Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:15
D-Jack
Very sorry if this has already come up, can't find anything specifically on Jackaroos.
Anyone fitted custom exhaust to a 98 onward TD Jackaroo? (2.5 or 3 inch) Any comments on power/torque/economy increases or cost?
I'm sure I'm getting cleaner, cooler air forced in via my
snorkel, but if it ain't getting out any faster it can't be doing a lot of good.
And we can all do with that little bit more power or torque for the last 3 metres of the
sand dune.
D-Jack
Reply By: Member - Nobby - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:56
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:56
Have a look at thread no. 16446 from Bradley. Most informative and worth following up.
Reply By: jackablue - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:53
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 20:53
Or link text
Jackablue
Reply By: Tim - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:06
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:06
Just a note to all you TD jack owners. I had a 99TD jack and recently traded it in on a 01 prado 3L TD.
I would never line the prado up next to a jack at the lights as I am quite confident the jack would leave me for dead.
I wasn't sure when I compared the stats on paper but I know for sure now, the old toyota engine has nothing (performance wise) on the isuzu.
Tim
Reply By: D-Jack - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:59
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:59
People - thanks for your replies but please note I am after info for TURBO DIESEL not petrol - I would assume the setup and results will be very different
D-Jack
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:15
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:15
Gday D , haven't seen a system on the tdjack in particular, but as with any other turbo install the same rules apply. go for a large pipe from the turbine housing back. 3 inch will be heaps , stick with mandrel bends and free flowing mufflers, either straight through or single chamber. The objective is to reduce as much back pressure as possible to allow the turbo to spool up quicker and spin freely, more power, less heat build up etc.. Only negative i can think of on the jack is the clearance through the bashplates, might have to use 2.5 mandrell. cheers mate.
Follow Up By: Turbos - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:52
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 14:52
Yeah, everything Bradley said is spot on! I recently inquired about an exhaust for my 2000 TD jack, but decided to wait as a chip is being produced, or so they say (by powerchip). I was told it may be a bit of a struggle fitting a 3 inch but i would'nt go any other way. The jackaroo has a muffler (obviously!) and some sort of filter/resonator??. I noticed this when i replaced my clutch. Within the unknown housing is a mesh that must be doing wonders for air flow. I believe this filter or what ever the ?? it is needs to go. The japs have higher emission restrictions than the aussies so their is no reason why it can't be given the arse. PS my mate has a patrol 3.0L and we are dead equal of the lights!! Interesting about the prado!