Which towing vehicle for 21' van?

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:01
ThreadID: 16489 Views:2498 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
We have recently purchased a 21' Jayco full van and are trying to decide what towing vehicle to use. Leaning towards either a Pajero 3.5L or a Prado 2.4L both petrol. The van has a weight of 1900 tons unloaded and a ball weight of 156 tons. Fully loaded the van will probably weigh up to 2500 tons.

Looking to buy secondhand & up to about $35,000. Would anyone know if either of these vehicles would tow the van successfully or have any other suggestions. We plan to retire next year & do a lot of touring.

Any assistance much appreciated

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:43

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:43
That's one heavy van LOL

Do you mean the 3.4 litre Prado?

Seriously though if that is in kilograms it must be getting to the upper limit of a Pajero or Prado.
AnswerID: 77478

Follow Up By: Geoff R - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:25

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:25
Glad I've given you all a laugh!! I wrote the email for my husband & I still live in an imperial world. Sorry, but you all knew I meant kgs didn't you!

Anyway many thanks for all the replies. Geoff is now looking at Prado diesels (now did I spell that right?)

Kerrie
FollowupID: 337164

Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:57

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:57

Is petrol mandatory? My boat is approx 2300kg dry and I'm very happy with my diesel jackaroo. Diesel Torque is hard to beat when towing and the increased economy means we can afford to get away more often. Or more affordable touring in your retirement.

We regularly tow for approx 600km each way and we have no trouble sitting on the speed limit and overtaking when necessary.

However, diesels don't suit everyone and you do need to be abit more patient.

Just thought I'd share my experience.

AnswerID: 77479

Reply By: Bob H - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 00:05

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 00:05
Hi Geoff,

My van weighs about the same as yours and I have no trouble towing with an 80 series diesel landcruiser. A turbo would be handy at times but i find it not essential most of the time. I think your choice of tow veh needs to be upgraded as you would be approaching the max towing capabilities of the veh. For 35k you should be able to get a good 100series or patrol. Look for towing capacity of 3500kg and preferably a diesel/turbo. Better to have a good margin up the sleeve than just being able to cope, I think. Only my opinion but i hope it helps. Many happy miles travelling for the future.

AnswerID: 77483

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:34

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:34

Agree with Bob H, you definitely are reaching the upper limits of a pajero, the 100's and the GU's, either series III 3 L, or 4.2 TD can tow 3500kg with elec brakes.

Good to have a bit of weight in the tow car.

Chris.
FollowupID: 337108

Reply By: MrBitchi - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:17

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:17
The 3.5Lt Pajero will tow it OK but if you're planning a lot of touring I'd seriously look at a diesel. The Pajero DID is one sweet engine with plenty of power and heaps of torque.
AnswerID: 77504

Reply By: Praxis - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:37

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:37
HI Geoff,

Im now in the business of selling used commercials. I also own my own 3.1 Turbo Diesel MU. If you are going to tow a van, diesel is the way to go. If you are going to do city driving, Diesel is also the way to go. To give you an Idea of the difference in Economy I get around 10l/100kms around the city........so about 700+ kms to a tank and once again thats around town!!!

If I add my 1000 kg van I still get 500-550 kms out of a tank.
Last year my friend was in a V6 Toyota with a small camper trailer on the back. He was lucky to get 300 kms out of a tank.

Please listen to these people on here..........Get a Diesel (Turbo).

You will certainly know the difference.

Geoff W

AnswerID: 77505

Reply By: Neil & Lynne - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:11

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:11
I reckon about 4 Kenworth or Mack trucks hooked together should do the job. Petrol or diesel is your choice.

Sorry, couldn't help myself.

Neil.
AnswerID: 77539

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:16

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:16
mate you are 1 sick puppy this is seriuos stuff here you need at least 7 kenworths or 3 macks
lol
FollowupID: 337182

Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 15:49

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 15:49
Hi. 80 or 100 series Landcruiser or 4.2 Nissan turbo desiel, Then you have power to spare instead of working the truck to the maximum, that gives you better engine life and far easier driving.
Why work hard it is supposed to be a holiday
Plus they will be just as economical if not more so
Ray
AnswerID: 77561

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:20

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:20
sorry geoff couldnt help mself with previous answer we tow a full paramount van about the same weight with nissan patrol 4.2 turbo inter hardly know van is on except for some hills mate tows with 4.2 no turbo same fuel but a lot slower on hills but you have the 3500 rating for towing
AnswerID: 77574