Electric or hand winch??
Submitted: Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:06
Troopy Travellers (NSW)
I've been considering the pros & cons of buying a hand winch over installing an electric winch on the bull bar. Having read the archives re dual battery connection, etc, for an electric winch & bearing in mind the obvious cost differences between both types of
winches, I was wondering what other forumites might reckon?
I suppose at least with the hand winch, the vehicle can be pulled from other directions, albiet with lots of effort!!! Also it may be handy for pulling out the odd tree stump.
Sparky
Reply By: Rossco100series - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:10
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:10
good stump pulling and pulling in mains on work sites I have only a hand winch and has got me out of every bind I have been in. But like you said the only weakness is the organic component ( good work out ). But I will only use a hand winch cheap and very useful.
Rossco
Reply By: sean - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:20
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:20
Sparky
A hand winch was my only winch till I used it. If your really stuck the amount of physical effort is not for the faint hearted. Its bloody hard work.
Sean
Reply By: Member - KG (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:27
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:27
two of us swung off a hand winch for about 30 minutes trying to move a tree blocking the track.
granted, neither of us are olympic athletes - but by the end of it we were ABSOLUTELY KNACKERED!
i wouldnt be without it... but i would try rock stacking, snatching, etc and use it as AN ABSOLUTE LAST RESORT
if money was no object i'd have an electric / pto / hydraulic on the front bar.. but i'd still probably carry the hand winch for it's sideways use, etc.
ymmv.
Reply By: duncs - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:34
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:34
Sparky,
I have had an electric winch on my vehicle in the past and would readily fit another, just as soon as funds become available. I have also frequently usedhand
winches, we have them at work.
I have never done anything with a hand winch that would not have been done quicker and easier with vehicle mounted winch. I have done things with a vehicle mounted winch that I would not like to have had to do with a hand winch. Yes, I have reached the capacity of the hand winch and it was not simply the "organic" component. I snapped the shear pin.
The other argument for the use of a vehicle mounted winch is that you don't have to find somewhere to store it or carry it.
IMHO the vehicle mounted winch is a much better thing. I mean would you rather sweat like a pig or push a button? But a hand winch is way better than being stuck.
A vehicle mounted winch is in excess of 2 grand which sounds expensive but when you look at the cost of a quality hand winch, near enough to 1 grand I don't think the power is all that expensive.
The argument against the vehicle mounted winch is that it is a lot of money to have hanging on the front of the car and never use. It does make you lazy. "OH if I get stuck I can winch out." You don't think like that with a hand winch. You plan your route a lot more carefully.
So I think you need to ask yourself, what kind of work do I do with the car? Will I use it (the electric winch) enough to justify the extra cash? Have I got the cash to spare?
It's not an easy decision and there will be plenty of experienced people who disagree with me. But this is how I approach the purchase of any accessory.
Oh yeah one final thing, I have bought things that I have never used and not bought things that I wish I had.
Duncs.
Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:39
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:39
duncs makes some good comments, except for -"The other argument for the use of a vehicle mounted winch is that you don't have to find somewhere to store it or carry it." -Storage is not a really big issue. I believe that carrying a weighty winch on a weighty b/bar year in year out and if you don't get to use it reasonably regularly is a huge detrimantal impact on fuel, tyres and
suspension.
You have to look at where you want to go & what kind of situations you are likely to put yourself in, IOW how desparate are you to get to the other side of the bog or to the top of the mountain. Do you really want / have to go there.
Two points for consideration just to muddy the waters a little more. Check Brawn 4x4 in Vic who market a HD winch in a cradle that can be used from all points around the vehicle and it can be left stored in the garage after a trip until the next time you think you might need to take it.
I use a set of tyre chains, 5 min to fit each side, that have got me through all of all my sticky situations and greasy slopes. I assess the situation before diving in the muck and react accordingly with tyre pressures etc. My big MTR's are a great saviour also.
BTW, I do carry a hand winch but never used it except in practice.
Follow Up By: duncs - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 21:07
Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 21:07
Cocka,
My comment about not having to find somewhere to store or carry the vehicle mounted winch was simply that it has a place. One of the constant problems I have when I purchase new or additional gear is, where can I carry this? That is not a problem when the thing is mounted in the bull bar where nothing else can go. The highlift jack was the most difficult so far. It won't fit anywhere, like most it ended up on the spare wheel. More expense.
I agree with you about carrying all that extra weight all the time. Now come up with a winch that is quick and simple to mount and dismount in the bar and I will be your friend for ever.
Duncs.
Reply By: Swerv - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:18
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:18
Hi Troopy
If you are in the market for a hand winch, may I suggest going to a lifting and chain specialist. I have just been looking at the website for A.Noble and Son (www.nobles.com.au) and they have a couple of different types of hand
winches and other assorted equipment. Of their prices I know not however I should think that you would get some pretty good advice from them.
Failing that, do a search on Google, type in lifting equipment and seach the net
Safe travels
Swerv...
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:29
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:29
Troopy I have both and have used both in several recovery scenes. I bought the hand winch as I just couldnt stretch to the elec winch and kept telling myself I can pull at all angles etc etc etc. The thing is they both have their uses but the elec is by far the best investment I have made. I dont buy the bit about where to put things, I always take the hand winch on trips just in case and if you really want to be prepared you'll find a place to put it. Why'd I get a elec winch? I saved up and bought one. Theyre so much faster easier and, I hesitate to say, safer. I have had some worrying loads on a hand winch and youre there sweating over it, right in line with the rope if something decides its had enough. Also the convenience of the elec winch is great, it just cant pull you out backwards unless you don't mind doing a little rubbing damage, OK a LOT! Sure beats sweating it out in the hot sun when you could be pressing a button and then relaxing 5 mins later.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:53
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:53
Said it many times before, after a few hours on a turfor, you will eat broken glass for a electric winch.
You should already have dual batteries anyway, so second hand Warn 9000 wouldnt be anymore than $900.. Got my 10,000lb for $1100...
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:31
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:31
Go the Power!!!!!!!!
I mean the powered winch....
I carry both on all trips...... I rekon i would have used the power winch about 5 times this year... A couple of those times has been for 2hr sessions...
I couldnt even contemplate a hand winch for these times... Wouldnt even consider it....
One time was for me good ol mate who couldnt make a dune so he got a huge runup and got as far as possible which was actually quite close to the top and it still took 2 hrs to get him over......2 snatch blocks and all...
If you are ever in the position of winching someone up and over a dune in ankle deep sand you would think the same thing...
But having said that,,,,,,,, hand winch comes in really handy for keeping a sliding sideways situation under control whilst power winching up front...
Hand winch good for knick knacks but not for lifeline...
Reply By: 2ndLow - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 02:18
Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 02:18
Electric winch 1st.......then add a hand winch when $ allowed. (Not the other way)
I have told many people about my little experience at high country.....let them know how bloody hard work it is to use a handwinch.
In short......2 vehicle stuck on a track with couple steep hills.....totally 3 big hills....at one end of track was a deep(bleep)
water crossing.....no way we can cross it....only way to go is the same way we passed....i.e. went back up 3 big
hill.....
Handwinch 2 vehicle to get up first
hill.....took 2 hrs....it was getting dark around 5pm....so call radio for police......police came....when down first 2
hill to reach us......then headed back .....@$@#*%%*.....they got stuck too....and their winch not working tooooooooo......so 5 blokes handwinch this 100 series for 50 meters in 5 hrs till midnight......it seems like a never ending track.......call headquarter.....finally bulldozer($1200) came to rescue the following day......
So, my opinion is......prepare for the unexpected.......over-prepare is always better. If you divide the cost of a winch by how many times you go 4wd each year....you will soon find out it is the most valurable equipment you ever have.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:21
Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 11:21
hahahahaha 2nd Low, you needed a BULLDOZER ! At least I only needed a BLOODY BIG 4WD TRACTOR to get me and another car out down in the
Otways. Police came along too and were basically a PITA. Great to know others have equivalent adventurous sense like me heheheheh
Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 09:49
Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 09:49
I have a warn high mount winch on my troopy M8274-50 . Tried to remove a palm tree from my fathers place recently with the winch . I couldnt get the palm tree out but with the hand brake on and the front
wheels chocked it still dragged the troopy along , and that was a single line pull . I have seen them second hand in the trading post etc . But then you need winch bar , dual batteries etc . MONEY,MONEY,MONEY. lots of MONEY.
Reply By: theshadows - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 17:14
Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 17:14
Power first then then the Tirfor.
I'll also been in situations when we had to wait for dusk so we can sweat all through the night lowering a 80 series and a 60 series back into the creak bed.
Never want to do that again talk about spoiling your holidays.
shadow
Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:51
Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 09:51
Thanks all, for the good info. The power winch is obvious the way to go. What would be a suitable electric winch for the troopy? I read that a few members go for the Warn 9000lb. How does one work out the rating needed,? Is it the car's weight? That would be, I suppose, 3000kg x 2.2=6600lb min????
PS: Would an electric winch be a genuine tax deduction as a cable pulling winch for underground cables?
Sparky
Reply By: DAZMAN - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 03:19
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 03:19
HI TROOPY TRAVELLERS, I TOO ONLY HAD A HAND WINCH( BIG HAUL) WHEN USED TO PULLTHE CRUISER SIDEWAYS AND LOWERING WAS GREAT BUT AS SAID BEFORE IT IS A HUGH EFFORT EVEN WITH THE SNACTH BLOCKS TO PULL THROUGH MUD OR UP
HILL.....IT IS INVALUBLE AND NOW I HAVE A OX HYDOLIC, ON MY 100 SERIES BUT WILL NOT GO OUT WITHOUT MY HAND WINCH...DAZMAN