Improving the Trailblazer fridge

Submitted: Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 16:47
ThreadID: 16417 Views:10695 Replies:6 FollowUps:16
I am looking at improving the performance of the Trailblazer and have established the weak point to be the lid.

Looking for practical suggestions in reducing the thermal bridging.

Reply By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:02

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:02
exactly where you think the weak link is..internal or external or lid seal area
AnswerID: 77148

Follow Up By: Wok - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:44

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:44
The cavity is in direct contact with the aluminium inner lid. The inner lid is seperated from the outer shell by 50mm of polyurethane block and the edges are sealed by silastic.

IMHO the metal-to-cavity contact is the weakness.I have levelled the fibreglass skirting so that there is a positive seal between the lid and body (as Des Lexic pointed out, there is now a vacuum effect)

So far I have,
1. Made a plug for the cavity (ccf 20mm)
2. Made a coat for the lid (ccf 20mm )
3. Installed Sirrocco blower in the compressor cavity - operates when compressor is on
4. Installed a fan in the cold cavity

Any further thoughts?
FollowupID: 336806

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:21

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:21
is the inner liner of lid alloy?
the one i copied mine from was plastic...so have they changed design?

What is this plug for cavity? what cavity are you talking about.

And does this inner liner make contact with the outside world (no metal materials that allow thermal heat transfer between inside and outside)...if not its probably OK.

Why add a fan that uses more amps? These compressors are designed to run hot...its the condensing pressure you want to keep down...keeping the compressor cooler does very little to increase efficiency

ditto above above for inside? why why why

I use a 30mm wide .25 inch thick foam gasket around the lid of mine which works perfectly

Dont worry about vacuum too much unless it gets too hard to open and that is usually immediately after you have closed the lid....a little time lasp between lid openings usually alooows for enough air to get back in and give relief to the pressure differnce
FollowupID: 336809

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:23

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:23
incidently ..to test for lid seal...use a piece of paper and under seal and if you can slide it along then seal is no good
FollowupID: 336810

Follow Up By: Wok - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:20

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:20
1. Yes the inner lid is alloy..unit was built in 1998.
2. Cavity = cold space plug isolates the cavity fgrom the alloy surface
3. The inner and outer shell is connected by stainless pk screws and the hinges
4. The fan in the compressor cavity is to remove the hot air generated by the compressor etc, indirectly 'improving' the cooling of the condenser ( which is attached to the 2 sides)
5. The internal fan provides even temperature throughout the cavity

IMHO the major thermal path is cavity>alloy>alloy>atmosphere
Interested to hear your copy had a plastic inner shell, I am contemplating a PE or PP replacement. Do you know what year your copy was manufactured?
FollowupID: 336821

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:16

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:16
My 15 month old 70l Trailblaza has the compressor cooling fan mounted as standard.... a friends 6 yr old 60l totalled a compressor recently and another mate who is a fridgie also replaced the compressor and was advised by Norcoast to fit the fan.

Incidently, our 70l survived our recent rollover with no battlescars... is still running nearly four weeks later!!!!
FollowupID: 336845

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:22

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:22
WOK, Mine is a copy...built it myslef some time back

Still dont think the fan will help much...as they do have a generous condenser

The inner liner is in direct contact with the ambient?
this is not good if it is so

Brian, Danfoss do bring out a condensing unit which has a fan as standard....if the fridge has a skin condnser I dont see the need for a fan
FollowupID: 336846

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:38

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:38
The fan is a small unit akin to a cpu fan almost... is mounted above the compressor. Is not a condensor fan at all... is used to cool the compressor only.
FollowupID: 336850

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:15

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:15
Iknow that on my Trailblazer, the rubber seal around the perimeter of the lid is not a perfect join with small gaps (1mm) at change of directions.
I haven't considered this to be a problem but if it was a perfect seal, would it create a vacuum when the temperature dropped and therefore make it difficult to open.
I think if you ensure you have plenty of free air around the carcase, it would help dissapate the hot air exchange around carcase and therefore make the fridge run more efficiently.
AnswerID: 77151

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:27

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:27
Des, It aint a problem unless you get big holes appearing
FollowupID: 336811

Reply By: Bros - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:49

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:49
Wok,
What prompted you to do these mods, is the fridge not operating to specs.
I have an 80 Lt trailblaza and am interested to know.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 77159

Follow Up By: Wok - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:37

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:37
Boredom..................

I use the unit as a freezer only with a cooler as day-fridge. It does meet its specification ( 25% duty cycle in fridge/freezer mode, thermostat setting #5). When you next use your unit, check the temperature of the top of the lid relative to ambient...maybe I'm being paranoid?

If the end result is less battery drain between charges, its will be a worthwhile excercise

FollowupID: 336823

Follow Up By: Bros - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 08:19

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 08:19
Wok,
Post your findings when all mods completed mate.
2 x 80 watt solar panels to help between charges? (i know, cost brass)
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 336854

Reply By: ToyMotor - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:51
I cut a sheet of 6mm neoprene from an old wet suit, and glued it to the underside of the lid, filling the area inside the gasket. It works well, and has stopped the condensation I used to get outside the gasket in high humidity.

Mine was made in 1994, and this is the only mod I've made, I've been wondering about a fan though, a small CPU sized ball-bearing type would only draw about 50mA, I could compensate for that by putting the built-in voltmeter on a switch.

AnswerID: 77164

Follow Up By: Wok - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 04:58

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 04:58
Placing a fan in the cold cavity has a downside, the temperature at the top of the cavity is much lower then 'normal' ,hence the rate of thermal losses through the lid is higher.

The voltmeter switch won't save much....couple of mA at best.
FollowupID: 336843

Follow Up By: ToyMotor - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:16

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:16
I was thinking about putting the fan in where the compressor is, as Norcoast now suggest.

The voltmeter on my fridge, a suppressed zero automotive type, draws 50mA, I've measured it. Quite high, about the same as a small fan draws. In fact, as the fan would only be on when the compressor is, there would be a net saving in energy.

FollowupID: 337010

Follow Up By: Wok - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:55

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:55
50mA! ....is it a particularly accurate unit?
A friend just got an RC unit and had him have a look at the fan setup.Apparently it is 50mm(thereabouts) axial unit sitting above the compressor.

To be honest I am sceptical as to its effectiveness, any overclocker would know to input air into a box. An internal fan just moves the hot air about. The blower I am trialling draws just under 300mA, I am hoping(expecting) to pick up extra current in better duty-cycle( 12% so far).

What is encouraging is the improvement in temperature at the top of the cavity.
@ambient 26c: humidity 50%: setting #5: no internal fan
original lid : 7.8 max 3.1 min
moded lid : 4.9 max -1.9 min

In the next few days I will be replacing the inner shell of the lid with corrugated polycarbonate sheeting ( similar to Danpalon..not sure about the spelling). The way its progressing I could end up with a full freezer operation at #5 and not #7...a real guzzler!

Happy camping!
FollowupID: 337071

Follow Up By: ToyMotor - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:10

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:10
Wok writes:
50mA! ....is it a particularly accurate unit?

No, not really.... it reads about 0.4V low. It's a VDO gauge, more suited to checking whether your alternator is working or not than determining the condition of your slowly discharging battery.
FollowupID: 337074

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 22:42

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 22:42
I can't see what your problem really is. Is it drawing too much current during its daily cycle of operation because it has to run more often? As mentioned by other replies I can't see what you are gaining with all these mods? I've got a 60ltr model manufactured in 1985 & never had (touch wood!!!) any problems with the insulation & run it in the full freeze mode with the thermostat set on 5 & have never had troubles with it. It draws on an average of 20 amps a day provided I don't open it too often. Cheers.
AnswerID: 77193

Follow Up By: Wok - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 05:44

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 05:44
Topcat, its not a 'problem' par se...no product is 'perfect'. Using your example of 20Ah/day, would it not be 'better' if you could reduce it to 15Ah/day?

With a typical wetcell 80Ah deep-cycle battery one would expect at best 2 days(50% discharge) between recharges, then it would require running the vehicle for about 8hrs ( thats assuming the alternator is capable of fully charging the battery)

Its a lot cheaper to 'improve' the lid then battery system. Taking the logic to the extreme....if the usage could be reduced to 6Ah/day, would one even require an auxiliary battery?

Given the reliability of the Trailblazer I don't expect to replace it anytime soon. I have highlighted what I believe to be its weakpoint, thats all.

Be happy
FollowupID: 336844

Reply By: Mick - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 09:40

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 09:40
Hey Wok,
If you improved your battery system and threw out the wet cell deep cycle and used a cranking battery or AGM, you would only have to run your car for 2-3 hours to rechaege it.
Now that would save you money, and would let you camp in the one spot longer without driving around.
AnswerID: 77238

Follow Up By: Wok - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 11:08

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 11:08
Hi Mick,
I am trying to reduce the dependance on specialised battery like AGMs.The experiment has cost about $80 (with heaps of wasted ccf & silicon). I expect the 'final' solution would be much less.

My current DC Aux system is,
Exide Extreme
110A alternator
10mmsq welding cable ( paired cable runs - no chassis returns)
Home brew management/distribution system ( similar to Redarc with a twist)
Anderson connectors

I am open to suggestions on improving the system.
FollowupID: 336879