Ultimate Camper
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:36
Rick Blaine
I have a friend who wants to buy one of these "Ultimate Campers" but does not intend to use it off road. I reckon its a very expensive solution & would have thought an A Van would have been a better proposition for on road use... Now I know you forumites won't hold back so let me have your
views...
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 23:19
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 23:19
" Now I know you forumites won't hold back so let me have your
views... "
Your friend is a fool with too much money that wants to look trendy.
Mid Life Crisis?
He will buy one of them Chrysler PT CRUISER boxes (nicknamed the Chrysler Mid Life Crisis Car) next
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 06:17
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 06:17
Its happened again truckster Im agreeing with you.
But I wouldnt say he is a fool may be just to much money and wants to spend it.
He maby should buy a jayco or similar.
ERic
Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:07
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 08:07
I guess I left myself open to your honest opinion hey truckster... but I'm inclined to agree with you.. he owns a jeep wrangler....
Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:24
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:24
A predictable comment......how arrogant to suugest that he wants one to "look trendy".
His money, he gets to spend it!
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 23:22
Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 23:22
I just don't get it... $35k and you still have to set it up????? For my $35k it had better get a jimmy can out of the fridge, put it in a stubby holder, set up my deck chair and rub my slowly balding head... All this while setting itself up...
Blue
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:22
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:22
I don't understand these people and a 4WD to tow it no doubt that won't go off road as
well with bull bar, winch, lift kit, muddies, dual spare wheel carriers, because we all know thats what you need when you go to
Coffs Harbour on the Pacific Hwy for your holidays.
A friend of
mine is buying one of these No 6 but he goes off road at least.
4WDs that don't go off road what a waste.
Reply By: Scott_G - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:24
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:24
Was at a field day yesterday and Ultimate Campers were there on display. The unit they had on display had a price of $41k and not worth $20k
Workmanship quality was nothing special
The overall concept is poor design with so many lose bits and pieces you need to stick together.
There are so many other great campers and vans like the A Van or Ecotourer
Why sleep under a soft top when you can have a hard top for less money and does not take all day to put up and pack away.
A T-Van another ridiculously priced camper is still a better buy and design than Ultimate if they must have canvas
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:08
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:08
As long as you think you know what you are talking about mate.
Reply By: tour boy - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:44
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:44
My parents neighbours had an ultimate camper built. It was late, badly finished, they couldn't get the fiberglass smell out of it and after a couple of uses hated it so much they traded it in on a Jayco off road. They have just returned from 3 months away and loved it!!. Shame they wasted thousands on the other thing.
Reply By: flappan - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:01
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:01
Ahhh , the Ultimate knockers come out to play.
They are an excellent piece of kit.
Well built , great aftersales service , excellent resale value , and will go just about anywhere , a 4wd will go.
Yes they ARE expensive , but so are offroad vans.
HOWEVER . . .
If he has NOT intention of using it offroad WTF would you bother buying one . . . seriously , A Caravan of ANY description would offer FAR more room , and convenience , and besides , the Ultimates are quite heavy suckers . . . I doubt the Wrangler could legally tow it.
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:06
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:06
Just calling it how they see it !!!!!!!
Sounds familiar doesn't it !!
Follow Up By: flappan - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:33
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:33
Ahh come on Baz . . . dont be sore over the Exploder Comments ; )
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:44
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:44
Just stirring !!! lol.
Follow Up By: Scott_G - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:52
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:52
flappan they are far from an excellent piece of kit
poor workmanship and poor design do not make for a top line product
the price of the rig would not be worth $20k
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:12
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:12
Scott mate....quit whilst people only think you don't know what you are talking about.You are embarressing yourself with these silly comments.,
Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 22:17
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 22:17
Do not let your friend take any notice of the pea brained knockers. He may not intend to use it off road but once he gets one I bet he heads off bush. Thats where all the magic is. If he has that sort of money then also look at the Jurgens Xpedition at www.opensky.com.au. I had a look at one at the Gosford 4WD show and it was great. I have looked at the Ultimate and decided against it because I thought it was too high and looks queer. I think its a bit much to include a storage box wine rack as
well. I cannot imagine what the wine would be like by the time they get anywhere the road is a little rough. Also look at the Tvan. Someone did mention the AVan and that would be my choice if I did not intend to go off road.
Reply By: Traveller - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 20:31
Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 20:31
I know I'm a "fool", will never have "too much money", but our Ultimate served us very
well for five years and some 130,000 km without the slightest glitch.
Was amazed when it came time to sell (health reasons) that it was advertised for three days and sold to another fool with too much money for $4,500 more than we paid for it new!
I have heard that the Ultimate is to the camper trailer fraternity what the Bushtracker is to the big offroad caravan folk. Those that don't have one, wish they did!
I'd buy another new Ulti tomorrow, if the Doc would agree.