Nissan TD27 dump pipe query

Submitted: Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 11:57
ThreadID: 16407 Views:7194 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
G'day all
After having my bank account emptied by a credit card scumbag a few months ago (right at EO renewal time), I've finally gotten around to renewing my membership.
I have fitted a 2.5" exhaust system to my TD27 Terrano and now am ready to fit the dump-pipe from the turbo to the exhaust pipe.
My need for info is this ....
Is a 3" dump pipe too large for the Nissan TD27 (2.7L turbo)? Or should I go with a smaller 2.5" DP?
Is there a specific problem with using the 3" DP that I already have. (It is one that I have built myself using a laser cut flange and a 3" mandrel bend)
The 3" dump pipe is about 200mm - 250mm long and then reduces to the 2.5" of the rest of the system.
I have not yet installed it as I notice that my mate's 4.2 GU has a 3" dump pipe and there doesn't seem to be a lot of engine specific info available.
Any info would be appreciated as I plan to fit it next weekend.
Oskar

Reply By: Well 55 - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 12:45

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 12:45
Proberly one thing to look at: What size is the hole out if the Turbo?

What ever the size will more than likely be the same for the DP, as their maybe no need to go any bigger.
AnswerID: 77114

Follow Up By: Oskar - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 12:55

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 12:55
Yeah, I considered that, but it's not just a "hole" but a sort of rectangle shape about 90mm long and about 50mm wide with a few rounded corners and a bulge at one other corner.
The cross-sectional area of the turbo outlet would be about the same as the 3" pipe, maybe just a gnat's wisker shy of it.
Thanks for your comment
Oskar
FollowupID: 336768

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 12:59

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 12:59
Ok so you wiil have to make up your own flange to bolt to the torbo housing and what ever size pipe you have will do ok. Another flange at the bottom to bolt the exhaust onto.
FollowupID: 336769

Follow Up By: Oskar - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 13:05

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 13:05
That's what I've already done... it's sitting here beside me all nice and professional looking.
I just need to know that what I'm doing (with the 3" dump-pipe) is OK and won't cause damage to my particular sized engine.
Oskar
FollowupID: 336770

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 13:17

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 13:17
Isn't it going between the Turbo and the exhaust so size does not matter as the 2.5 exhaust will give you the restriction you require. A 3" exhaust all the way would be to big.
FollowupID: 336771

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 13:59

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 13:59
Oskar

I had a DTS turbo fitted to a 1HZ 3 years ago and later had a mandrel bend straight through exhaust fitted.

I discussed the exhaust sizes in depth with the DTS TECH/HELP man and he advised as follows.

(1) The exhaust including the dump pipe should be the same size - no constrictions.

(2) 3in dump into a 2.5 exhaust causes a constriction of .5 of an inch.

(3) 2.5in dump and exhaust pipe with crimp bends causes a retriction of .5 of an inch

(4) 2.5in dump pipe into a 3in exhaust - looks good, does nothing extra and you are wasting your money.

(5) AND (this is interesting) you shouldn't have any restrictions after the turbo as the turbo kills all the noise, and provides the appropriate back pressure required.

(6) Lastly, turbo's require an unimpeded/unrestricted flow of gas on exiting the turbo to dissapate heat and reduce 'spool up/turbo lag'.

I have implemented the above and it goes like sh i t off a shovel and is very quiet as well.

Ken Robinson
AnswerID: 77122

Follow Up By: Oskar - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:24

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:24
Thanks for the info Ken.
Very interesting and no doubt spot-on.
The 2.5" exhaust already fitted is a straight through system but it finishes just below the turbo outlet pipe. (a narrow cast iron section about 250mm long that I want to replace with a larger section dump pipe)
I have been told that a complete 3" exhaust would be overkill on this vehicle with a 2.7L engine and that the 2.5" exhaust system is right for the job. No problem there.
As I already have a 3" dump pipe to fit the turbo (made in complete ignorance of what would be best for the job), my query was whether or not the 3" job (straight off the turbo for about 250mm and onto the 2.5" system) will have a detrimental effect on the engine.
It's not really restriction as such, as the rest of the system is 2.5" straight through i.e. the rest of the system is smaller by .5" anyway.
I don't really want to have to remake the dump pipe out of 2.5" if I don't need to.
Thanks for your experience and advice
Oskar
FollowupID: 336790

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:41

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:41
Oskar

I am sure you won't damage it going from a 3in to a 2.5in straight through.

Hell, mine was connected up to the standard choke you off Toyota exhaust for starters. Just detracted from the performance of the Turbo.

So if thats what you have a mind to do, then do it, as procrastinating any further will give you sleepless nights.

Have a good one.

Ken Robinson
AnswerID: 77162

Follow Up By: Oskar - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 09:09

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 09:09
Thanks mate.
That's about what I reckon.
I'll let you know how it goes.
Oskar
FollowupID: 336859