My car fell off a hoist today

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:15
ThreadID: 16512 Views:5086 Replies:16 FollowUps:22
Yes that's right. I'm just waiting on a response from Michelle regd. the legal ramafications of telling all. Not only that, but after it fell of, I was then phsyically threatened by the staff coz I yelled at em!

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:23

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:23
You should have controlled yourself, walked around the back, and taken it out on their ute

AnswerID: 77581

Reply By: navaraman - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:26

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:26
Just a pity the bloke that drove it onto the hoist wasn't underneath it when it fell off.

OK that's a bit harsh but it would stop him doing it again.
AnswerID: 77582

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:32

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:32
Hey Waveslave

Thats just Crap!!

I am sure we can organise a little gathering at the workshop.... just for moral support of course.
AnswerID: 77583

Reply By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:44

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:44
I was there when it happened! It felt like a dream. Till I heard the crunch! They were using that bloody 2 post swivel arm things! Worst thing was, when we went to the guy next door, he yelled at him saying he warned him about using that hoist on trucks such as mine!

They reckon the hoist failed, but they put the rubber stops on the front of the rear leaves. Now that's at an agle, and it slipped! You can tall that by the 3 inch dent in the fuel tank. Thank god GIO has been terrific. The car is booked in to Toyota toreplace the tank and sidesteps.
AnswerID: 77585

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:57

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:57
I hope the workshop is paying for it!
FollowupID: 337190

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:12

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:12
Ute said it all....
and they shouldnt bother giving you the bill

ANd I would call cops for them threatening you.
FollowupID: 337194

Follow Up By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:27

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:27
Well that's the worst thing Utemad, they were trying to argue that they wouyld get their own quote on the Fuel tank and a panel beater would fix the side steps, I couldn't believe it. The damn thing FELL of the F*&king hoist 2 metre in the air andf they're trying to squabble over a few hundred dollars to fix it. It's a chain store too, and people who know chain stores, should know which one it is.
FollowupID: 337198

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:35

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:35
No way would I be going to THEIR chosen repairer. They would have the cheapest job done possible..

I would be getting my own quotes and giving them the bill.

Then I'd take their money and put it towards a long range replacement tank and steel side steps. Depending on the amount you get.
FollowupID: 337199

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:59

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:59
"he yelled at him saying he warned him about using that hoist on trucks such as mine"

going by this they knew it was stuffed...ring work place services etc etc
this was accident waiting to happen that they should have avoided...
they are lucky no one was injured
FollowupID: 337213

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:18

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:18
Evening Wave slave

Mate you should know by now that every time sh i t happens, something better always follows on the bright side.

In your case 'the leettle accident'(sh i t happens) GIO comes to the party no questions (The bright side)

I have a Troopy as well, thats loaded to the gunnals with boys toys like yours and i just switched the insurance to GIO because people is spoke to deal with or have had dealings with GIO, spoke very highly of them.

So your experience with GIO will help me sleep better at night.

Ken Robinson

AnswerID: 77591

Follow Up By: Scott_G - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:55

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:55
damn lucky you are not insured by Allianz as they pay up for nothing
Allianz have been one of my worst nightmares
FollowupID: 337254

Reply By: Member Eric - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:34

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:34
I wouldn't have threatened you . I would have smashed you in the head with a ring spanner. Fancy freaking out over a accident . Its a dam car . It could have been worse . It could have killed the idiot that put it up there. Humans make errors , thats life . Why fly off the handle . I am sure they were shocked when it happened . The next thing is that they know they have just done there nuts in parts or eccess , and heres this looney going off his tree . Bloody hell , there people also mate .
AnswerID: 77594

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:42

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:42
No offence Eric but if I saw my car fall to the ground because of someone elses error I would give them a piece of my mind. Sure there is no need to go on and on about it but if they then turn around and say that they are going to have some guy try and 'fix' it that would compound the problem.

If they felt any remorse for what they had done they would have said to get a quote and they would pay. Then cancelled their bill for their 'work'.
FollowupID: 337203

Follow Up By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:52

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:52
Easy to say sitting from your living room. As utemad said, if it were yours....

All i wanted was, "gawd, sorry, go to Toyota, get a bill and we'll pay for the repairs," not, "awh it's nothing mate. " It's hard not to get emotional when your 60grand comes crashing down coz some guy's incompetent, or some other guy couldn't be bothered to get his hoist checked!
FollowupID: 337205

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:23

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:23
Eric I could just imagine if your or trucksres truck fell of a hoist it would make the front page of the age.
If it was your truck you would go to the smoko room and have a good laugh.
I dont think so.
I know If it was my truck I would get a full inspection from a pannel beater and get the truck on a alingment machine to see what damage was done.
But who cares if it did fall from about 1 to 1.5 metres shout the boys a beer for giving you a good laugh.

FollowupID: 337210

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:24

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:24
I know its hard in the heat of the moment but you have to think strategically:
I feel like throttling someone so I will just yell instead ,,, or my objective here is to get them to make good my loss - will that be better achieved by remaining calm and rational or getting them off side? Human nature is such that, even when you deserve it, if someone aggravates you you are going to get your back up. That's why lawyers always do very well indeed.

I hope it is repaired to your satisfaction.
FollowupID: 337211

Follow Up By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:39

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:39
What do you reckon guys, If the truck is driving fine, do you think I should go and get an alignment done. Toyota looked at it, and found ONE cross member slightly bent but negligable.
The GIO inspector(ex-pano) found the same.

The front steering arm was hit(or whatever that arm is that goes from front axle back on each side parrellel and inside the chassis rails), but they told me stories of troopies hitting that all the time on the rocks and that they're "unbenadable!"

The rest is as mentioned before Bent tank and side step.

It has been said that coz it landed on the chassis rails on the hoist arms, and then slid backwards to the ground, that there shouldn't be any chassis/structural damage. From Toyota/GIO. Hope they're right!!!

Thanks everyone, you've been really helpful. It's very upsetting when things like this happen. I still have a knot in my stomach!
FollowupID: 337212

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:00

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:00
Well Eric , Maby to your suprise . I have had things damadged by mechanics. And no , I didnt go to the smoko room and have a laugh. I turned around and said , I am glad no one is hurt . Yes I would inspect the vehicle and get a full assesment and yes they should pay for it , thats why they have negligence incurance . All i said was that they are human also .bleephappens , keep a level head and deal with it .
FollowupID: 337221

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 23:49

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 23:49
It's easy to sit back and make judgements and comments about how to deal with it and I'm also glad no one was injured. I've no doubt Waveslave will deal with the matter logically and the due processes of the law will be followed.
But he has my total sympathy for the anguish he has suffered at the hands of some incompetent fool who has almost killed someone. The operator was incompetent. People operating such machinery should not make mistakes.
Sure, insurances will fix things in the end but it's the total waste of time that you have to put into chasing up all the crap to get it fixed, days & sometimes weeks, no one pays you for the inconvenience nor the anguish that you have to suffer because of some one elses stupidity.

I had an incompetent hire me a machine a couple of years back that almost killed me, it did $12k worth of damage. I had a lot of sleepless nights after that, as do all who have a near death experience.

My point is Eric it's not always easy to just sit back and deal with it. People need a little bit of sympathy, it helps a lot.
FollowupID: 337238

Follow Up By: waveslave - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 01:16

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 01:16
Thanks cocka,

It's 1 a.m. and I can't sleep, just keep replaying the incident. Totally sucks! Like you say, waste of time.

Was meant to have towbar on in time for advanced 4wdrive course on Sun.(that was meant to be getting done at the time) Then meant to replace winch wire as it's badly kinked, again for sunday. And pick up our new oztent.
Now I have none of it but a lot of anguish! And tomorrow to do all of the above, as well as work!

Looks like I'm gonna have to postpone the course coz it's all about recovery, and it's to teach my GF. No point in just watching!

Anyway. Life goes on. In this case.
FollowupID: 337239

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:41

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:41
"Member Eric posted this followup

Well Eric , Maby to your suprise . I have had things damadged by mechanics. And no , I didnt go to the smoko room and have a laugh. I turned around and said , I am glad no one is hurt . Yes I would inspect the vehicle and get a full assesment and yes they should pay for it , thats why they have negligence incurance . All i said was that they are human also .bleephappens , keep a level head and deal with it ."

The funny thing is, knowing Eric, I can see him, he would just pull out a cancer stick, light it up, and say oh well, chit happens. fix it fellas.. he would probably come out of it in front too!
FollowupID: 337261

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:12

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:12
Buying an OzTent !!!
Now I know you are a man of good taste. Enjoy, they are a great unit - had one for years. Getting any extras ???

Just be a bit more choosey about your servicing choices and you'll be perfect. Guess you wont be back there again and isn't it amazing how an incident can generate such bad publicity for a business - but some don't really care, they just work there and the boss doesn't give sheite, just worries about the money not the customers.

Funny about their short sightedness, they can't see that it's the customers who pay the money, it's all about GOOD service, like nothing is too much trouble.
FollowupID: 337268

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:46

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:46
Wave slave and you thought you where going to give the truck a hard time on the dirt.

eric
AnswerID: 77596

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:56

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:56
if physical threatened....lodge a complaint with the authorities...this is a must
AnswerID: 77607

Reply By: mcgra - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:02

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:02
wave slave

a call to the local worksafe branch should'nt go a miss either.

hoist not rated to lift that weight be thankful it didnt kill anyone as my guess is you wouldnt want to drive it again. after seeing that

gra
AnswerID: 77608

Reply By: Tim - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:04

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:04
Just leaving the fact that your pride and joy fell to the ground, that's a very "near miss" and anyone who works in industry will know that these sorts of accidents should be investigated thoroughly as potentially you could have a smashed car with a dead body under it.
Any attempt to sweep it under the carpet in any way is pure negligence.
Tim
AnswerID: 77611

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:26
Hi WaveSalve

Don't care what anyone says, if it was their own car they all would be pis#ed. I would get the 4WD the once over, measure the chasis etc.

Definately a Work Place call should be made.

Hope everything goes great for you.
AnswerID: 77616

Follow Up By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:27

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:27
Measure the chassis? How/Who does that?
FollowupID: 337215

Follow Up By: Savvas - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:56

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:56
Most good panel beaters would have an alignment jig that can measure the points on the chassis and see if there are any misalignments from the factory spec.

FollowupID: 337220

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:00

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:00
Hey dude
Not sure but was a passanger in an accident in a friends 4WD, they had to put the fourby on a machine that ,measured and straightend the chasis. It was at a body work place.2 meters in a long way to fall. Sorry mate, not sure, good luck with everything.
FollowupID: 337222

Follow Up By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:08

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:08
Hey Crazie,

It didn't actually fall 2m. It fell off the rubber stops onto the 4 arms (few inches) which then flung out. The arms caused the damage underneath. It then slid back on the chassis rails (on the arms) with the front up in the air( bit like a massive skateboard grind) until it got caught(thank god) on the front right bash plate. It kept sliding over the arm on the left, which cause the car to turn. Luckily, it stopped moving and was brought down at the angle. Rear wheels hit first.
FollowupID: 337223

Follow Up By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:12

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:12
So I guess it essentially didn't fall off but if anyone was standing under the back half of the car they'd be dead
FollowupID: 337225

Reply By: Savvas - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:58

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:58
Cars can be fixed. But often not a person.

Report it to worksafe.
AnswerID: 77622

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:32

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:32
I use to service car hoist, and 2 posters are well equiped to handle 4by's, Its obvious here that the fault lies with the joker who put it on the hoist, the swinging arms are meant to go under the body area not any any parts of the vehical, MY guess was he was too lazy to adjust the arms and hence place them under the spring area, very dangerous indeed.

Clive
AnswerID: 77630

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:37

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:37
Oh, I understand now, I have had experience with those hoist, they are buggers. It all sounds very lucky that no one got hurt and that the accident could have been a whole lot worse. cheers Adam
AnswerID: 77631

Reply By: Member Eric - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:37

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:37
What amazes me is that , if we make a mistake , it's a accident , If some else make a mistake there incompetent . Don't for a min think that I don't sympathize with you , but from someone in the automotive industry , I will guarantee you , it wont help to go off your head . Yes its a mess when this stuff happens , but remember, its todays stuff ups that make good stories tomorrow. There will be plenty of trips coming up . Keep a level head and get your 4by back on the road the way it was.

Don't worry about how the mechanic wants to fix it . Get it assessed by a independent panel beater , may i also suggest that this panel beater has a car aligner
AnswerID: 77651

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 08:20

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 08:20
The operator of the hoist should be trained and assessed competant to be the hoist operator. It is his employer's responsibility to ensure he has been trained. The mechanic should not have had an accident with the hoist. It appears that he did not operate the hoist properly and as recommended by the manufacturer or best practice.
FollowupID: 337375

Reply By: drivesafe - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:31

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:31
Eric, I can not believe that a sane rational person would make the statements you made. This was NOT an accident.
They had been told it could not be used for what they were using for.
The equipment can only be used for the purpose it is designed for and in a manor it is intended.
The owner of the business has a legal responsibility to make sure there staff is trained in the proper operation of the equipment.
The laws governing this type of equipment are there to make sure that “accidents” of this nature don’t happen.
This was not a accident, it was gross negligence and had someone been hurt or killed, it would be criminal negligence.
Waveslave, I am surprised you didn’t hit someone and I hope that every thing gets fixed to your satisfaction but in this age of litigation at the drop of a hat. If this ACCIDENT occurs again and someone gets hurt or so on, and it becomes known that you knew that the operators were doing what they are doing and did not report them, you may very well be libel.
Cover your own a## and report it to Worksafe.
AnswerID: 77654