Submitted: Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 10:27
Member - Chris M (QLD)
Morning all,
Well, the TD6 doctor just gave me a call, and it's done. Quoted figures over the phone of 155 horse power at rear
wheels, slightly lower than my last truck, but still only has 4000k's on the clock. I will provide full details next Monday or Tuesday with a scanned copy of pre and post dyno report, and precise details as to what was done and undone.
Think I'll go and pick it up now... ;-)
Chris.
Reply By: Mick - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:28
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:28
sounds good, havent dynoed our truck yet, as the 40" boggers wouldnt like the speed, but i built the engine from scratch, with different camshaft, port polish heads, machined down pistons so higher boost can be run, dts turbo kit, modified and hi-flowed, fuel pump was built by Davesh at west end diesel, where i worked at the time, so it had all that you could get done to the pumps performance.
One day ill dyno it and see what it has.
Im pretty sure it will be ip around 150-160hp.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:34
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:34
Sounds good Mick, would look hot with the 40" boggers on it...should become a member so we can see the truck! ;-)
John said that after 20,000k's he will retune, and dyno, expects about 180hp after said and done. Would be very happy with that, but will most likely need clutch as
well.
Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:17
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:17
Chris,
Great stuff, just remember to give your fellow EO members forst dibs when you decide to sell in a couple of years........................:-)
Browny
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:19
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:19
;-)
No worries Browny, I won't tell my wife if you don't tell
mine about the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx coming next week! Better start those renos...
Chris.
Follow Up By: sevo - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 13:02
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 13:02
Gday Chris
Can i ask who does your work for you? Looking forward to dyno results and info sounds good
well done.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:13
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:13
Yeah, John Whittaker from
Brisbane Turbos and Tuning at the Gabba, great bloke, happy to spend 20 minutes having a yarn about what you want, and then shows you the best way to do it.
Will surely post on Monday or Tuesday.
Chris.
Reply By: joshinthecity - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:23
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:23
Just for the sake of it.
That's less HP than my motorbike made on the dyno recently, bog standard.
kinda puts things into perspective.....
Josh.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:26
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:26
Pretty sad hey, but it's better than 98hp. And after 20,000, I should have 180 without pushing the motor...I know, still lame, but at least I can accelerate now.
Chris.
Follow Up By: Foss - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 19:29
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 19:29
Quite likely Josh, but your bike made bugger all torque at the same time and that's the difference. Otherwise everthing wold have a 'busa powerplant wouldn't it !
Follow Up By: warthog - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 21:44
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 21:44
Hey maybe less torque but in a package wieghing in at about 300 kg with rider on board, enough to do 0-100 in under 3 secs and 300k's top speed.I love my kids, but I sure miss bikes. Does the front wheel come up on throttle alone?
Cheers Chris.
Follow Up By: joshinthecity - Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 18:00
Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 18:00
Yeah Chris,it does, a lot. :-)))))
J.
Reply By: joshinthecity - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:56
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 14:56
Chris,
Don't get me wrong. You're driving my dream-truck, and those numbers are as impressive as hell.
Just mentioned my bike as I found it an interesting comparison..
Josh.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 15:03
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 15:03
All good mate!
Very interesting, sad to think that a motor of that size has more horsies!
;-)
Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:00
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:00
Yeah but I'd like to see your bike tow a trailer across the simpson ;-)
Reply By: joshinthecity - Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 17:55
Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 17:55
LOL, fair-call ute...
Josh.
Reply By: Mr Z - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:59
Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:59
have you driven it yet? how does it feel?
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:27
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:27
Gday Mr Z,
Did 800 k's on the weekend, really happy with it, develops a healthy load of torque down low, so I don't really have to push it hard at all.
Will put a proper post on later today with dyno report etc.
Chris.
Reply By: Roly - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 14:47
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 14:47
what was done, just a tune or machine out the impellor housing and 3"
my TD6 has 4300 kms on it now, and i pushed it to 155kmh on sunday, it needs more go for my liking :D
at 140kmh constant it was using 20L per 100kms
roly
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 14:54
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 14:54
Gday mate,
Disconnect EGR, 3 inch to turbo, 12psi, pump calibration, tune. Didn't touch turbo housing. Motsons do that for 1500 bucks more than I paid, but getting same results from standard turbo. Fuel economy went up from 7.75 to 8.18 at that was doing around 120k/h average, pushed it to 150 when overtaking, but only when overtaking road train. Pushed up
Toowoomba range, E.G.T's to 600, and boost guage ran about 5psi at 100 without pushing, instantaneous boost when putting foot down up to around 11-12 psi.
Will post full report including dyno print later today, or tomorrow.
Chris.