly
Ray