Here we go... another dumb one from Wolfie...

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:22
ThreadID: 16436 Views:2631 Replies:10 FollowUps:6
Why, when lotsa people put Rig Pics, and photos of cars in general, do they block out the number plate?

I have thought about this often, and no reasonable explanation can be found.

Wolfie

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:35

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:35
stop asking questions you cant answer Wolfie....you wont feel so dumb!
AnswerID: 77212

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:36

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:36
It is because they dont want to be recognised by the police for previous crimes committed... A fair enough reason too i would say...
AnswerID: 77213

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:40

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:40
Seriously though... it is silly... If your so worried someone is going to see your numberplate,,, what about when you are driving down the road.....
FollowupID: 336851

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 08:10

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 08:10
There are lots who are 4wd impaired or challenged like Szz's & Rav owners who go and stand beside someone elses big 4by and get a photo taken for the rig pics. "OK all you impaired owners, it's time you "came out", who are you? Let's see the real [little] wagon pic."

Hey Voxson I think I see a dingo stealing your aerial in that rig pic of yours !!
FollowupID: 336853

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:17

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:17
Bugger!!! He caught me out standing next to Tracy's Delica...... Bugger......Bugger....

Had no choice, 'cause my guts has got that big, I would dwarf the poor little Honda!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 336942

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:40

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:40
An answer i would like to know as well maybe i'm as dumb too. I think it's to stop ASIO from tracking them down and finding their secrect indentity members of a elite 4WD death squad.

AnswerID: 77214

Reply By: tour boy - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:57

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 07:57
I think that because when you post a pic with a list of all you trucks goodies it makes it easier for the lowlife scumbags to knock it off. They can recognise it on the road by the plate and therefore know what goodies you are offering.
This is just my opinion.
Tour Boy
AnswerID: 77217

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 08:28

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 08:28
Gday Wolfie,

I'm a business owner and more specifically, a debt collector. Trust me, a rego plate gives away a million details. If you have a commercial agents licence, it allows you acess to databases like citec where you can perform many numerous and delightful searches including point in time and current registration searches.

These searches supply full name, current address, vin/chassis, and engine numbers, type of car, who your C.T.P insurer is etc.

That's why the people on this site don't want to post their rego on the site with all goodies listed...

Just another useless piece of info for ya mate!

Chris.

AnswerID: 77222

Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 12:18

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 12:18
Hi Wolfie,
I think tour boy hit the nail on the head mate. I used to have a list of goodies in my profile then for a few weeks I had someone hanging round my house. They were spotted a few times in my driveway looking at the car and stuff. So after installing sensor lights in driveway which flashed a light in bedroom when activated and installing a alarm in garage I decided to remove the details of goodies I have.

Reality is no one except the person wanting to steal it knows how or where he comes from but eliminating the invitation to take whats not theirs is a start.

But although its insured I really dont want to go through the hassles of making a claim. Besides, I love this thing and i doubt i could replace it with one as good.

You behave yourself ,mate..i know what you get up too out there...lol
Cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 77272

Reply By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 13:40

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 13:40
Buggar!!! cant see my number plates clearly.
AnswerID: 77286

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:21

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:21
Love the idea of the his'n'hers rigs Michael.... one day I hope we can do the same... keep the GQ for me and buy my bride a GU!!!! "Mr & Mrs Nissan!!" :-))
FollowupID: 336917

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:31

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:31
his n hers eh...nice touch
have pity for me?.......mine says whats hers is hers and whats mine is hers.... too!

FollowupID: 336921

Follow Up By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:54

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:54
Hey guy's thats what all the women think, its nothing new!!! ;)>
FollowupID: 336928

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:19

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:19
Okay.......

I asked........

And I got replies........

Seems like there are people out there who do search the net for easy hits......

Nothing in the Delica........ they can perhaps clean it?

Wolfie
AnswerID: 77314

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:42

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:42
Hi Wolfie

When you think about the number of places where your rego is stored on a database linking you and your vehicle and your home address, it is little wonder that people like to keep that detail private in a forum such as this.

Between govt departments (police, transport) insurance companies, finance companies and banks, parking stations if you have a permenent spot, your employer if you register your car in the corporate carpark, gyms, clubs etc there may be an awful ot of people that have the ability as Chris M describes above, to find out where you live from your plate number.

Security and tracking for these database enquiries has improved markedly from the days where I worked as a public servant in the NSW Police in about 1987. At that time these databases were open ie: a computer in an open office area sat there all day where any staff member could look at any rego or drivers licence detail in NSW with no extra logon or tracking required. These days the police computers track all enquiries on peoples details and by whom. The officer must then have supporting evidence in their notebook or reports to explain why your file was called. But i am sure that not every govt dept or corporation has such stringent controls!

When driving down the road you are just another vehicle in the stream and unless you flip the bird at someone or cut someone off in traffic then no-one is much going to take any notice of you and your plate.

But on this forum it is a totally different audience. On here you may be expressing your opinion on something which (intentionally or not) may get on someones wick. Also one of the thousands of visitors that view the site but do not register or contribute may just be looking for a newish Engle or Garmin - like the one you have listed in your rig profile!. The chances are pretty small of being rumbled by someone who has this sort of address tracking ability but it does happen.

For many people blanking out a number plate in an online photo may be a similar precaution to not putting the box from that new computer or plasma TV out on the footpath for collection - thereby advertising the presence of new and desirable things in the house. (Athough some people do it to impress the neighbors - very sad!)

Really sad that you must take these sort of actions but that is they way it is! Let's hope it changes one day and we don't have to do this sort of stuff.

Muddy 'doe
AnswerID: 77316

Reply By: Member - Snatchem (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:59

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:59
After hearing all that I've scrubbed my number plate out now, I'd hate to get my cupholders pinched
AnswerID: 77330