JACK owners - tyre spec question

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:16
ThreadID: 16451 Views:4131 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
Attention all Jack owners or anyone else interested, willing and able.

Has come time to think about replacing the original goodyear wranglers (in highway terrain version which are completely useless in mud) and go for something which I want. Thinking will probably go for Bridgestone Duelers 604V A/T because I can get them for $190 ea. My question is though, have any other Jack owners (98 onward, not the wide base model) had any problems with larger diameter or width tyres? It seems there is sufficient room to go until the tyres will sit flush with the arches, but wondering about full locks/under heavy loads etc.

Second question, there has been talk about different countries making different Duelers which wear at very different rates. Australia, Japan and USA have all been mentioned at some stage. Can anyone tell me definitively which country makes the hardest wearing Dueler AT 604V?

I am thinking about going 245/75/16s which accoring to the tyre size calculator will give me a half inch extra diff clearance ( inch).

Also, when people on this forum are saying need engineering certificate if tyres greater than 15mm, does that mean overall height (diameter) or sidewall height, or radius? In effect, 15mm overall will only give me 7.5mm extra underbody clearance. I want a little more than this because the transfer case bash plate sits very low.

Also a warning to Jack TD owners, I took my bus down the border track (Pinaroo - Bordertown) and went through some bogs, some of which were filled with water. Probably made worse by the fact that I got stuck a fair bit, due to highway tyres and low clearance, but did in the clutch (water/sand got in) and alternator got sand and water in it. Result - Clutch, inlcuding new slave cylinder , $1600. Alternator $730 aftermarket (Holden wanted $1600 for a new genuine one)

Moral of the story, Jacks are limited in their off-road ability in mud and rocks so beware. This is not to say it doesn't kick butt in the sand, because it does, but the lack of clearance and positioning of clutch housing/alternator etc lends itself to damage, and its friggin expensive! I still love my Jack though.

Bit of a scattered question, sorry, but hope some of you may be able to help.

D-JACK

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:44

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:44
Hi D-Jack
This website can answer your question on the tryes. I have a se wdietrack 2002 which is a little wider and higher than the previous model. I am about to put coopers 265/75/16 st's on.

http://totalescape.com/Amigo/text/trooperFAQ.html

Not sure about the limited off road ability, ours has always got us home and to the destination and we have taken it to somebleepty places.
AnswerID: 77317

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:05

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:05
Thanks for the reply. My question re legalities still needs to be answered , I will call the RAA tomorrow.

I only based the vehicle's off road ability because we did some fairly heavy mud work, with deep wheel ruts and I kept bottoming out vs standard 80 series landcruiser and hilux. Even the 96 pajero didn't get as stuck as I did. If you have a TD you will know the bash plate under the transfer case. I sliced up the clay and mud and packed it right up under the car. Clearance is the only issue of you want to do serious 4wding in mud ruts or big rocks. Front wheel articulation is OK, rear is VG. Power is more than ample.

Before you ask, I have done a lot of 4wding in it and never had any problems til now. Not driver error either (maybe lack of acknowledgement of clearance) . Just the severe terrain.

Thanks again

D-JACK
FollowupID: 336947

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:57

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:57
Hey D-Jack

No Mate wasn't going to ask.

I can't wait to get the new tyres on mine. I used to have the 604 on my patrol, we lived in Qld then and did alot of beach work. always helps when you can get them for a god prices. I am paying about $265 for the coopers 10ply.
cheers mate, good luck with the legal side of it
Ad
FollowupID: 336950

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 23:13

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 23:13
Crazie, I just got some 245/75/16 Cooper ST 10 plys (they don't make the 8 ply anymore) for $240 fitted at Beaurepairs at Glen Waverley last week. You should be able to do better than $265
FollowupID: 336974

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:18

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:18
Hi Moggs

Thanks for that, I rang around and not many people moved on the price, But I am ring Glen waverly now
FollowupID: 336996

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:31

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:31
Hi Moggs,
My $265 is looking good mate, 265/75/16 St's 10 ply $289. I might pop on down there, it might work out better in person. cheers Ad
FollowupID: 336997

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:52

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:52
I think you will find that muddy water will do nasty things to all vehicles. The fact you got stuck in it didn't help as your bow wave would have disappeared and then you would have been swamped so to speak. There are various methods of keeping mud out of your bellhousing however I find that 100mph tape does wonders and is cheap and easy. Great for sand too.

Not too much you can do for your alternator. The higher they are mounted the better. It is usually nothing a good clean can't fix though so long as you clean it reasonably quickly. I intend on mounting a splash guard to try and prevent some of the crap getting into the alternator.
AnswerID: 77321

Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:54

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:54
245/75R16 will fit without a problem, as will 265/70R16. They both have the same height which is an overall increase of around 25mm, or 12 to 13mm extra clearance.

The legal issue comes from a state regulation which states that the overall height (diameter) of a tyre/wheel combination cannot be more than 15mm more than the largest combination certifed for the vehicle as standard. The rule applies to regular passenger vehicles and 4wd alike. An engineer's certificate will allow you to legally have the increased lift, and more importantly avoid any insurance hassles in the unfortunate event of having to make a claim.

I might be wrong but I think I read somewhere that WA is even tougher with a ruling saying you can't move away from the standard size at all unless it is certified.
AnswerID: 77323

Follow Up By: Savvas - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:05

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:05
PS ... I ended up stuffing an aircon clutch/pulley bearing by hitting a mudhole a bit too hard.

Just to show that it's not just dealers that try to rip you off, I got 3 quotes to get it fixed.

The first was a mobile aircon tech. He came along and said that the whole compressor needs to be removed and the bearing replaced off vehicle, which will need a regas and all seals replaced, etc, etc, etc, ... $500

The second was a local auto elec. Wanted to replace the compressor all together because the damage is in the hub, not the bearing. Also a regas... $500 again

Nearly settled on that, but as the car was going to 4WD Service Centre at Taren Point for a 500km suspension check (OME suspension installed the previous week), I thought I'd ask them to look at it. Bearing replaced while the compressor was on the car .... $60 for the bearing, $100 labour.
FollowupID: 336948

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:59

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 19:59
Isuzu

Sorry, seeing if I can figure out the hyperlink..
AnswerID: 77324

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 10:29

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 10:29
Mate i have been searching these same questions lately, my 98 standard track model currently runs dueller 693's 245/70/16. (diameter 749) yes 245/75/16 (diameter 774) will fit no dramas, but even these are slightly outside the allowed increase in vic. 265/75/16 (800) will fit with a slight lift but may require the steering stops to be adjusted and are not legal without engineers cert. You can get tyres in a 255/70/16 (763) but it is not a common size if you get in trouble.
Most of the 70 series tyres only have a 'passenger' rated case, the 75 series all seem to be a 'light truck' capacity. Myself ? - i am going to go with a set of goodgear mtr in 245/75/16 and they have a massive load rating 118/120 1450kg but they cost $275 each!! US made.

Sounds like you would like the new bridgestone 694's in the 245/70/16 size Japanese made, my local bloke will do them for $205 each. But i know your confusion, there are too many choices.

As for off road ability, i have sometimes got stuck in places where a better tyre would have seen me through, and have often just walked up areas where other 'superior' machines have got messy. Just have to straddle the ruts etc, and she will go lots of places. One outing i got bagged by the 2 others (lifted paj & hilux) because i took the 'chicken run' around a couple of large water / mud holes while they did the 'hero splash' .. well the next week at work i was laughing all week - damage tally - paj - new alternator, ac clutch. hilux - new alternator, stater motor. Jackaroo - $ five bucks at the car wash and lets go again thanks.......
AnswerID: 77405

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:10

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:10
Thanks for that

You suggested the Bridgestone 694s in 245/70/16 size but I am after a slight lift. 12-13mm would be ok. Don't know what height the 31/10.5R15LT tyres is bany chance? I have got them on the camper trailer and would be handy if the same height so would be interchangable.

Might go 245/75/16s. When you say the Japanese duelers, do you mean they are the ones that wear better? There has been a lot of talk about this and I would want to make sure this was true. What is your source?

Thanks heaps for the reply.

p.s. I leart my lesson about the mud holes. Could have gone around them but chose to test the car out. MIG mistake!! Turned out to be a $2000 night away!
FollowupID: 337061

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:07

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:07
gday mate, i only thought the 694's because they were around the price you were talking. I have found the japanese made tyres balance up a lot better and ride nicely although the 693's i have now are wearing fairly quickly, the 694's are supposed to be a lot better..(local bridgestone dealer also finds them better)

lifted this off the cooper website from their specs on the st;
31/10.50R15 774 mm
245/75R16 775 mm
So basically identical diameter,
But only prob is most makers will do a 70 or a 75 but not both so this may affect your choice. Hope this helps, Brad
FollowupID: 337208