changing oils
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:08
Davoe
Usually do my diff t/c gearbox oils my self using a little tom thumb pump which is not easy but I only do it evey 2 years. This time I thought I would get a quote for the job $160 made me change my mind so I went to bunnings and they have an atachment for the drill that acts as a pump for $25 Question is does anybody know if this style of pump can handle the high viscosity driveline oil?
Reply By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:25
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:25
Not quite sure what you mean. But at the local car parts store, you can buy for about $25 a pump to suck out the oil, and push the fresh stuff back in. Can't really understand your question. Could be the beer.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:42
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:42
Its a pump that is driven by your hand drill. Getting the oil out isnt a drama as it is a landcruiser
Reply By: Big Trev - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:38
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:38
As I read on this
forum, a good thing to use for oil pumping is a pressurised garden sprayer from Bunnings. Just put the oil in, pump the prssure up, put the end in the hole and pull on the trigger.....easy really!
Follow Up By: Davoe - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:44
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 21:44
yea read that but the drill pump looks a bit less messy but depending on answers might still go that way the cost is about the same
Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:03
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:03
Hewy Davoe,
Do what every one else does..buy the pump, use it, clean it, take it back. I see it every day and the funy thing is..they always take it back.....crazy indeed
In answer to ur question, yes it will handle the oil. you will need a good drill though. Not the best way to do it in my opinion.
Extension cable, drill, pump attachment, oil bottle with hose inserted anda feed line into diff...sheesh hard yakka !
Sa someone else suggested above...u can buy the sucking tube thingy looks like agrease gub housing and has as hose on the ned, u suck up the oil...spit it out by pushing the handle in oposite direction...works great and holds heaps of oil. Been using it for years , even used to drain auto oil through dip stick when iw as lazy and didnt want to take sump off.
Cheers Angelo
Follow Up By: Davoe - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:10
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:10
havnt seen one might have to have a look around a few of the usual suspects around kalgoorlie - unless they are stuck the other side of the nullabor like the starlings
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:46
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:46
Davoe,
its about the length of 2-3 coke cans. About the same thickness too.
It has a nose at the bottom that u slide a clear hose over which u use to suck out OR pump IN with.
The handle is a T shape on along shaft through the ctr of the cylinder. Very cheap tool, try to get a metal one ok. They work great for anything, even break fluid removal from master cylinder, But what i do there is use a long tube so the brake fluid dont actually enter the cylinder. then drain the tube intoa waste bucket. Saves contamination.
Hope i didnt confuse u more
Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 03:01
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 03:01
500ml masterfoods sauce bottle. Pull red cone end piece off and a replace with a half foot piece of clear hose onto the yellow nozzle. Easy, fast, not messy and cheap. Just did 2 gearboxes (manuals) and transfer on
mine and dad's 80 series this way. Cost about a dollar (if you use that sauce anyway).
[ View Image]
Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:18
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:18
Davoe,
Am I reading you right, you only change the gear oils every 2 years??
The pressurised garden spray (5lt) bottles for pumping oil in really work a treat.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:14
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:14
yea ride my bike alot so every 2 years is about 20-30k
Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:07
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:07
Mines every 40k so approx 2 years. I've been told by Nissan and a couple of oil guru's that if it's highway work so no chance of
water or dust ingress and not much towing you could double that.
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:08
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:08
Stores I have been in have a small manual pump that screws into the actually oil bottle top. Thats what I use - quite simple - has a feed line to your gearbox etc. Just pump away (but takes awhile of course). Drops into the top of most brands of oil - if it doesn't thread it doesn't matter - still works - I have the giant syringe type too, but the previous one works better for
mine. I don't think its possible to work with any of them and stay clean but.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:15
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:15
stay clean? tell me about it I usually wear clothes I can throw away afterwards
Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:35
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:35
Thought it was just me....I usually have oil dripping off my elbows - I have covered the shed floor with old carpet - soaks it up and doesn't have to be cleaned. Anyway, servicing at home is a good money saver, you know its done right and with my Jack, I can get to all parts without raising the car.
Reply By: pathfinder - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:46
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:46
no matter what system you are using, obviously helps to put container of new oil in a bucket of boiling water for a while to reduce viscosity...
Follow Up By: Davoe - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:37
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:37
I have done this with smaller amounts of oil (works) I think last time I bought 3, 2.5l gear oil containers I usually I leave the containers out in the sun. Now you mention it berhaps I could try hot water in the bath or the showere (obviously I have no swmbo)