80series fuel capp

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 20:38
ThreadID: 16460 Views:1840 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
gday all was at the cowboys game last week and got talking bout 80 series with a mate he was saying when the fuel light comes on youve still got 25lts left i thought this sounded suss but he assuredme its true. am i wrong. GO YOU COWBOYS

Reply By: Chris (W.A.) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:11

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:11
Hi Ian,

Mine's a petrol and on the highway last year the from the moment the light stayed on (not fading in and out). I got 70 kms before I ran out and had to get the jerry out. That was at 100km/h and on average depending on hills etc I get 18 - 21 litres per 100kms so my calculations come to about 14Litres remaining when the light is permanently on.

I guess from when the light first starts fading in & out I could add probably another 5 litres so your mate would probably be correct.

AnswerID: 77335

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:53

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:53
Chris, dont do that too many times, you will burn the pump out from overheating....not enough fuel around it to discipate heat.
Plus it will have sucked up what ever was in the tank.
FollowupID: 336987

Follow Up By: Chris (W.A.) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:37

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:37
Thanks for the advice,

It wasn't intentional as I calculate to stop at a Gull servo where I fill up on cheaper fuel. As luck would have it, it was shut for the first time. Being petrol I only put in what I need to get to Perth - about 20 cents / litre less in Perth. Now I just fill right up and it lasts for a couple of months - don't run up much mileage in the bush - work is walking distance from home.

I've since changed the fuel filter and probably more luck that nothing occurred as a result of it.

FollowupID: 337069

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:41

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:41
When we had to cruiser (T/D) we always had between 17 - 25 ltres in the tank when the light came on
AnswerID: 77360

Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 05:47

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 05:47
It has to be close - I have refueled within minutes of the light coming on and just squeeezed 70 litres in.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 77372

Reply By: charlie - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:05

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:05
I have found in the TD that there is at least 15 litres in there when the light comes on.

Charlie
AnswerID: 77412