Under body Oil spray
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 09:30
MrBitchi
Has anyone any experience with under body oil sprays? Am planning a Fraser trip in November and wonder if it's of any use as a rust inhibitor.
TIA
Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 09:56
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 09:56
Lanolin is great stuff. I have the standard chemical rust proofing done but spray lanolin around underneath about a week before beach trips and whenever I remove a panel and find it not rustproofed.
No rust in my ute so I guess it works
well. (1997 Rodeo owned 4 years).
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 12:46
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 12:46
Where from can I get this lanolin? I'm tipping I can't just pinch the stuff the missus rubs on her legs...
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 12:56
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 12:56
You can get it from Bunnings and just about any hardware store. Made by Lanotec (may be other people also).
This stuff can be sprayed and is about $21/litre. I use to lubricate stuff, rust prevention, loosen nuts etc. Very handy stuff.
If you want to make heaps of it cheaper you can get two containers of Lanolin grease (500ml each?) and then scoop them into a 20L drum of WD-40. Then shake thebleepout of it for a while (my Dad leaves it in the back of his ute for a while). Once dissolved into the mixture it doesn't settle at all.
A word of advice though is to spray it on very thin. Otherwise it will run off onto the floor. Lots of thin coats is the way to go. Wipe over it all with a rag too so it spreads out nicely.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 13:09
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 13:09
Thanks Utemad, seen it mentioned in a few threads, but really didn't know what I was looking for... The trade name should help.
Blue
Reply By: Member - Nobby - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:58
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:58
For those who are in Bris. you can buy it direct from Lanotec at their head office at 1317
Ipswich rd, Archerfield. I brought 5 litres for $80 about a month ago. As already said spray it on very thin and it works a treat.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 18:01
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 18:01
I have seen the 5 litre containers at the hardware also. They are about the same cost as you stated.
I should get one next time but I have only bought 3 litres in about 3 1/2 years.
Reply By: Rick Blaine - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:16
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:16
Are the bituminious underbody sprays any good? Lanolin is a natural product that is a by product of the wool industry ... and I've never seen a rusty sheep. I think after Fraser though the best treatment is a thorough wash with high pressure
water.. as I recall there is a place in Hervey Bay that does it... It's not only the salt, that washes of easily, but the sand if not removed from all the nooks & crannies promotes rust because it provides a damp spot where rust can develope. I have seen some very interesting tests that illustrate how quickly corrosion sets in if it can find a sheltered place to start.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:33
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:33
I agree totally. I only commented on the rust proofing side of things. I did say however that I have a complete chemical rust proofing also. That includes the bitumen looking black stuff underneath. Some clear coat stuff in the engine bay and that sticky crap inside all the doors and nooks and crannies in the bodywork.
However the lanolin is great for touch ups. I use it underneath to protect the mechanical components like the brake backing plates and whatever else I can find. When I hose underneath the
water instantly runs off as there is so much lanolin under there. Like
water off a ducks (sheeps? )back.
However none of this will protect you if you don't give your vehicle a thorough wash when you get home. I have one of those staun angled hose attachments and it is great for getting the sand out from where you can't even see. I also wash the car twice. Once when I get home and again about a week later just to make sure. Doing it thoroughly like this also means you are constantly looking and will find rust earlier than if you didn't. Sounds like a lot of work but I don't have any rust :-)