Waeco "Best Mates" Warranty - Yeah Right.

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:36
ThreadID: 16504 Views:3555 Replies:16 FollowUps:20
G'day Potential Fridge Buyers,
A WORD OF WARNING
Recently bought a Waeco 50 Litre Fridge, the thermostat packed up & I rang "Rays Outdoors" for advice. They said I could bring it their nearest store or take it to an authorised dealer on the other side of the city. Naturally I took it to the former.
I was advised it would take a month to fix it as they had to send it to Brisbane! When I asked why when an authorised dealer was only 40klms away compared to 2,000klms I was told that was the procedure. It took Rays 5 days to get a docket in the mail just to send it to Brisbane the following Monday!
As I was going bush a month later I asked for a "loaner" under the "Best Mates" Warranty Rays phoned waeco and was told that as I did not take to an authorised dealer the "If it can't be fixed in one day, we'll give you a loaner" deal did not apply. After going bush with my old esky & drinking warm beer I was "not happy Jan!" After complaining to Ray's about the time taken to return the fridge they said 5 weeks was "pretty good" for Waeco.
If this is Waeco's "Best Mates" Warranty I'd hate to be their enemy.

Reply By: tour boy - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:44

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:44
I had a waeco fridge once...once.
Engel sh%t on them any day.
AnswerID: 77547

Follow Up By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:51

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:51
I'll keep my Liemack, 5 years and no probs.....
FollowupID: 337156

Reply By: cruiser - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:34

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:34
Well guys, as we all know, there are two sides to any story as well as experiences.

I have a Waeco 70 Litre and when I had a problem with the lid cracking, I could not have had better service.

Fridge sent to Brisbane, fixed and returned in a week, as well as being offered a "loaner" which I did not need at the time.

Just goes to show you that some of us can have "bad" and "good" experiences with warranty.

AnswerID: 77553

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:14

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:14
Here is a previous post on the same subject
AnswerID: 77565

Reply By: signman - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:19

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:19
I think you're gonna see a lot more of these Waeco complaints coming out of the woodwork in the future. They have just been around long enough for all the faults to start appearing. I do know of a few people who have seen the light and gone back to a 'proper' fridge.
Just because a unit has a Danfoss compressor inside- doesn't mean its the greatest. Its how it's installed and the associated capilliary/condensor etc relationship. If you installed a Gen3 Chev motor in a HD Holden- it would still handle like custard.
One day I will have pleasure in telling some home truths about the often quoted (and misquoted) details of the (tongue in cheek) ADI fridge test.
AnswerID: 77566

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:40

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:40
I may well stand corrected ... and probably will. My understanding is that Waeco have been around yonks longer than Engel. It's only recently that they have ventured into Oz.
FollowupID: 337202

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:10

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:10
whats wrong with telling us the truths and misquoted details of the ADI test now!
we'd all love to know which is n fact the best
FollowupID: 337303

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:48

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 13:48
Cause you and a few others would not believe the facts!
FollowupID: 337390

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 08:44

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 08:44
or is it you two who would lead us to believe that the tests were rigged
FollowupID: 337429

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 15:20

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 15:20
Nudenut,

On Monday, August 16th, 2004 at 19:46
you replied to a post titled
"trailblazer, autofridge or reefer" - (Post ID: 15611)

In that thread, yourself and various other posters, were repeatedly asked to explain how an Engel and an ARB fridge can both be rated at only 1.6a/h in the ADI test, instead of the manufacturers stated power consumption figure of 2.7a/h

Yourself, and indeed NO other poster dared to answer the question put to them, as it would have shown readers how utterly ridiculous your post's were!

You claim you are a fridge mechanic, so you would be well aware how the test was done, as it is posted on the site
Follow Up posted, 17th Aug 2004 at 12:02 - (Follow up ID: 333048)

Please read Follow up ID: 333048 again
and then explain how an Engel can achieve 1.6a/h under the ADI test conditions

I am sure a qualified fridge mechanic could answer the question -
but can you?
FollowupID: 337447

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 16:08

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 16:08
well lets start with your last question first...
I am sure that you must be aware that refrigeration is a science that has been mastered and carried out by qualified trade persons...are you one of those?....and further, if i was able to get thru to that thick-head of yours you i believe you should have then been able to understand the results of the ADI fridge test results....but as you cant then its pointless me explainin to you the physics of refrigeration. (in allhonesty, i've probably forgotten more than I can explain)

As for some replies in that previous post...Some things had been stated by others, so why say it again; I just added to what had already been said!!

Why does someone have to repeatedly explain how the results by ADI were reached...read the results and if you genuinely cant understand it take it from me and ADI, that the liemack they tested was a energy hungry monster!!!

If you know the reults are false why dont you challenge them!! you could stand to make a lot of money!...however I doubt if a reputable company such as they would put themslves in a position to be questioned with possible litigation.

I re-iterate.....the reults says it all......

FollowupID: 337449

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 06:18

Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 06:18
Nudenut,

The ONLY QUESTION asked of you is:

" Please, explain how an Engel or an ARB fridge can both be rated at only 1.6a/h in the Australian Defence Industries test.
When the manufacturers quoted power consumption is 2.7a/h "

- and indeed, you have NOT answered the same question again -

You claim to be a fridge mechanic, however you will not explain how an Engel or ARB fridge can achieve 1.6a/h under the ADI test conditions.

- Very obviously, you CANNOT answer the only question put to you -

Note;
ADI had nothing to do with the actual testing, their staff members were not even present during the tests, only their premises were utilised.

FollowupID: 337484

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 07:38

Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 07:38
Mainey, I dont know the parameters that Engel tested their firdge at...do you...if so give me that data and i will take it all in, re-assess and then give my opinion as to what why or how?

But at this stage I willl take the tests results as fair...and in saying this I assume that all fridges were tested under the same conditions...Do you know otherwise?

FollowupID: 337485

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 22:19

Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 22:19
Nudenut
That is the point isn't it, you don't know, you can only assume, and yes I do happen to know the conditions the fridges were tested under.

That is the point here isn't, however I will not attempt to change your mind because you will not believe me, you will not accept anything that goes against your own personal idear's it does not matter how illogical your own idea is.

As has been posted by others it is virtually impossible for an Engel or any similar fridge to run at 25 deg+ ambient consuming only 1.6a/h

IF you can post any test where a similar fridge has achieved these same results and they have been accredited by an organization or manufacturer then I ask you to post it here to prove your own case.

Read the ADI test criteria and you will soon realise that their tests were NOT realistic, remembering they recorded power consumption results almost half those quoted by the respective manufacturers, is like saying you bought a V8Troopy that gets 99 MPG, on ULP.
FollowupID: 337582

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 16:09

Tuesday, Sep 28, 2004 at 16:09
Mainey that is not the point!!!
I have perused the test data and assuming all fridges were tested under the same conditions I can not see any thing wrong ....if you know something that we dont and it is amiss why dont you say...
come on big mouth...
I have not carried out any independent tests and cant be bothered as the info listed somewhere in this site says it all...unless you open up and tell why it is all frog sheit!!!!!

only then can i take you to task!!!... and if I need to to!! Pss you may get me onside????

and i remind you that I keep asking a question of you..are you a qualified fridgie...but you wont answer...why?
FollowupID: 337673

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:31

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 21:31
Nudenut,
I have NEVER claimed to be a qualified fridge mechanic, is your bank manager a qualified accountant, probably not, to be a director of a reasonably large 4x4 enterprise do I only have to be a qualified fridge mechanic ?

Nudenut you are suggesting the ADI test is accurate, you believe anyone can expect their Engel or ARB fridge to consume only 1.6a/h in an ambient 25 deg plus.

You have stated "I have not carried out any independent tests and can't be bothered, as the info listed somewhere in this site says it all"
then may I suggest you read that thread and learn something.

You state you are a qualified fridgie, then with the belief of 1.6a/h power consumption, I suggest I would never allow you to work for me!

This is the end of my input into this matter, bye.

FollowupID: 337948

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:12

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 08:12
mainey....
never said you had claimed to be a fridgie
but, I put this to you...
if you cant prove or at least give facts as to the validty of the ADI tests then i call you a *&^%wit!!!! for scare-mongering!!!! (

You could be a toilet janitor for all i care but without just facts or insight to validity of the tests (and especially when you have been asked to prove or give us those or your facts as to why you say they are flawed (( engels data is not revelant in the way these test was carried out)) then as a director of Maineys Toilet Cleaning Services....stick to what you know.....S&%$

(To be a director of any co, suggests that one would have enough savvy to obtain the facts before opening their trap spreading innuendo!)

oh ....and bye!
FollowupID: 337985

Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:44

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:44
My experience has been the opposite.

Bought one of those 'demo' 30l waeco models from the fridgeshop. Initially wasn't wrapped in it because it appeared a bit more knocked around and older than I expected. When it stopped working I rang them and was given the names of several local dealers to take it back to. Took it straight to the first one they gave me. He told me if he couldn't fix it by next day he would arrange for a loan unit. No need for that, rang me the same afternoon and said it was ready to go.

Hasn't missed a beat since.

Also have an engel 40l, and can't split my opinion on them. Both fridges have gone well.
AnswerID: 77567

Reply By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:00

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:00
The moral of the story is, Take it to the authorised dealer. Dont muck around with the middle man. Better to drive 100km and have a replacement fridge than to be sobbing over warm beer with melted ice.
AnswerID: 77569

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:08

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:08
Why do you have a problem with Waeco? Your problem exists withe the bad service and advice from Ray's Outdoor. My waeco came from the frdgeshop and i needed a repair done on the handle.I took it to an auth dealer and was treated like royalty. Don't go crying foul about a retailer not knowing the correct procedure. Ray's should have served you better!
AnswerID: 77570

Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:50

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:50
Yep I've also had a great run with mine. Haven't had to bother about repairs - nothing has gone wrong with it. It is now nearly 4 years old, has done 2 trips to Cape York and numerous other outings including fishing trips (ie used as the boat fridge), has run for weeks on end as a second beer fridge in the shed...I have absolutely no complaints. BTW mine is a CCF45 - and was one of the very first sold in Aus. I really can't understand why some people resort to the "you get what you pay for" line - the WAECO is an excellent fridge that is at the very least equal to the massively overpriced Engel (and other of the same ilk).
Pete
AnswerID: 77578

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:57

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:57
So your saying you dont get what you pay for?
FollowupID: 337191

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:06

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:06
"the WAECO is an excellent fridge that is at the very least equal to the massively overpriced Engel (and other of the same ilk)."

So what your implying is that if someone gave you $1100 to go and buy a 40L fridge and you couldn't keep the change, you would go and buy a Waeco over a Engel? I would take metal casing over plastic that warps in the sun any day. I have seen Engels 20 years old and still going strong. Will be interesting to see the Waecos in 20 years time.

Just biting back because I am a long term Engel owner.
p.s. what's an 'ILK'?
FollowupID: 337192

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:47

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:47
Yep - I'm saying you don't get what you pay for when shelling out so many sheckles for an engel. Never seen the moulding of a waeco "warped" and mine has been exposed considerably in my open boat as well as in various campsites. But, hey - each to their own eh?

You're not serious about 'ilk' are you - but just in case here goes:

Type or kind: can't trust people of that ilk.

Word History: When one uses ilk, as in the phrase men of his ilk, one is using a word with an ancient pedigree even though the sense of ilk, “kind or sort,” is actually quite recent, having been first recorded at the end of the 18th century. This sense grew out of an older use of ilk in the phrase of that ilk, meaning “of the same place, territorial designation, or name.” This phrase was used chiefly in names of landed families, Guthrie of that ilk meaning “Guthrie of Guthrie.” “Same” is the fundamental meaning of the word. The ancestors of ilk, Old English ilca and Middle English ilke, were common words, usually appearing with such words as the or that, but the word hardly survived the Middle Ages in those uses.
FollowupID: 337204

Reply By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:18

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:18
I realise you did ask for a loaner and they refused but I have found that a lot of places refuse you something if it is going to put them out. If you hassle them enough they usually come to the party.
AnswerID: 77580

Reply By: Bob H - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:18

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:18
who in their right mind would pay $1100 for a 40l fridge when you can get an 80 or 100l for $1100 - $1200 from the fridge shop. 20yr old engles are usually dented, rusty, and only attractive to their owner. just my opinion.

AnswerID: 77603

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:51

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:51
Can't see why you would buy a 'dented/scratched' fridge
for those prices, when you can get a brand new DR60
with DANFOSS BD50 Compressor and thicker insullation
for only .. $899

or

100 ltr
for only .. $999

http://refrigerationresearch.com.au/DR%20portables.htm
FollowupID: 337231

Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:19

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:19
Gents,

I have both Engel and Waeco and don't have a clear preference. Both have good points.

The waeco cools more quickly IMO, while the engel is more sturdy. I'd buy either again.

I often use the waeco in my boat because it is slightly lighter to carry around so I'm interested to know if anyone has expereince with Evacool. I have one of their eskies and it is fantastic. Holds Ice for about 6 days. I like the fibreglass construction and have often thought it would make a great fridge particularly in marine applications. They have a Danfoss compressor with 2 speed settings from memory so I'd like to know what others think of them. (I know they had a disaster with 'SuperKool' but they did learn alot from that).

That raises another question. Has anyone ever seen a 12V fridge with Danfoss compressor with automatic compressor speed adjustment? My understanding is that the efficiency of the Danfoss is governed by compressor speed which governs power consumption. Is it possible to sense when the fridge is getting more than 14V (ie vehicle engine is running) and go into boost mode? Kind of like a Eutectic fridge but atleast it would drop back to economy mode when power drops back to 12V.

AnswerID: 77613

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:41

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:41
Hi, brew69 hit the nail on the head

Just for the record mate,
The cause of your problem was Ray's NOT Waeco. I am a courier and it dont take 5 days to get something to QLD or W.A for that matter. I'd assume the problem was that Rays didnt want to send 1 item up and pay for it. Sometimes places hold good until they "fill the bag" so to speak as they still pay same freight charges weather the so called "bag" is full or empty. So go easy on Waeco ok, you can blame Rays for the terrible service you got.
Im glad i dont deal with them. Had a similar problem once. I only allow it to happen to me once and thats the last time they take my money.

Sorry you had to expierence that, i too would be very angry.
Hope things get better cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 77633

Reply By: Scott_G - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:33

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:33
I had my Waeco CF 50 thermostat repaired in 3 days
I will never shop at Rays again as the service is lousy
We are still waiting for a replacement Coleman stove regulator 7 weeks later
Last time I phoned the girl laughed at me when I complained about waiting 5 weeks and said that was normal
AnswerID: 77655

Reply By: grimbo - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:00

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:00
The problem was Rays not Waeco. Report the service problem to their head office, make them aware of the issue. That's the only way to get the info to the relevant people. Telling the 18 year old beyond the counter you don't like their service isn't going to do much

i have had a Waeco for a few years now and it has never missed a beat and was considerably cheaper than a 40lt Engel. My brother uses a 110lt Waeco for outback touring and it has performed flawlessly. they also use a 80lt that had a faulty compressor was sent from Alice Springs to brisbane and was back within 8 days. Waeco also threw in a fridge bag just for the inconvienence.
AnswerID: 77699

Reply By: mr diamond - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 18:01

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 18:01
our weaco stopped working at easter phoned weaco and they said take it to your local repair man.
took it there explained what happened.
7 weeks later its ready .
nothing wrong with it must be your power supply.
say thanks and of i go.
2 days later a bill for $58 arives
minimum charge.
AnswerID: 77725

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 09:32

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 09:32
geez thats cheap...but a least it came fast... hehe
and what was the problem
FollowupID: 338202

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 18:19

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 18:19
I just laugh when large numbers of Waeco owners try to justify their cheaper purchases by telling us how great the repair service is. Why not just buy a fridge that's less likely to warp or breakdown in the first place? I've got too much to do to be running around fixing things. ;-))

Craig..............
Autofridge
Do it right first time.
AnswerID: 77727

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:41

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:41
Crackles..........is that the sound your brain makes????????
FollowupID: 337358

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 22:57

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 22:57
Hey Brewman - you need to secure your computer - your kids have been using it. (See above)
FollowupID: 337477