Of Mice & Men
Hi Guys,
Am in the early stages of trying to organize a trip to
Cape York for mid next year. At this stage it looks like we will have about 3 weeks to travel between
Cape York &
the tip. This is not as much time as I would like to have up there, but it's all I could manage. So my question is, what are the must see
places that cannot be missed on your first trip to the top.
Thanks in Advance, OM&M.
Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 17:11
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 17:11
Hi OM&M, For what it is worth here is our itinery. Depart
Atherton Tuesday 24/08,
o'night Kalpower 24/08,
25/08 depart Kalpower look around Lakefield NP to Archer river
26/08 Depart archer river travel to
Weipa
27/08
Mine tour
28/08 depart
Weipa to Chilli beach via Lochart river road.
30/08 depart chilli beach to Branwell Station via Frenchmans road.
31/08 Depart Branwell to Loyalty beach via southern OTL ( bypass gunshot but called in to watch others). Used northern bypass after lunching and swimming at Fruitbat falls.
1/09 visit TI and Horn Is.
2/09 Visit tip and other sites northof
Jardine
3/09 Depart loyalty for
Twin falls via northern OTL
5/09 depart
twin falls to
Hann river roadhouse.
6/09 depart
Hann river to
Atherton
Would love to have spent more time at Chilli beach and
Twin falls. The OTL is a must. Keep your daily trips short as possible so you don't have to drive like a maniac. I was born and bred in western Qld and thought the roads were in good condition. The OTL is a single two wheel track - it is best to travel in pairs minimum, with cb communication ( not hand held ),
Enough to wet your appetite any questions please ask.
Graham
Follow Up By: Of Mice & Men - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:12
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:12
Graham,
Thanks for the reply Graham, it definately wets my appetite. Thanks for the itinery & tips, I'm sure there will be many more questions leading up to the trip.
OM&M
Reply By: Bros - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:19
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:19
Of Mice & Men,
Travel on the O.T.L. as long as possible going both ways. Slower but better than the corrugations on the Development Road.
Bros.
Follow Up By: Of Mice & Men - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:15
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:15
Bros,
The OTL sounds good, I don't mind slow when i'm on holidays.
Thanks, OM&M.
Reply By: bushfox - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:26
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:26
G'day mate,
We did a run up the cape earlier this year, recommend the OTL as the other guys did. Easiest to travel North on Southern OTL then take Northern bypass to the
Jardine ferry and return South via Northern OTL then take southern bypass.
This way you definitely won't have any probs with
creek crossings/exits, though as already stated, the bypasses are corrugated. We're from WA and reckon the bypass roads were still mickey mouse compared with some of ours ie Gunbarrell & Gibb.
We towed a camper without a prob, suggest lowering tyre pressures, better traction out of the creeks and smoother ride (not to mention the environment savings!!)
We spent about three weeks between
Cairns and
the tip, via Cape Trib, Lakefield NP etc..Beautiful
camp spots at
Twin Falls, Dulhunty Rvr, Loyalty Bch...
Bushfox
Follow Up By: Of Mice & Men - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:18
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:18
Bushfox,
Thanks for the tips. we will be towing a trailer as
well, so it is good yo know you did it with no probs.
Regards, OM&M.